We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable hotel with an excellent pool area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Hollywood
Stockholm
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very affordable hotel with an excellent pool area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is located in Hollywood just where the Hallandale Beach begins. The Crowne Plaza is 15 miles north of South Beach Miami and 11-12 miles south of Fort Lauderdale. The location is not the best if you want walking distance to restaurants and bars. It is about 2 miles (3 kilometers) to the restaurants at Hollywood Beach Broadwalk. Walmart is at the other side of the bridge. Next to the hotel it is a 7-eleven with gas.

The room has a small kitchen area with microwave and refrigerator. Our room had two queen beds, comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. The washbasin was not in the bathroom, placed just outside instead next to the beds. The room missing the possibility for 2 adults and 2 children to have a breakfast or lunch when there was no table inside and at the balcony there only was a small table and two chairs. The room should have two more chairs. There is a safety box in the room. TV.

That was sensitively between the rooms but even more towards the corridor. I have never experienced that much sensitively towards a corridor before in any hotel. I think it is some errors in the design of the doors when there was a big gap. But it was pretty quiet in the evenings and nights so it did not bother so much.

The public beach is just across the street, if you need sun chairs and umbrella the cost is 30-40 USD per day for the guest of the hotels.

The pool area is excellent. A large pool that fits all ages and gets never crowded, not even on the July 4 weekend when the hotel was full booked. There is a large Jacuzzi. Free sun chairs and pool towels. No resort fee charged. Nice location next to the channel.

The hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi but it is very slow.

Breakfast is served at the restaurant, continental costs 14 USD plus taxes and tip and full American breakfast 17.95 USD plus taxes and tip.

Self-parking at 17 USD plus taxes per night, both a parking lot and a garage. The garage was very affordable at heat days. Valet parking at 19 USD plus taxes and tip.

The hotel has a fitness center with all the equipment you need.

We stayed 14 nights and after 8 nights we discovered what we first believed was mosquito bites. But when we had counted 27 mosquito bites at my wife’s body we understood it was something else. I searched for bed bugs under the beds and found some. I contacted the front desk immediately and we were evacuated to another room after an inspection. The manager in charge called us and gave us an excuse immediately and we also got a really good compensation. There was no problem with bed bugs in the new room. We had some friends stayed at the hotel at the same time, they had no bed bugs in the two rooms they used.

I can recommend the hotel if you want affordable hotel in the Miami area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view near the pool at floor 6 or higher. The room with ocean view is not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    580
    244
    87
    73
See reviews for
429
506
84
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my colleagues during our business trip. The hotel is very clean, the room was perfect. Has a small kitchen. I liked how they separated the bed and the sink.
The food in the hotel is fine, not the best, but we were satisfied. The location is very convenient and right next to the canal with the pier right. So at the pool you can buy a ticket just for 25$ and travel on the sea-taxi towards Miami and back, what is cool to my mind. The sea-taxi stops right at the pier of the hotel. The pool is really nice too. It's big enough and built on such level, so when you are in the pool, it feels like the pool has no border, if you look to another side of the canal. I have not had bad experience with the staff in that Hotel. Definitely can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear koteikos,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are very pleased to know just how much you enjoyed your vacation with us. The Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi is a favorite amongst our guests. Hopefully, you were able to see explore the entire route through Fort Lauderdale as well. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and definitely look forward to seeing you the next time you are in South Florida. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Crowne delivered what i was expecting! We (family of 4) relaxed at the pool overlooking the intercoastal. The service at pool side was ample and quick. The rooms were clean and up to date. When i wanted extra towels I got them. Jorge at Valet parking took care of us! Front desk was polite and professional. The beach was across the street, no problem.
Wish List: A toaster or toaster oven in the room to compliment the mini fridge and microwave.
If you had to work on something: Breakfast was too $$$. And the coffee in the room please speak to you supplier...yucky!
We have decided to comeback again soon. Good luck on your pool renovations!
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear TF20132013,

Our friend from Montreal!
We are so happy to know that we met your expectations. Thank you for sharing this great review with us. Your compliments on our staff services are much appreciated. We'll be sure to recognize Jorge in valet for assisting you during your stay. We will review your feedback on where there's room for improvement with our management team.
Again, thank you for your time. We look forward to seeing you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I attended a meeting at the Westin Diplomat earlier this year, and was unable to get a room at the host hotel. This property was close (a short, two-block walk) and provided a nice, quiet room at a favorable rate.

The hotel restaurant serves good food and the service is prompt. Front desk, bell and valet staff are friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear mdwest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel convenient for your trip. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and hope to be your host hotel the next time you are in Hollywood. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was disappointed in the overall value of this hotel stay, considering it was listed as a 4 star hotel. It cost $17 for me to self park for one night, there were only 2 bath towels & one coffee pack in the room, & the lobby & halls were hot compared to the other hotels I've stayed in during July in this area. My room entry card didn't work & even after I got a 2nd card, it took about 10 tries to unlock my room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear QueenSheb,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this review.
We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We hope housekeeping was able to replenish your supplies in a timely manner. Your comments will be reviewed with our management team and please be sure that the necessary action will be taken to improve our guests experience. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice and the location near the beach was great. It is located across the street from the beach and there was a path to the public beach was less than a block away. Also all of the rooms had balconies. Unfortunately the front desk staff was not very friendly and an extended length of time elapsed from me walking to the counter until I was greeted by the staff. There were no other customers there but the staff was typing on computers. A simple "I'll be right with you" would have been appreciated. Finally, I would recommend valet parking. It is only $2 more per day than self parking and there is no close entrance to the hotel from the self parking. To exit the parking lot to get back to the hotel, there is no sidewalk and you have to walk in the exit lane where cars are exiting the parking lot which was not safe, especially with children.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony but many overlook parking lots. Ask where the location of your room is if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Wilsonkat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to know that you did enjoy your vacation. We will review your feedback on our staff services with our team and ensure that this type of behavior does not occur in the future. We truly appreciate this review and look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood soon. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel is right on the Intracoastal Waterway. The room was clean and the air conditioner worked well kept the room cool. The people were nice and helpful. The breakfast was a little expensive along with the self parking. Pool was clean had a good time. 10 minute walk to the beach. We didn’t have any problems during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sherry S,

Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again in the near future. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.