We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We started out our vacation with 4 days at this hotel and it was quite nice!

The room was clean and spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. Directly underneath our room was a big A-C-engine but we didn't have any problems with noise during the night or anything, it did give away a bit of heat though.

Excersise facilities were extremely basic but sufficient. Some dumbbells some running machines and other weight-lifting machines. 2 TV's in there which we had full control of, and we were also able to control the A/C and music volume. Nice!

Pool is great! Not very deep on the deepest, but then again, it shouldn't be. A huge section of it is extremely shallow which is great for kids. Outside jaccuzi was spacious and warm and the poolside bar was OK. Lying by the pool was extremely relaxing and nice.

On the negative side; we ordered some food at the poolside bar and the waitress recommended ordering the hamburgers well done. Not very reassuring. The hotel restaurant breakfast is also quite expensive for the quality.

There is a Walmart nearby (just over the bridge) but there is quite a way to the closest restaurants. Fortunately, the hotel's taxi-guy isn't very expensive.

Staff was quite helpful, but some of them really could use a smiling-course :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear MentosTFM,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great review with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments on our staff services. Thank you for letting us know where there is room for improvement.We will make sure to communicate the issues to our management team. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    489
    201
    74
    56
See reviews for
347
421
80
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mascoutah, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We were able to book a reservation in June 14 for a 5 nights stay in July. The price was just right. The rooms were clean with a nice pool and other amenities. The staff were friendly. Need for improvement would include upgrades to the gym and restuarant menu

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Tourist7900,
We appreciate all of your great feedback on our amenities and staff services. Your feedback on our restaurant menu and gym upgrade will be reviewed with our management team. We will take necessary action to improve our options. Thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am compelled to write this review regarding our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel. We just arrived home July 22, 2014 after a 7 day stay. If I could have found another hotel which had rooms available we would have left. Read below:

We have stayed a the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel 3 previous times. Orginally when the hotel initially opened were one of the first guest to stay. The hotel is not the same it needs some TLC. .When we arrived to our room, the tile floor was not clean and I found someone's wet bathing suit left in the closet. Of course you think the rooms are cleaned after guests leave but obviously it wasn't completely. I put the bathing suit in a plastic bag at took it to the Front Desk and handed it to the attendant on duty. They apologized and asked if there were any other ISSUES. I advised them that the tile floor needed to be cleaned. I was told a cleaning person would come to our room and take care of it. About 20 minutes later the cleaner came to the room. She asked what was the issue, so I again told her the tile floor was not clean. She took one of the towels on the towel bar and wet it in the sink then dropped it on the floor and with her foot she swiped it all over the floor. She didn't use any cleaning supplies, to my dismay I was shocked. Me and my husband looked at each other and couldn't believe it. The sofa and carpet leading in to bedroom was really filthy didn't look as though they haven't been cleaned in ages. Which lead us not to seat on the sofa the entire time we were there.

Two days later there was a Fire Alarm that went off at 5am. We had to walk down 9 flights of stairs, it was a false alarm. But no one from the Crowne Plaza Staff told us it was a false alarm one of the other guests told us. There was no Crowne Plaza Staff present in the stair well or outside directing guest where to go or even advising us on what to do. Shouldn't there be a sometime of protocal for this type of situation? No one from the staff even apologized. Although they have no control over guests an apology can go along way. As we waited in the lobby to get on the elevator to go to our room, the people at the front desk area didn't utter a word to any of the guests in the lobby (NOTHING).

The next day we were unable to get the safe in the open, so we contacted the front desk, they sent someone up to look at it. Well he had too drill holes in the safe door to get it open. It took him over 1 hour, and he left the door with holes in it on the safe. When I asked if we could still use the safe and would our items be secure he responded sure. The next day we received a call from the front desk advising someone would be coming to our room to look at the safe, we advised it had been taken care of. Well they sent someone else up to look at it anyway. Well the safe was not secure, someone could have opened it. The worker David was very helpful, he replaced the safe door and listend to me vent about the issues we had. It was our 15 year wedding anniversary. He told us about the live music at the pool, the dinner specials in the restaurant. Later we found out he had a cake made for our anniversary in the hotel restaurant as we told him we would going there to eat. We didn't make it there, but were so greatful that he really tried to make up for the issues we had.

On a positive note the Pool and Tiki Bar are nice, the beach is just accross the street. David the Maintence Worker really went out of his way.

All in all I would Never Never Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel again. They need to make some SERIOUS CHANGES. I really wish I had taken some pictures to post along with this review..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear deemiami,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're truly sorry to hear all of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please email us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com.
We appreciate your time and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you are looking for a reasonable rate for a nice hotel, this is it in Hollywood. The pool and deck were amazing. Not too crowded for a fully booked hotel because it is so big with many lounge chairs. The pool was open until 10 p.m. which our family enjoyed to relax and unwind. The staff was friendly and helpful. We weren't able to get our room until 3:30 and my son wasn't feeling well the first day. They did suggest changing in the bathrooms and taking a swim. Drinks were pricey at the pool bar. $10 for a pina colada and $3 for a soft drink. They don't let you bring your own drinks or food. Security guard is at the pool to help keep out non-guests. The 2nd day we had water leaking from our bathroom ceiling onto our toilet area. When I called the front desk, they said the room above us had children and that they had flooded the bathroom. They said they couldn't move us because they were fully booked for the night. I asked what they could do if it continued. The manager assured me it would stop. The next day guess what happened again. I video taped it and brought it down to the manager. She told me that she would get me another room, but didn't have one at the time. She took my cell number and called me about 20 minutes later to tell me she had a room. We moved all of our stuff to another level which took some time (we were trying to catch the water taxi so we had to hurry). The electricity went out on Sunday night, but I can't fault the hotel since I noticed the condo building next door also had no electricity. The morning of our departure we got our bill. There was a breakfast charge of $35. We never ate breakfast there. So I had to go down to dispute the bill. I explained that we changed rooms and perhaps that is why there was a mistake. She said, no, that wasn't the case. So she started looking through receipts trying to find the breakfast charge. We left to go eat breakfast and when we got back she said that someone had transposed the numbers of their hotel room when they charged it to their room. Scary that staff are not checking the room number against the name. Couldn't anyone start charging to any room if they aren't cross referencing? So bill was fixed. Disappointed that the manager didn't offer any compensation for the inconvenience of the leaky ceiling. We had to use the lobby bathrooms those days because there was no way to avoid the water leaking on our heads while using the toilet. I didn't want to get angry and demand it, because I understood that they couldn't control the people above us from flooding their room. But good management would have offered a little something for our trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above third floor so you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear dk-illinois,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback on the fire alarm and power outage issues are much appreciated and truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We will be sure to review these suggestions with our executive management team and take necessary action for improvement.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Hollywood was chosen for our Forth of July long weekend in Hollywood.
The Staff and accommodations were excellent, the location was perfect and we had access to all of what Hollywood had to offer. The restaurant on site was great and the pool was the perfect setting for relaxing afternoons. I plan to visit on a regular basis. Kudos to the staff for their professionalism. we will be back.

Room Tip: If you can, try to reserve a room with a view of the itracoastal waterway..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Randy P,
We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments on our staff service and hotel amenities are much appreciated. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed Thursday thru Sunday. We liked the large, clean room. Furnishings were modern and functional. The large bar refrigerator and microwave was a nice touch. The pool area and tiki bar overlooking the inter coastal canal was very nice. We used the valet service at $19 per night. They were fast and efficient. Great location with the beach right across the street.

The downside was the loud AC unit and the fire alarm going off 5 times the first night. The staff communication during the fire alarm was concerning. We were told someone was smoking in their room. No explanation was given for the next four. People seemed to stop leaving their rooms by the fourth or fifth alarm.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jonnyjetprop,
We appreciate all your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. It’s so rewarding to know that enjoyed our hotel. We will look into your concerns with our management team and take necessary actions to improve. We certainly hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel with excellent location on Hallandale Beach and easy access to Aventura Mall, Miami and Sawgrass. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, very we'll maintained and generally very welcoming and friendly employees. Breakfast was good with an appetising buffet and plenty of staff. Reception was again welcoming however I felt they needed an extra body, more often than not there was just one staff member which was not enough. My only complaint which I will not hold against the hotel was a member of the pool bar team who seemed to be selective of the people she wanted to serve. We tried to get her attention but she made it clear she did not want to serve us. Don't know why.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Marc S,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the great feedback on our staff services and facility. We apologize for the inconvenience with the pool server! This is certainly not a common response we receive regarding our customer service and will be brought to the managements attention.Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.