We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering Hollywood? The Hotel Sheldon won't dissappoint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sheldon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Sheldon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Considering Hollywood? The Hotel Sheldon won't dissappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am an advid Trip Advisor user. At times when I accompany my husband on a business trip, I try to find a reasonable property with a location that provides me with things to busy myself while he is working. While researching hotels in the Hollywood, FL area, I came across the Hotel Sheldon. The reviews were mostly good, however, there were a few that worried me a bit. However, the location and value are what intrigued me the most.
Located directly on the infamous Hollywood boardwalk/beach I thought this would be perfect for me to enjoy.
Let me just say that the hotel, while still under some renovation is a wonderful up and coming property. At the last minute, after re-reading the reviews, I decided to upgrade our room for $ 20 more a night to an oceanfront room. The desk clerk mentioned that it was not a renovated room, but that the view was worth it.
To our surprise, upon arrival, we were given an upgraded corner room (#238). It was immaculately clean and almost brand new. Furnishings, floors and linens were modern, spacious, with a walk-in closet to boot. Although when we arrived it was very late, we could tell that the view would be fantastic in the morning.
And that it was. Most spectacular. In fact, you could see the aqua blue ocean right from sitting on the king bed.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Although there was airconditioning ,the windows opened to the ocean breezes.
The room was cleaned each day and towels replaced.
As far as the amendities, although few, they were plently enough for a stay at the beach. The hotel provides new beach chairs (they don't recline), umbrella, and towels for their guests.
But you could rent a lounge chair at the beach for $8 a day, $5 more for a cushion. In my opinion, it is well worth it. There is fresh coffee in the lobby all day and a coffee maker, microwave, and new refrigerator in the in the room as well. Free Wi Fi and parking are also provided.
The staff is pleasant and accommodating.
The location is also perfect for walking the beautifully kept boardwalk with reasonable restaurants, shops, all nearby. As well, there is much to see either left or right out the hotel back door along the 3 mile plus walk.
I was unsure whether Hollywood would provide me with enough to do for 4 days, but was pleasantly surprised that there was enough and more. The Hollywood beaches are clean and scenic, lined with palm trees and enhanced by aqua blue waters in the background.
My husband and I will absolutely go back to the Hotel Sheldon, but will request an Oceanfront room.
Check out Le Marche, a brand new bistro left on boardwalk from hotel. Its
a bit of a distance down but well-worth the stroll. Great atmosphere, food, and live entertainment with incredible views of the ocean.
Also there is live entertainment at Nick's Bar and Grill. Fun, lively place just a short walk from hotel.

Room Tip: Request Oceanfront renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
16
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's on the Broadwalk, if that's what you need. Free parking, beach chairs, & beach towels. Room was spacious. Bath is very dated, but functional. Beds were a little soft for me. Food & drink are all easily walkable with the possible exception of breakfast. Cool looking building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with a friend. The hotel is right on the beach and the boardwalk. Great location. They provide beach chairs and umbrella to guests for the beach (free). Beds were comfortable. Room came with a mini fridge and wifi. Bathroom was o.k. -paint job was interesting... For the price it was well worth it. Ask for the ocean view room. We got to watch the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room, for an extra $10 well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location couldn't be better.We got a recently renovated room-336 and looked out on the beach.The room was very nice.Refrigerator, clock with I phone charger,nice furnishings.The location is literaly at the center of the boardwalk,plenty of places to eat and things to do.Waking up to an ocean view is pretty nice too.I also really liked that they provided us with good substantial beach chairs to take to the beach.I also saw there was a beach umbrella as well.Otherwise it would have cost to rent them.This was a very welcome added touch.The only small thing I found was that the renovated bathroom had not allowed for the bathroom door hitting the toilet.Someone had gouged out a chunck of door so that you could open the door.Not a big deal by any means

Room Tip: get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's cheap and it's literally 20 feet from the beach. It's also on the Hollywood broadwalk, and we ate dinner at one of the dozens of restaurants within a short walk, sitting outside facing the beach. This was a great stay for the night before our cruise.

We were looking for a clean room with two beds, a shower, and air conditioning right on the beach, and the hotel delivered. It even had a working TV. We weren't planning to use it, but did.

It's a no-frills place, though, so if you want high-end pillows (ours were foam), a pool, restaurant, room service, and high-end furnishings, look elsewhere. Just be prepared to be pay MUCH more.

We did have a couple of problems related to the ongoing renovations: the AC didn't initially work, but someone came within two minutes and fixed it. Also, the elevator didn't work one time, but did work all the other times. It's only 3 floors, but if it's critical you have the elevator, consider that.

I would definitely stay here again pre-cruise, and I'd bet with a renovated room, I'd easily give it 5 stars for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, but note there are only 5 as of March 25, 2013. The front desk lady said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 4nights at Sheldon hotel in March 2013. My husband love the hollywood boardwalk location. I booked it based on trip advisor reviews. I knew it wasn't a fancy hotel, but we were lucky to get a recently renovated room with ocean view(room 236). The lobby has a small desk and nothing else, but I don't spend any time in the lobby, so that is not important. We had a king size bed which was comfortable. We had a big tv with lots of channels. We had a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. It was a bit small but nice shower. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. The view was amazing and you were right on the beach. They even give you beach chairs (which were brand new, not old and rusted like other reviews). The price was very reasonable and included parking. The building is old but they are all old on the boardwalk. It doesn't have a pool but you have the beautiful ocean in front of you.
The only issue is the safe, you must set the code before you shut the safe or else it locks before you set the code, like we found out. They sent a maintenance person very quickly. Overall the hotel was great, but you must get a renovated room. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if they have available .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel not knowing what to expect. We booked King deluxe ocean view. The room had a great view of the park and the ocean the feeling is that it is clean, free parking
fridge, microwave, beach chairs, umbrella, towels all included
bathroom is dated but had no grime`
great location on the beach
i am very pleased at the way this place is managed it was fine for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort
Address: 1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sheldon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.