We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay... Pics online do not look like hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sheldon to your Saves list
Hotel Sheldon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible stay... Pics online do not look like hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We thought we were going to have peace and quiet during our trip.... Think again! The hotel is under construction and we got woke up numerous times during the early morning. This was our vacation we at least wanted to sleep in till 8 or 9... Boy were we wrong.. The construction began early and woke us up... The room was ok for the price expect it was old looking and the paint was coming off the walls. The bed also had an annoying mattress plastic cover on it which was aggravating whenever we moved on the bed. The hotel staff was ok but when we checked in the front desk girl named Nicole couldn't find our reservation. She was very young and seemed very inexperienced. Took us forever to get checked in, and parking was a joke as was the wifi, since it didn't work. When we contacted the front desk, she didn't know how to fix it.
Never again, next time we'll stay somewhere else... Also the pics on hotel.com does not look like the hotel sheldon we stayed at.. Don't be fooled.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
23
57
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We got there early Sunday (9am or so). They gave us our free parking pass even before we checked in, which was great since check in isn't until 3. The desk staff was very friendly.

We had a beach view room that was huge and clean. The bed was pretty hard, and had some weird plastic cover on the mattress (under the sheets of course) that was kinda annoying. But luckily I like my mattress a little firmer, didn't really bother me.. If you require a soft bed, you'll probably be disappointed.

The place is certainly under construction, and on the weekend it doesn't cause a problem, unless you're the kind of person that complains about the outside of a hotel looking like it's under construction.

On Monday morning we were woke up by construction noise at like 7:30, which was annoying after being up until 1am. Tuesday the construction didn't start until about 9:30am, which was fine for us since we generally get up at 9 or earlier.

The elevator is down right now, but seriously the hotel is 3 stories. TV was small..

Okay, here's the other great parts. It's a very reasonably priced hotel, literally on the beach. From your room, it takes two minutes to have your feet in the water. There are plenty of restaurants and bars both ways you walk, and a small convenience store a 1/2 block away. We had alot of fun. (Hint; Capones on N. Ocean, right behind the hotel, was amazing at 2am!)

If you're look for 5 star, this is not it. That's the hilton down the road and is gonna cost you $200-$400 per night. But if you're looking for an affordable hotel on the beach, that's clean, this is your place.

But if you're staying on the week nights, call and check on the construction, and bring your ear plugs.

Room Tip: Partial oceanview, king was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

So here's a realistic experience of my recent 4 night stay at the Hotel Sheldon. I say realistic because after reading some reviews from people who nitpic just for the sake of it, you realize how unhelpful of a review it can be. Yes this hotel is undergoing construction and not finished yet, they say that on their website so nothing to hide there.

What's good: Clean room, clean beds (this is a big one as I'm a health inspector back home and trained to look for bed bugs and found no traces here). Quiet room as new windows are installed. New A/C unit that worked great. Very friendly staff that have beach chairs/towels/umbrellas free to use for the day. Location is amazing. Cable tv with lots of channels for movies etc.

What's normal for an older hotel: Hot water takes a while in the shower, loose faucette, some paint peeling in the washroom, older key style locks... etc but honestly this doesn't affect the quality of the stay.

Ammenaties that would be nice: The wifi didn't work in the room but there's lots in the area so found another one. Room phone. That's it.

This place will look amazing once fully done and the rooms have mostly been done already. Expect to hear some work outside during business hours as the exterior is being re-finished. Don't be turned off by everything you read on this site (for this and other places for that matter). If people expect a five star hotel when they are booking a two star and then complain about every little thing, just be glad you're not the one who has to be on the trip with all their negativity.

Hope this review helped, Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The hotel was under renovation so the prices here are lower than any other oceanfront hotel in the area. The room was nice, but the elevator didn't work and I was on the third floor. The front desk girl Chelsea was helpful she carried our luggage, let us use the phone in the lobby (there are no phones in the rooms!), spent an hour helping us connect to the internet (WIFI DOESN'T WORK IN ROOMS! you have to sit in the common area on the 2nd floor to get wifi) and printed out maps and directions for all the places we needed to go. She was almost worth the fact that the housekeeper never touched our rooms, we had to ask for towels and coffee and make our own beds empty our own trash. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a place to sleep and spend the whole day out and about. If you're expecting a lot of accomodations from the hotel, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrodsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The location is superb and the service from all staff was fantastic! Yes, they are under construction, but never did it get noisy or interrupt our vacation. Yes, it is an older, smaller hotel, so we didnt' expect a 5 star facility, we really can't stomach paying 5 star prices just for a bed, so we wanted value and good location. It was moderately clean with comfortable beds and the location on the Hollywood boardwalk can't be beat! The attentiveness and willingness of the staff to accomodate any requests we had is what makes up for any construction inconvenience or lack of top notch quality facility!! And it's staffed 24/7! A lot of smaller places to stay on hollywood beach are not. We look forward to coming back a few more times, with our 3 kids sometime, and maybe with a few other couples for a beach getaway some other time!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We arrived at about 3:00 pm on Monday , Feb. 21. Even the street are under major construction!! You must park up the street. The picture you see here is a lie! I will post my pics as soon as my sister sends them to me! Boarded up windows and holes Blue Plastic covering windows. Exposed wires and buckets of tools all over the hall ways! no elevator . When I called to ask about the room they did not say anything about renovations taking place not even on this site!!! Yikes! They charged me for a night because I refused to stay at all! Due to the condition of the place! Gross! When I send my cc company the pic on here and the ones we took that day we will def win!!!! We were staying near the water as we came to visit our mom in the Hospital and hoped the beach would bring a little sun to our trip! If you never want to sleep and be close to the beach it is right there. Way too congested! If your looking for something quite ,uhhhh no!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Awesome location and friendly day staff at front desk are about the only positives I have. Parking was difficult, no elevator, toilet barely flushed, sink leaked, my daughter's mattress crinkled as if there was a plastic cover over the mattress. With some big $$$ invested this could be a 3+.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Address: 1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sheldon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.