We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for a Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been to this property several times with my family and love it. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Pools are large and great for the kids. I would highly recommend this hotel for families looking for a getaway in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear ChitownTraver2255,

It was a pleasure to once again welcome you back to the Westin Diplomat. It is great to see that you had a wonderful stay with us again and that you found our ambassadors to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Happy New Year,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,063
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
622
62
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millwood, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just came back from a one week stay at this hotel!! The hotel was perfect in many ways and did not disappoint. We had 2 connecting rooms so had plenty of space to spread out in for the four of us. I will say that if the four of us had been in one room it would've been a tight squeeze for our clothing. there were very few drawers and barely enough room in the drawers with only 2 of us in a room. This is not unique to this hotel. Hotels in general should have more shelving in the closets instead of all that hanging room. Bathrooms were really nice. the pools were gorgeous and warm. Ingredients had a great selection of food at all times of the day however the lines were a bit long for breakfast and lunch---but in all fairness it was christmas week so we expect crowds. Splash at the pool food was good and offered many selections. The only negative I would say is that the lines at check in/front desk assistance were typically very long. It was a holiday week but it appeared that there was not enough staff to field the questions/check in people. I often called "service express" instead of waiting in line at front desk b/c the people who answered the phone were fantastic and got me whatever I needed or answered whatever questions I had right away. Valet parking was a breeze and our car was always ready before we got there!! All you have to do is call the car 10-15 minutes before you come down. We had dinner at Rivals one night and really enjoyed it!!! IHousekeeping was great!!!! I would definitely come back and hope to return next year during the holidays!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Funjodi,

It is great to see that you had a wonderful family vacation with us at the Diplomat. It puts a smile on our face to hear that your retreat with us was comfortable and that you had fun relaxing by our pools. It is also wonderful to learn that our Service Express ambassadors helped to make your stay even more special. Have a Happy New Year and we hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.

Many thanks,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Westin Diplomat Resort. Our room was overlooking the ocean with a balcony. We fell asleep at night to the sound of the waves. I would stay at the Westin Diplomat again in a heartbeat. The hotel has the feel of the Fountainebleu in Miami Beach but nicer rooms.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room with a balcony and oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear LRomer,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had with us at the Westin. It is inspiring to see that your ocean front room was relaxing and that the sounds of the waves helped you to unwind in the evening. Have a happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Best Wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located on Hollywood beach abt three blocks from the strip, and a few miles frm downtown.
Very nice, friendly staff, only complaint: a little snobby, but family oriented.
Great price. Comfy beds, mediocre room service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Coccimiglio,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your retreat to the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa. It is a real treat to learn that you enjoyed our location and that you found our ambassadors to be instinctive to your needs. We would like to wish you a Happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back in 2013.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been going to the Westin Diplomat since it first opened in 2002. This review is based on my most recent visits in October and December 2012 as well as a cumulative review of my stays at this property.

I'll begin by saying that if you are an SPG Platinum, you will very likely be taken care of at this property with amazing upgrades to oceanfront suites with balconies. Entering the oceanfront suites makes all of the business travel worth it! The suites have a foyer, living room with sofas and chairs, a desk, large television and a dining table that seats four people. The bedroom has a king bed with a spacious bathroom. The balcony is spacious with a lounge chair and regular chairs. Even if you have a standard room, you will be pleased with the beauty of the room. The pools are also beautiful and there are many lounge chairs with comfy cushions and towel service. The oceanfront restaurant, Splash, consistently serves decent food.

This property has a beautiful lobby, beautiful pool and beautiful executive club lounge. The ocean view fitness center is currently under construction but there is another fitness center at Diplomat Landing and at the golf property. Rivals, on the Intracoastal Waterway at Diplomat Landing, has great food, great service and great views.

Your stay will be the more enjoyable if you go into your visit with reasonable expectations. Upgrades are available for SPG Platinum members when the property is not at capacity with either conventions or during the holidays. For example, I stayed at this property on December 16th and received an upgrade but I did not expect an upgrade when I stayed again December 26th. The property is extremely crowded every year during Christmas and the New Year. Unfortunately it is crowded with people who do not supervise their children. It's generally crowded with obnoxious people. The hotel requires wristbands to enter the pool during busy times and I appreciate this. It helps make sure that hotel guests (and not friends of hotel guests) have lounge chairs at the pool. I sure hope the hotel provides employees with hazard pay during this time because, again, most of the guests are exceptionally obnoxious to the employees and other guests.

If you are looking to go to a beautiful oceanfront hotel to relax, this is your hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that has many entertainment options, this is not your hotel. The hotel has a few restaurants and they are decent. However, the hotel is somewhat isolated, so it may not be for you. In addition, this is a higher end hotel. Please don't be surprised that there aren't microwaves in the room or that you have to pay for wifi in your room (it is free in the lobby). I find the amenities at this hotel are consistent with other high end hotels (Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, St. Regis).

What keeps me going back to this hotel year after year (and often several times per year)? The beauty of the hotel's interior and exterior and the nice treatment of SPG Platinum guests. That said, there are some areas where the hotel consistently falls short: it never seems to have enough employees at the front desk. There is often a long wait to check in and check out. The hotel does not/will not provide you with a copy of your bill under your door, so you must wait in the long lines to check out. The furnishings in the room are beginning to show their age. The couches, in particular, are very worn. The customer service can sometimes be lacking. You don't have to travel to the hotel for evidence--just read the canned answers that the hotel posts to negative reviews here on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear ccrave001,

It is always nice to receive feedback from our SPG Platinum guests. We would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to Starwood hotels and resorts. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us over the years. It is great to see that you have enjoyed the upgrades provided to you as platinum guests and that you have found our resort to be an excellent place to unwind.

We would also like to thank you for telling us the areas where we could use some improvement. Your feedback is important to us as it help us to improve our services for you and future guests of the resort. We wish you and your family a safe and happy New Year.

Warmest Regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family has been staying at the Westin Diplomat over the Christmas holidays for the past three years. Each year I keep wondering why this hotel is rated 4-stars and not 5-stars. Truly top of the line hotel, all departments are ran very effectively which makes for a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Alco3,

We are thrilled to hear that your stays with us over the holidays over the past few years have been fantastic. Learning that we have become your top holiday destination really puts a smile on our faces. We cannot wait to welcome you back next year!
Many thanks,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a very impressive curb appeal, and the trappings of an upscale establishment -- doormen, infinity pools, marble bathrooms and gorgeous ocean views. If you still have money left over after the price of the room, you can save by going further up the road for Affordable eating options. For late night munches there's Tony's Pizza a couple blocks away and there are some French-themed restaurants that are a 40 min walk.

The bar service was very nice and friendly, rooms bright and airy and all the staff were extremely helpful. All in all a pleasant stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear nebulaboy,

It is exciting to see that you had an excellent stay with us at the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our ambassadors. They will be delighted to learn that you found them friendly and helpful. We also appreciate you sharing your tips on the local area. Guests will enjoy reading the information from you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.