We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay close do SoBe.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good stay close do SoBe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice hotel with helpful staff. At arrival our room wasn't clean and has no curtain on the shower. We requested a change and was quickly arranged. Great for a nice beach (Hollywood / Halandale) not to crowded as SoBe but close enough for a visit specially if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear FSG-BR,
Thank you for sharing this review with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood Beach, FL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    519
    218
    77
    60
See reviews for
373
448
81
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel advertises wireless and wired high-speed Internet.
The wireless Internet was working extremely poorly during first few days of my stay - somewhat improved later.
The wired Internet was not working at all and the hotel refused to fix it when I asked.
Guess why? Because it WOULD COST THE HOTEL MONEY! That's how they explained it!
I pay my money to the hotel, but they refuse to spend them to fix what they advertise.
And the wired Internet, most likely, has been disconnected in the entire hotel for a while, without hotel employees even knowing it.
And, there is a person called Isabel Guidobono, who is supposedly authorized to allow repairs, but she is hiding from hotel guests and refusing to authorize repairs when hotel employees ask her.
Read on, and you will see why I think that.

I checked in on Saturday, May 24, before a long weekend.
The phone in my room was not working.
The wired Internet was not working either.
The wireless Internet was working poorly.
The maintenance guy insisted that there was nothing wrong with the phone, but they did replace it when I insisted, and the replacement was working fine.
Then we (the maintenance guy and I) called the company that supports the wired Internet for the hotel (SONIFY Solutions). Every room has their phone number written down, and the hotel maintenance guy said, we needed to call them.
The hotel maintenance guy was of little help, but I am an IT engineer myself - I have been working in IT for the last 15+ years or so.
After a couple hours of troubleshooting, SONIFY informed me that the switch port on their end doesn't detect a physical link. Nor does their switch see my MAC address on any other port. I informed them that on my end my laptop detects the link and successfully negotiates speed and duplex settings (but doesn't get any DHCP response, so there is no IP address and no Internet).
As an IT engineer, I can immediately tell that the probable reason is: their network map is wrong and my room is NOT REALLY CONNECTED TO THEIR SWITCH. It is connected to some other switch instead.
To confirm this, I asked the SONIFY employee what speed their switch supports. He informed me that it is a gigabit switch. I informed him that my laptop negotiated a 100 Mbps link (not a gigabit) - clearly, I am connected to the wrong switch!
At this point, the SONIFY employee on the phone asked us to try another room.
The hotel maintenance guy refused: no free rooms.
Then, the SONIFY employee suggested that they (SONIFY) would send their technician to the hotel and he would take a look at the connection. The hotel employees don't have access to the switches, so it would have to be a SONIFY employee.
The hotel maintenance guy refused to allow that.
I insisted and talked to his boss.
His boss refused too, but told me that their Room Division Director (Isabel Guidobono) would be available tomorrow morning and could authorize that. I was told that the reason for their refusal was: the hotel would need to pay for this.
OK, next morning (Sunday) I came to the front desk and asked for Isabel Guidobono. I was told that she was away and would only be there on Tuesday (long weekend). The shift manager (Elizabeth Middleton) insisted that the hotel cannot authorize SONIFY come and fix it (as SONIFY suggested), because the hotel "has their own IT staff". I told her that their staff already tried, and that the solution is not in their power - the maintenance people don't have access to the switches. She insisted that she had a different staff member today, who would help. OK, I talked to their new maintenance guy - who turned out to be the head of their maintenance. He immediately admitted that he is not an IT guy at all, and the hotel doesn't have IT people. We did try another room though. The Internet in that room wasn't working either - and this time the laptop negotiated a 10 Mbps link with the switch, not even 100 Mbps. Again, the link was on, but no IP address and no Internet. Multiple hotel employees also informed me that nobody really used wired Internet for at least a year - everybody used wireless only. At this point it became completely clear to me - not to them - that the wired Internet had been disconnected for the entire hotel.
I talked again to the shift manager (Elizabeth), she called Isabel Guidobono - and Isabel DID NOT authorize allowing SONIFY come and do repairs.
OK, I waited until Tuesday, May 27 (that had been three days already, long weekend), and came to the front desk to talk to Isabel herself. The sign near the front desk said that the shift manager was Isabel Guidobono today - good news! At last she was here! Or so I thought. When I asked for her - I was told that she had a day off!!! I questioned that, because the sign said, she was the shift manager. I was told that she was still on her day off, even though the sign said she was the shift manager.
I didn't try to come again next day - I can't spend all my vacation looking for this person.
I was on vacation, after all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear montegobay_2011,
We're sorry to hear of the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. It's not clear what may have happened, possibly a miscommunication. This is not a norm in our hotel as we strive to resolve all issues right away.
Thank you for sharing this review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stay at this Hotel because it's convenient to my elderly Mother's home. She has health problems & I stay there every time she is Hospitalized, which has been quite frequently over the last couple of years. The Front Desk staff for the most part, make you feel like any question you ask them is too much trouble. That's not very welcoming & certainly not the norm for a 4 Star Hotel.
One of the Desk Staff, argued with me about a pre-paid room rate that I purchased from Orbitz!
She tried to charge me more!! When I asked to speak with her Supervisor, all of a sudden her tune changed. She never apologized ,though.
The Valets are another sore spot. I was there 1st & a Valet was trying to help me but doing a very bad job of it as it was very busy. I have an older vehicle, not flashy & I am a more dowdy looking middle-aged woman. A Lexus SUV pulls up with 3 very clevage revealing girls in it & the Valet dropped me like a hot potato & literally RAN over to those women & left me standing there, waiting on him! I had to get another Valet to help me & by that time I was sweaty & very aggravated!! UNBELIEVABLE customer service standards!!!!
Now to the MOLDY SHOWER~~ Every time I stay at this Hotel (4 Star, they proclaim) there is someone else s hair & mold in the shower ! Also around the floor boards in the Bathroom .No matter which Room! Does anybody check on the folks who clean the rooms after they are done before letting new Guests in?? They should, but I guess they either don't, or have very poor standards of cleanliness.
Even the Gorgeous Infinity Pool was not as clean as it should have been. Whats going on!!!!!
Well, I guess I'll stop for now. I will be staying again in another week & I'll bet I see the same exact problems all over again. Remember the movie "Groundhog Day"?? It just keeps going on & on & on!!!!
PLEASE, Housekeeping~~~~ Clean the MOLD!

Room Tip: The Ice machine on each floor makes a TERRIBLE sound, if it's working, that is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear hippieprincess,
Thank you so much for sharing this review with us. We greatly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us with housekeeping and guest service. These kind of issues are unusual for us and we would like to look into this a bit more. Would you be so kind to email us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com to further discuss your experience? Thank you in advance for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is rated as a 4 star but I beg to differ. It's really nothing out of this world. The staff is really nice except for the crabby pool security guard. The breakfast buffet was mediocre but I was glad when my waiter gave me a discount. After staying at the Westin last year, I can say that I will be planning next year back at the Diplomat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Vanessa F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be sure to discuss your concerns with our management team for improvement.Thank you for your time and we hope to see you in Hollywood soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

upon arrival the hotel staff were amazing and very helpful. The hotel was very clean and in very nice location. The pool was very relaxing. We told the hotel staff what we wanted and they gave us great suggestions on places to eat and places to go. I would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Tasha T,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback with us and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The employees great you with a smile and service with a smile is their goal. My stay was wonderful. I would stay again and again. My husband and I are planning to return in January so I will be making a reservation soon.

Room Tip: My room was awesome!!!!!!! I had a great view from my balcony. It was nice to sit on the patio in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Alecia D,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are pleased to know you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your compliments on our staff services. We look forward to seeing you in January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here over the weekend and purchased our deal on Priceline. The hotel is definitely 4 stars, but the helpful front desk man Jabin F. really went out of his way to make our stay great. We were able to have an awesome room with a great view. The only downside to the room is we were right next to the service elevator, which was loud at times when we were trying to sleep. Aside from that, the hotel was relaxed and easy going. Thanks again Jabin F.! You rock! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Nldurant,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback Jabin F's customer service and we'll be sure to recognize him for providing you with such memorable service.
Thank you again for this review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.