We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facilities but service is none” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice facilities but service is none”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very nice resort right on the beach. The pool area is very pretty as well and the pools are heated. Beautiful lobby. But room is on the smaller side. Service is almost none. We requested a king size bed weeks before but when we got there we were told there is only double beds available. Front desk people are not very friendly as well. I figure they get a lot of business from conferences so they don't really care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear doublejade1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is fantastic to see that you had a relaxing time by our pool oasis and that you enjoyed unwinding in our lobby area. We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request while checking into the resort. Our front desk ambassadors pride themselves in providing each and every one of our guests with personal and instinctive service and we are sorry to hear that this is not what you experienced. We will use your feedback to help us improve the guest experience for you as well as our future guests.

Have a safe and happy New Year,

Warm regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    989
    684
    256
    112
    93
See reviews for
549
580
58
563
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with the family after a great stay last year. And this was another great visit. This is the perfect family hotel. Amazing pools and a great beach. The kids club is also very nice. As always, as a Platinum member I was upgraded to a corner suite. The lounge offerings are a deff disappointment-- especially when this is supposed to be the plat breakfast offering. Regardless, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear mpolatin,

It is always wonderful to receive feedback from some of our SPG Platinum guests. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We are pleased to see that you had another great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the upgrades that come along with your platinum status. We appreciate your feedback and we cannot wait welcome you back soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had planned a one night stay...I called the of our arrival to inquire when we could check in and was told "anytime". Upon arriving we were told our room "type" (with balcony) was not ready nor would we be able to check in until 4:00. This was at 2:30. No other options were offered. I had to ask and magically a different room "type" was made available to us. Again we had to ask if we would be credited the difference (this room did not have a balcony). The room was pre-paid and after a tense silence (on our part) we were then advised we would be credited the difference.
Later that afternoon when we needed our car we were told to call 10 minutes in advance. We called 20 minutes in advance and when we went down to get our car, we had to wait ANOTHER 30 minutes and had to ask 4 different valet's as to where our car might be. With all of the other options to be had in this area...they need to step up their game. We will be staying elsewhere on our next trip down,.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter...A/C was fairly loud in our room. (room 2339)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Robin B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that your stay with us during the busy holiday season was not the top quality experience you have come to expect from the Westin. We would like to apologize that your room was not ready upon your arrival to the resort. We always try to accommodate guests with early arrivals whenever possible; however, check-in time begins at 4:00pm daily. We are sorry about any miss communication that occurred when you called the resort to inquire about this.
We see that you had an extended wait for your car during your stay. Our valet team works diligently to bring cars to the driveway quickly and safely. We would also like to apologize about any inconvenience you experienced waiting for your car.
We would like to wish you and your family a Happy New Year and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here same time last year and all I can say is this place has fallen apart. The food at the restaurant is now terrible, last year it was good. The pool area is overrun by pigeons and birds and has made hanging there a very unpleasant experience. Today alone we had 5 items where "deposits" we're made by these unfriendly creatures. The hotel staff was most unhelpful and did nothing to try and alleviate the problem. I feel bad giving such a harsh review as last year I gave the property such a glowing one but its really bad now. Will not be returning and for the sake of all the other guests I hope they fix it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear beachtravelerrr,

We appreciate you taking a moment tell us about your recent stay at our resort. We apologize that your experience during this stay was not the top notch experience that you have received in the past. Thank you for the comments regarding our restaurant. We will certainly use them to help improve the guest experience for you and our future guests.
We are sorry to hear about your experience outside at our pool area. We apologize the presence of the birds had effected your opportunity to enjoy and relax outside by the pool.
Have a happy New Year and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been to this property several times with my family and love it. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Pools are large and great for the kids. I would highly recommend this hotel for families looking for a getaway in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear ChitownTraver2255,

It was a pleasure to once again welcome you back to the Westin Diplomat. It is great to see that you had a wonderful stay with us again and that you found our ambassadors to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Happy New Year,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millwood, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just came back from a one week stay at this hotel!! The hotel was perfect in many ways and did not disappoint. We had 2 connecting rooms so had plenty of space to spread out in for the four of us. I will say that if the four of us had been in one room it would've been a tight squeeze for our clothing. there were very few drawers and barely enough room in the drawers with only 2 of us in a room. This is not unique to this hotel. Hotels in general should have more shelving in the closets instead of all that hanging room. Bathrooms were really nice. the pools were gorgeous and warm. Ingredients had a great selection of food at all times of the day however the lines were a bit long for breakfast and lunch---but in all fairness it was christmas week so we expect crowds. Splash at the pool food was good and offered many selections. The only negative I would say is that the lines at check in/front desk assistance were typically very long. It was a holiday week but it appeared that there was not enough staff to field the questions/check in people. I often called "service express" instead of waiting in line at front desk b/c the people who answered the phone were fantastic and got me whatever I needed or answered whatever questions I had right away. Valet parking was a breeze and our car was always ready before we got there!! All you have to do is call the car 10-15 minutes before you come down. We had dinner at Rivals one night and really enjoyed it!!! IHousekeeping was great!!!! I would definitely come back and hope to return next year during the holidays!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Funjodi,

It is great to see that you had a wonderful family vacation with us at the Diplomat. It puts a smile on our face to hear that your retreat with us was comfortable and that you had fun relaxing by our pools. It is also wonderful to learn that our Service Express ambassadors helped to make your stay even more special. Have a Happy New Year and we hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.

Many thanks,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Westin Diplomat Resort. Our room was overlooking the ocean with a balcony. We fell asleep at night to the sound of the waves. I would stay at the Westin Diplomat again in a heartbeat. The hotel has the feel of the Fountainebleu in Miami Beach but nicer rooms.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room with a balcony and oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear LRomer,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had with us at the Westin. It is inspiring to see that your ocean front room was relaxing and that the sounds of the waves helped you to unwind in the evening. Have a happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Best Wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Westin Diplomat
Hollywood Westin
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort
Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.