We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticker Shock for the Budget Business Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sticker Shock for the Budget Business Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, the Staff is great--EVERYTHING is a la carte and expensive. They do not replenish amenities--even for a stay of several days and even if you select the option to have your room serviced (they have a "green" option that you do not have your room serviced and you can save $5 a day--we didn't select it). By the 4th day, the shower soap was about the size of a postage stamp.

The "partial ocean view" was a view of the building next door--they also had a view of us. Don't pay extra for a partial ocean view unless it is the first room in from the ocean front of the hotel. We couldn't see any ocean without leaning over the 12th floor balcony. Not a good option.

Also, the beach is closed in the evenings through October due to nesting turtles (we didn't see any). Combined with the afternoon thunder storms, this makes for a limited opportunity to enjoy the beauty of the location.

The food and bar service are expensive for anyone on a budget--drinks are @ $12 and a hamburger is $15 ($4 more if you want fries and this doesn't include drink, tax and tip).

Our room had plumbing issues for several days and they were very slow to respond. The concierge desk was great except for one woman that was condescending.

Recommendations: An eclectic local restaurant called Tubs (definitely a local place and extremely casual in a Gilligan's Island sort of way). They are supposed to have one of the best burgers around but the catch of the day was great. Giorgios bakery has Greek items--both have bayside seating--casual and nice at sunset. American Pie (pizza) near the Casino was good (by the slice) if you are on a tight budget).

Also recommend kayaking at Aleto Park.

Room Tip: Oceanside is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Hivelocity,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Westin Diplomat. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful facility and the service provided by our ambassadors; your kind words will inspire them.

It saddens us to see that you found some of our amenities to be a bit pricey. We will be sure to share your valuable feedback with the appropriate managers so that we can continue to provide the world class service our hotel is famous for.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
620
62
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Its an excellent hotel everything at your fingertips and service is great. I just think the cafe restaurant should be open at night, or add another restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Snoox1,

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your retreat to the Diplomat! Thank you for your compliments on our facilities and on our ambassadors. They all pride themselves on providing top quality service and it is excellent to see this was your experience.

Thank you for your feedback on our café restaurant. We will share your feedback with our director of restaurants so that we can continue to evolve and grow.

We hope to see you back at the Westin soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood, Florida and have a few comments to share about the hotel. We had a nice room overlooking the ocean. The room was fine - air conditioning was great. However, there's a few suggestions I have for the hotel management: Open up your restaurants! There were over 400 attending the conference we were at and we were very limited to our choices of places to eat. We arrived Sunday and wanted a nice dinner - well, the Hollywood Prime Steakhouse was closed Sunday & Monday. So then we wanted the next best thing - Asian cuisine so we walked across the street to the AiZia restaurant but they didn't open til 6 and were closed Monday & Tuesday. We ate at the sports bar nearby, Rivals and had a good meal but the next day we were going to go there for lunch and we realized they didn't open until 5 p.m. A few days later in the evening we went to the sportsbar and sat on the patio with 10 people waiting for service - after about 20 minutes we left. The hotel is losing money because people want good food and good drink and good service and we were very disappointed. The service should be commensurate with the prices being charged and it is not.

Housekeeping - I suggest you make arrangements for housekeeping the day you arrive and have a set time you want your room cleaned. We waited til 4 p.m. to get the room done and we wanted it done when we were at the pool. You can reserve a specific time for this and I recommend you do that.

There are 3 pools to choose from and there are cabanas for rent and also umbrellas you can rent on the beach.

The beach tends to collect a lot of debris from the ocean (seaweed, etc.) and they do try to clean the beach each morning but it is still a little messy when walking.

Take the trolley that stops at the hotel on the half hour. For $1.00 it will take you to the Boardwalk area which is about 2 miles down the road. There are beach shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean view - 20th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear ScenicWanderer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is inspiring to see that you enjoyed our facilities and your room overlooking the ocean.

We are sorry to hear that you found our restaurant hours, and our Rivals restaurant to be below your expectations. We will share your feedback with our director of restaurants so that we can continue to provide the top notch service our hotel is known for.

We also noticed that you mentioned some buildup of seaweed on the beach. It is currently sea turtle nesting time along South Florida beaches. The sea turtle is an endangered species and it is illegal for the city of Hollywood to rake the beaches since it could possibly disturb these beautiful creatures’ nests. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope to welcome you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Only complaint was the service I received when I requested a remote control. Called twice and after an hour and half I called and asked then to wait until the following morning because it was late and I was going to bed, 20 minutes later maintenance knocked on the door with the remote. Otherwise I had great experience and enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Luvukbball,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your conference here at the Diplomat. Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding our facilities.

We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you experienced in regards to your remote control. We will share your feedback with the appropriate managers so that we can continue to provide the top notch service our hotel is known for.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

for the size and number of guest in this hotel, the check in/out process was a breeze...definetely do the valet parking as it gives you in/out privilages and its only $5 more a day vs parking on your own...the common grounds/lobby/beach/pool is well kept and impressive. The rooms are a good size, clean and very comfortable. Staff is friendly and quick to repond. Would definetely come back!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear ss4leung,

It is exciting to hear how much you enjoyed your time at the Westin Diplomat. We are glad to hear you found our coffee shop, Common Grounds, as well as our two tiered pools overlooking the ocean well-kept and impressive. We are also glad that you felt the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our ambassadors. They will truly enjoy hearing your inspiring words.

We hope to see you again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for mothers day weekend, the hotel is pretty, the beach is very nice! Very nice pools, if you have small children's this is the hotel for you! If you are planning a romatic get away, girls trips, bachelorettes party, or just a relaxing weekend, this is not the hotel that you want to be!
Pool is full of kids running around! Is hard to find pool chairs! The hotel don't have any beach umbrellas or chairs for guest, you have to rent it for 25dollars per day,
Pool is always full and super crowded! Lots of kids screaming babies crying, ectr
So if you are going with kids, or you don't care to relax this is a great choice for you!
Rooms are great as westin standard, (great beds, great bathrooms)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear patty05,

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your mother’s day getaway at the Diplomat. Thank you for your kind words on the resort. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and pool areas. Our pools have become a guest and family favorite and one of the reasons guest return year after year.

It saddens us to hear that you found the beach rentals to be a bit pricey. The beach is owned by the city of Hollywood and they have contracted the beach rental company that is located on our beach. We will share your feedback with them so we can continue to provide the top notch service Westin is known for.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed at this property back in Spring 2011. Great beach property in nice location. The beach and pool area were super and well maintained, and definitely had a resort feel to it, however not campy like some places. As always with the Westin Brand, the rooms were fantastic, plenty of room and high class, bathroom was spacious. Front desk and concierge staff were very helpful and I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice resort/beach vacation.

Restaurant Recommendations:
Hollywood Prime (In The Lobby) **Very Good Steakhouse**
GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill **Fabulous Water place Dining**

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear JeffW79,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your retreat to the Westin Diplomat. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as your room with the spacious bathroom.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our front desk and concierge staff. They will truly appreciate hearing the kind words you have spoken about them.

Also, thank you for your compliments on our steak house, Hollywood Prime. It is wonderful to see that it was able to entice your taste buds.

We hope to welcome you back to the Westin soon!

Be Well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.