We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach, pools and elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beach, pools and elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Westin Diplomat is an excellent hotel and conference center with all the amenities you would expect. I was there as part of a conference and my only complaint as there was not enough free time from my conference to really enjoy all the Hotel has to offer. Not a lot of offsite restaurants in walking distance and they get you for parking at a rate of $25 per day are the only drawbacks. The Rivals bar and Grill accross the street (via covered bridge/walkway) is the one good choice for close casual food.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Joe M,

We are delighted to hear about your wonderful stay at the Diplomat. It is great to see that your conference went well and that you enjoyed our restaurant Rivals. We hope to welcome you back for a leisure vacation where you would have an opportunity to enjoy all the amenities the hotel has to offer.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
620
62
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We so wanted to love this hotel having booked what we thought were luxury accommodations. However, upon arriving at the Diplomat, my husband, toddler and I experienced disappointment after disappointment. For the money, this hotel is simply not worth it. Having stayed at all kinds of establishments from Quality Inns to the Ritz Carlton, I can honestly say this was my second-worst hotel experience apart from the Baltimore Sheraton (hmm...also a Starwood). I've stayed at one- and two-star hotels that were much, much cleaner and offered far better service than the Westin Diplomat.

Our room was absolutely filthy and ill-equipped: There was dust everywhere, stained carpeting, a soiled couch, threadbare (literally, see-through) discolored towels, a robe (just one for two adults) with threads hanging and a huge hole, fingerprints from previous guests on most surfaces, no toiletries aside from shampoo, conditioner, all-purpose soap and body lotion (which were not replaced without asking), a fridge that didn't work until an engineer came up to fix it, a leaky toilet (again, the engineer had to come) and a bed that felt like sleeping in quick sand (no matter how many pillows I requested, my head was always inches below the rest of my body). When we walked around the room in our socks, our socks quickly turned brown, the shower door was caked in soap scum, mold festered on the grout lining the shower and we were too grossed out to even attempt to sleep under the duvet. We complained about some of it and received $100 to use on the premises during our stay, but we quickly tired of complaining because almost everything about the hotel was subpar (no free wifi, the amount it costs to park, stained, soiled beach towels, etc.) and not at all what were expecting when we booked at the Westin.

Our biggest mistake was that we paid in advance. Otherwise, we would have checked out and gone elsewhere. We are very fortunate that when we travel we can stay anywhere and we will no longer even consider staying at a Starwood hotel. We like clean accommodations and value for our money and the Westin simply does not offer that. When we want luxury, we will simply go higher end and enjoy all the perks that go along with that and when we want clean yet quality accommodations, we will look towards a Marriott, a Hilton or a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear DF920,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our resort. It saddens us to hear that we fell below your expectations in many areas throughout your stay. We normally pride ourselves in providing guests with a clean, relaxing, and rejuvenating experience and we are truly sorry that was not what you had encountered. Please note that we have shared your feedback with the departments you had mentioned so we can continue to provide our guests with top quality service. We do hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Westin Hollywood three times now and this time for almost an entire week. Although it was busy as usual with large events, proms and corporate gatherings we once again felt like the property is well able to handle the large crowds. The first night we had a room on the top floor but decided to relocate since AC noise from rooftop was quite pronounced. The staff handled our request very well given the hotel was pretty much full. We relocated to a corner suite a few floors below and were very happy with room layout, cleaning and amenities. Pool will get packed on weekends and cabanas are a bit overpriced for our taste. Other than that the pool is a huge draw, well designed and offers plenty of seating on most days. We ate at the pool bar frequently and thought the selection, quality and prices struck a good balance. Pool service was prompt and attentive most times. We had Sushi the first night and found it to be just ok. Valet is a bit slow but once you get used to it it's not a big deal. A special thank you to the club lounge staff. They always had a smile and also accommodated our special requests due to traveling with a small child. The club lounge has great views and is pretty quite outside the weekends. I think well worth the upgrade. All in all, another great stay and I am sure we will be back, again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear wolfmedic77,

It is always a treat to hear from one of our return guests. Thank you for once again choosing the Westin Diplomat as your home away from home. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was relaxing and that you were able to take full advantage of what our resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a 5 star experience at the Westin even though the weather was chilly. They can't control the weather - (even though some prior reviewers must have thought they should have blown hurricane Sandy away.). All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. We got a very good rate from one of the internet travel sites. Otherwise it is pricey. Pool area was very nice and plenty of chairs. It is right on the beach so swimming in the ocean or going for a walk is very easy. Other than the "in house" restaurants there are no restaurants within walking distance. Room service for breakfast on the balcony was very prompt and delicious food. Room and bed was very comfortable. We live locally and just wanted a romantic night out. It was that!

Room Tip: If you enjoy hearing the surf as you go to sleep an ocean view room is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear skhinfl,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. It is great to see that you enjoyed the resort and that our ambassadors helped to make your stay even more memorable. We hope to welcome you back for another romantic night out.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Hollywood Westin Diplomat Hotel is a handsome resort hotel. A cheerful and attentive staff swiftly processes your registration. A spectacular multilevel pool area occupies the space between the rear of the hotel and the beach. An unusually dramatic and picturesque lobby sports a contemporary fountain lined with palm trees provides the backdrop for the leisure seating area. The resort has a full service spa and a separate fitness facility. Restaurants not owned by the hotel are a 20 minute walk or short cab ride away. Otherwise travelers are the captive audience of the hotel for meals and libation.

Room Tip: for a quiet stay, choose a room on an upper floor on the ocean side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear richiedoc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities and that you found our ambassadors to be friendly and attentive. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent night on mothers day, ate dinner at Hollywood prime one of the best steaks you will ever get, room is great, beach side view buffet breakfast for 12 in cafe was very good, pool and all hotel amenities were excellent. Very good stay. Parking is expensive in garage for visitors and valet daily is not cheap either

Great 5 star hotel if you want to treat yourself, find some deals online. Make your stay more affordable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Pete S,

We are excited to see that you had a wonderful retreat to the Diplomat. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Hollywood Prime, the Café, as well as all the amenities our resort has to offer. We hope to welcome you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've stayed at this location a few times (on business) and have always enjoyed it. I'm not sure, however, if I would stay here if I was on a personal trip. The property is beautiful and the views of the ocean are amazing (if you can get a room with a view). Additionally, the amenities seem great, the rooms are clean and the service is pretty good, but other than the beach, I don't really know what else there is to do in the area. There seem to be no restaurants within walking distance other than the ones located on the property, which can get expensive and everything else (malls, museums, points of interest, etc.) seem to require a car to get to. On a personal trip, I'd prefer to stay walking distance to more points of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Lissy G,

It is always a treat to hear from one of our return guests. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the amenities that our resort has to offer and that you find the top notch.
We noticed that you mentioned the lack of activities for the local area. On your next visit to the Diplomat our concierge team can assist you with locating things to do in the local area.
We hope to see you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.