We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite at Hampton level. 3.5 out of 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Stirling Road, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Not quite at Hampton level. 3.5 out of 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Looked like an older hotel, not quite as "shiny" as other Hampton hotels.
When we called a few days earlier the only room they had left was a "King with a sofa sleeper" which turned out to be suite. $126 plus taxes.

Unfortunately, the floor in the kitchen was very sticky, my socks got stuck many times on it, yuck.
It had an older coffee machine and the "filter holder" was missing. One call quickly resolved the problem, but the front desk lady at the phone was quite rude which made me shake my head.

Breakfast was BUSY and they had problems refilling which did not surprise me because of the number of people there. Breakfast lady was nice.

We got a late check out without problems which we appreciated.

If we were to stay in the area again we would go to the Hampton Inn Airport North where we stayed two other nights (and which was booked for this night) and loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
We regret the unfortunate surroundings you encountered during your stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovation to provide a more updated and comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will visit us soon to see our new changes. It is our teams mission to you feel like home away from home. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    154
    94
    44
    21
See reviews for
172
155
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Hampton Inn and Suite is a great place to stay for business or pleasure. Excellent location, easy access to the cruise port and airport. If you want to shop there is a plaza in walking distance. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is quite hospitable. Simply put, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your womderful comments. We appreciate your feedback and arethrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport South. It is our tteams mission to make you feel like home away from home. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hampton has a new policy where if the property is overbooked, and you don't check-in by 6:00 p.m., they cancel your room and parking so they can sell it to someone else. Arrived at 6:30 after an 850-mile drive and missed the secret deadline by 30 minutes. My room and cruise parking had been sold to someone else. . .presumably for a higher rate. Had to pay rack rate in another hotel and park at the cruise line's garage. . .about $100 difference in price. The only room available was smoking, so it stunk and so did we, the next day.

One bright spot was Felicia at the front desk, who valiantly but unsuccessfully tried to find us another hotel on a Friday night and apologized for the policy change. It was obvious that she didn't like having to turn people away who had made their reservations in good faith.

Hampton used to be a good chain until they started this bait-n-switch game. They should at least have let me bid on the room at the increased rate. . .I wouldn't have liked it, but it would have been better than no room or cruise parking, at all.

Room Tip: Stay someplace that honors its reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, NP, Bahamas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was very pleased with the breakfast and also the size of the bathroom. Impressive. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful in giving us directions and also during the serving of the breakfast they made themselves known and were very friendly. At one time the Manager came in and checked on us. The room is very nice but the bed was kinda high for my mother, but she made it. Parking is nice and security seems to be okay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilda b, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to you staying with us again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Reserved a suite at the Stirling Hampton via Booking.com for a family of 5 with plans to cruise out of Miami the next day (Nov 30, 2013). Called for shuttle on arrival at FLL at 11:15 pm after a full day's travel. Called again at 11:45, midnight & 12:15 am. I was always advised that the shuttle was in the vicinity but there was traffic...will be there very soon. In the meantime, all the other hotel shuttles had come and gone at least 3 times. Eventually told on the third call that there was a problem with my suite and, by the way, I will be relocated to another Hampton. My transport to Miami was scheduled to pick us up at Stirling. Two shuttles came by...the one for Stirling Rd didn't even stop; the driver from the 12th Av Hampton was willing to help but had no instructions. We finally got to the 12th Av Hampton and to bed at 2:00 am...no traffic to be seen on the way. I was charged for the full amount twice on my visa and then the second charge removed...lost money on the conversion rate. Why was the room availability only revealed after 3 calls? Why blame the non-existent traffic for delays?

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port South and for taking the time in posting this review. It is very disturbing to hear that happened to you and your family at our hotel. It is not normal for this to happen and I assure you that the issues will not repeat itself. We have also spoken to the front desk team and the shuttle company K.S.A. tour has been contacted. I would like to apologize for this inconvenience during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The service at this hotel was excellent. The people here were very helpful. It's not a fancy, five star hotel, but it is a convenient stay near the airport and is at the right price. The breakfast offered was good. The only complaint I would have is that the beds were doubles and it was a bit tight for a family of four.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn on Sterling for our pre-cruise. The room was clean and was a large roo which included a full kitchen. It was a very nice hotel and offered shuttle service to the cruise port for an additional fee. I would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port

Address: 2500 Stirling Road, Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport Hotel Hollywood
Hampton Inn Ft Lauderdale Airport
Hampton Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale-Airport/South Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.