We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works for a business trip, but not sure about a personal trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Works for a business trip, but not sure about a personal trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've stayed at this location a few times (on business) and have always enjoyed it. I'm not sure, however, if I would stay here if I was on a personal trip. The property is beautiful and the views of the ocean are amazing (if you can get a room with a view). Additionally, the amenities seem great, the rooms are clean and the service is pretty good, but other than the beach, I don't really know what else there is to do in the area. There seem to be no restaurants within walking distance other than the ones located on the property, which can get expensive and everything else (malls, museums, points of interest, etc.) seem to require a car to get to. On a personal trip, I'd prefer to stay walking distance to more points of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Lissy G,

It is always a treat to hear from one of our return guests. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the amenities that our resort has to offer and that you find the top notch.
We noticed that you mentioned the lack of activities for the local area. On your next visit to the Diplomat our concierge team can assist you with locating things to do in the local area.
We hope to see you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    714
    274
    124
    98
See reviews for
589
618
60
599
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were at this hotel for a conference, our second visit. The lobby is stunning with palm trees and an infinity fountain. The rooms are also excellent, nice size and very well maintained. We enjoyed having lunch at their outside, right on the beach casual restaurant. They also have two beautiful pools, one an infinity that cascades down into a pool below. We had dinner two nights at Hollywood Prime because we were so impressed the first night we ate. It is very expensive but also very good. My only complaint is that there really isn't anything else of interest right near the hotel property. The only store I found was a Walmart, a 20 minute walk away. We tried a restaurant in Hollywood and we weren't that impressed. If you don't want to eat at the hotel you'll have to drive a bit to find something decent.

Room Tip: I asked for an upgrade and received a great room with a balcony and a direct ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear BeachCapeCod,

We are always delighted to hear from our return guests. It is great to see that you had fun during your conference and that you were able to relax and unwind by our two beautiful pools.

We are sorry to hear that you found our location to be a bit isolated. Be sure to stop by our concierge desk on your next visit and they will happily assist you with finding local points of interests. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was at hotel for conference. Staff were all very freindly, pool and setting was great. Nice pool bar next to beach. Rooms are well apointed with large bathrooms, granite / marble counters & shower. Excellent bed, flat screen TV.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Bear55,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our ambassadors to be helpful and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Westin for the weekend before my husband's business conference. The lobby was large with an open-air feel. The room/bathroom was very nice, and the pool areas were lovely. There's an infinity style pool on an upper level, and at the beach level, another nice pool. Plenty of beach area for sunning, with lounge chair service. The steak house in the hotel had an outstanding menu, very high prices. Good location if you want to stay about 30 minutes away from Miami/South Beach, but be able to drive down there easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear scoopanuts,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We are happy to learn that you found our resort to meet your needs for a relaxing getaway as well as for business. We hope to see you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my second time back to the hotel and again I am so delighted that we choose it. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and clean. The room had a great corner view. The hotel is beautifully decorated, with it's lobby waterfalls and marle features. The pools are wonderful with the most amazing views. The restuarants are absolutely fantastic, whether it is a really good burger by the pool, some fab wings in the sports bar but most impressive are the steaks in HP (Hollywood Prime), the main restaurant in the hotel. The stay in the hotel is worth the visit just to eat here. The music, the staff and the food make this one of my favourtie steak houses I habe been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear TrasnaCH2010,

We are always excited to hear from some of our return guests. It is great to see that you had another amazing stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy many aspects of our resort. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attending a conference at this venue, we found the rooms, facilities, and restaurants to be delightful.

Hollywood Prime offered an amazing atmosphere and food quality. Steaks and seafood portions were generous and perfectly prepared.

We will definitely consider this location for future family vacations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Veinleisure,

It is fantastic to learn that you had a wonderful time at your conference. It is great to see that you found our resort to be delightful and that you found Hollywood Prime to be an excellent place to dine. We hope to welcome you and your family back for a vacation soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemlock, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beware! Because there is not a Walgreens, Rite Aid or any other store anywhere near this property, they can apparently charge what ever they want for items. Ex. 2 waters in small market in lobby_ $9.58, small roasted veggie wrap-$9.00. The prices are so inflated it's almost comical. I called the spa and asked how much a womens haircut was. I was told they started at $55.00. I made an appt. and one hair cut later, my total bill was $136.00. 20% tip included of course. For that price I did not think the staff should be arriving at work, only to sit at stations and put on their makeup and do their hair. OR when they serve you a tea or coffee, maybe a nice ceramic mug would be more appropriate than a paper cup. This place is unbelievable . The property is beautiful but beyond the front desk the staff seem rude and almost as if they have to wait on you it's insulting to them.
Our last day there, NO one cleaned our room, no coffee, no towels -nothing. We had to call front desk at 8:30 at night when we came back from dinner, They wanted to clean our room then. Really??

Room Tip: Ocean side was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear kfitz62,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not reach the level of expectation you have come to expect from a Westin. Our team of ambassadors pride themselves in providing each of our guests with personal and instinctive service and we would like to apologize that this is not what you received. We will share your feedback with our management team.

We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.