We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel, a Bit Isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel, a Bit Isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin Diplomat. Our room was first class with a very comfortable king bed, flat screen TV, coffee maker, large desk, and comfortable sofa, and desk chair. The bathroom was luxuriously furnished with separate shower and tub and glass partitions. We chose a room without a sea view and were rewarded with a large wraparound balcony with lounge chairs and table with an interesting view of the bay and nearby tall buildings. There are several swimming pools and the hotel has direct beachfront access. Valet parking is $25 while self parking across the street in the garage is $20. There is a charge for Internet in the rooms, but access in the lobby is free. Restaurants in the hotel are quite expensive and you need to drive to get to reasonably priced restaurants. There is a small coffee shop which has reasonably priced pastries and salads. We would have given the Diplomat an Excellent rating if there were better dining options in the hotel or within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear areview28,

It is wonderful to learn that you had a relaxing stay with us at the Diplomat. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found our Heavenly beds to be comfortable. It is great to see that you took advantage of our pools and as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby area.

We hope to welcome you back to the Westin again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
620
62
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel combines great business as well as family vacation amenities. Location right on the beach with breath taking ocean views make this hotel ideal to enjoy time off away from the rat race. The beach area and the pools are just picture perfect with tidy clean and very impressive and beautiful landscape. Overall while on business my stay was wonderful - although this hotel has nice restaurants that do offer world class food quality, however, it can still use more variety of restaurants. For example, I struggled to find a place to eat with a client between 3-5pm. So it can use more on site food options. Further, house keeping needs to be more attentive to dust collection spots in the rooms and balconies as well as some spotty towels. Otherwise this resort is just amazing with its staff, services, facilities and food / entertainment options.

Room Tip: Ay high floor with sea view is certainly worth it - to wake up to the sound of raging waves!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sami H,

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you enjoyed our ocean front location and that you found our pools to be a great spot to relax and unwind.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our restaurants and housekeeping service. We will certainly share your experience with the managers in those departments.
We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just spent a week at the Westin Diplomat hotel in Hollywood, FL and it was very nice. They have finished the lobby remodel and that makes a big difference. Pool area and Beach are great. Not many food choices and the area is pretty "sleepy". If you are going for fun and a vacation you may want to be in Miami. As for Business, it is a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mikepoly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed unwinding by the beach and the pool and that you found our hotel to be a great place to conduct business. Be sure to visit our concierge desk on your next visit and they will be more than happy to assist you in finding many things to do in the area.

We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Whenever my husband and I want to get away for the weekend, we go to this hotel as a "staycation". It's about a thirty minute drive from our house and is situated right on the beautiful Hollywood Beach. It has a grand entrance lobby, very bright and cheery and a magnificent resort style pool area. The food is also very good. Most importantly, they have the most comfortable bed! I highly recommend this hotel rather you live in town or from out of town.....

Room Tip: The ocean view is also nice...We stayed on the 27th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear loveitalianstyle,

It is fantastic to learn that you have found your home away from home at the Westin Diplomat. It is great to learn that you found our pools and lobby to be an excellent place to relax. It is also wonderful to see that you found our heavenly beds to be comfortable and that we had the opportunity to delight your taste buds at our restaurants. We hope to welcome you and your husband back to the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I do staycations with my family at least 2-3 weekend a year at this hotel and can't say enough, it's a world in its own...... facilities incredible, pool area great (albeit a little crazy at times) rooms very nice (recommend the beach front building versus the golf course building) Restaurants on site are a little expensive but divine. Highly recommendable resort!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear SobeGirl2121,

We are thrilled to hear that you had another amazing stay with us at the Diplomat. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found our food & beverage options to be divine. We hope to see you back at the Westin soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went for four nights to celebrate a friend's birthday. Nice room with a great view. The hotel has a top notch pool and three restaurants to choose from. The property is right on the beach. The property is fairly isolated without many services nearby. I would recommend renting a car if you stay more than a couple of days.

The hotel is really designed for conventions. You weave your way through various convention goers, many of which have name tags on. We experienced a major service failure on our last day. Our flight was canceled due to the hurricane in the northeast and we asked to extend an extra day. We were told we have to vacate the room because they had another convention coming in. There was no offer to help find an addition room elsewhere or a suggestion that they would follow up with us as cancelations came in. They basically told us to leave. So much for travelers in distress. I got on the phone and booked another Westin 8 miles up the beach in about 5 minutes. The second hotel had 85% availability.

As it turns out the second hotel (the Westin beach resort) was great. Smaller, much more couple friendly and on a board walk full of things to do. Overall, the Diplomat was a decent hotel but I would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear crowslex,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our resort. We are sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations during your stay. I would like to apologize that we were unable to accommodate you for an additional night when your flight was cancelled. We normally try to assist our guests in any way possible and we are sorry to hear that we were unable to help you. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another getaway with your friends.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here three different times during holiday trips to Miami in early January. Wonderful hotel and conference center. Beautiful setting. Definitely the place to stay if in South Florida. Dining is limited. Access to Miami is somewhat costly by cab. Pools and sun decks are very nice. As always with a Westin, the heavenly bed is just that.

Room Tip: Some rooms (especially those on waterway side) have large balconies. Cabana rentals (poolside) are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Front Office Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Dosmo,

It is always a treat to hear from some of our return guests. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you have found our resort the perfect place to relax. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another amazing stay.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.