We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Comptoir

Le Comptoir
1902 Harrison St., Hollywood, FL
786-718-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 488 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
new york city
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We listened to the reviewers on Tripadvisor and weren't sorry. The restaurant is a find as the food and service are excellent and the prices are so reasonable. We were four people and tried various dishes: salads, mussels, escargot, steak, and duck; all great. We were only one of two tables filled in the restaurant. When we returned to Hollywood and looked in the restaurant- it was again, pretty empty. So- go there! Do not let this great place close.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Ct
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“First Time Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We originally decided to try this restaurant because we bought a restaurant.com certificate. It was a very pleasant surprise to find out that the food was great as was the service. I'm assuming we caught them on a slow night as there was only one other couple dining. The menu is somewhat limited but offers enough to cover most tastes. My wife had a NY Strip while I chose the Duck entrée. First we split the Escargot and mussels. All of our choices were very good. For dessert we chose a crepe type dessert which was great. When we left my wife forgot to take her leftovers and while we were still walking to our car the owners daughter came running up to us to deliver them. Can't ask for better service than that. We would return here in the future. On the street parking can be a little tough but I did notice a parking garage around the corner. Their wines are reasonably priced as is everything on the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Have the sole. Have not had better at more than twice the price. My wife had the mussels, loved them!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, price, quality at Le Comptoir, Hollywood, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great restaurant... Aren't French restaurants supposed to be expensive, slow, and snooty? Not so at this gem just off Hollywood Circle in downtown Hollywood, Florida. We arrived early at 6:30 on a Saturday night... Only one other table out of the 15 or so had patrons... normally a bad sign for a Saturday night... But we were warmly greeted by the owner and shown to our table... We were served warm French bread immediately... The atmosphere was warm and friendly, clean and quiet with French music playing... The escargot appetizer was fantastic, with the right amount of garlic/butter sauté... House honey mustard salad dressing was good... My wife's salmon on lentils was substantial and wonderful... My $15 New York strip was a little tough on one end, but I don't blame the restaurant for my mistake of ordering steak instead of their mussels specialty, which looked fantastic... The french fries were the best! The $21 bottle of Pinot Noir completed the meal... Most wines were under $30 per bottle... Entrées ranged from $15 to $20 each... By the time we left at 8:00 PM, the tables were filled and customers were being turned away... Make reservations! Thank you Le Comptoir for your attentive service, excellent food, cozy atmosphere, low prices, and overall great dining experience... I'll be back soon for the mussels!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hollywood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice restaurant in Hollywood. Charming decor and ambiance and service was great. Ate there last night - four of us, two of us had the steaks which were excellent and two had the mussels with curry sauce which they said were awesome. Surprised they were not more crowded, but I am sure they will be in season. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir also viewed

 

Been to Le Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Comptoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.