We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter/Fall 2013 Convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter/Fall 2013 Convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had an opportunity to reside at this location for 5 days! The rooms where spacious and clean! The staff was extremely helpful as I came in from a exciting day of training! Assisting me with local restaurants and the beach across the street! I will return in February 2014 for our Spring/Summer Launch Convention!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Demia,

Wow! We are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. See you in February!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    468
    195
    72
    53
See reviews for
324
409
77
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just spent 4 days at the hotel and the service was great -- from Akeelia at check in to Kevin at the concierge desk who arranged my shuttle to the airport. The restaurant staff was accomodating and yes, the breakfast buffet is a little pricey but they offer a wide selection of breakfast items including omlettes & bacon. Thank you Sandra D at the restaurant -- I needed a wine bottle opener which she graciously supplied along with wine glasses.

The room was large, quite nice and comfortable. The one downside -- I would recommend requesting a room away from the ice machine as it can be a little noisy. The wi-fi was slow but it was free. Otherwise, everything was great and the beach is but a 3-5 minute stroll across the street.

TIP: If you need anything, there's a convenience store next door and there's a super Walmart within walking distrance over the intercoastal. Also, the trolley stops just outside the hotel on the weekends and is great for exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear water baby g,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share this review with us.
Thank you for your compliments on our staff services. The special mentions on Akeelia, Kevin and Sandra D will be relayed to their managers so that we ensure they get the recognition deserved for providing you such memorable services. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this property for 5 days due to a death in the family. I had to work during my stay and the internet service is really lacking; They must have one T1 line for all hotel guests, staff, and rooms. The wireless internet did not work well in my room and the wired internet didnt work at all. I couldn't get any work done and had to use a wireless air card to avoid the Crowne Plaza network.

Hotel room was nice as were the pool and grounds. Location is excellent but the staff is rude and the service is lacking.
Upon checkin, the valet wanted my keys and moved the car around the corner before I checked in and was not able to get my luggage out of the car. He wanted a tip for this.

No bellboy approached me on checkin. After trying to grab the baggage cart, the bellboy gave me the index finger indicating to wait while he was on the computer. Facebook I might add. I tried to get the cart to load my luggage and he stated that HE was the only one allowed to use the baggage cart due to insurance purposes; What a huge lie that was. I have never heard of such a thing and he wants a tip after making me wait for him to finish his web-surfing
.
Reservations never stated that there was a $17/day parking fee which was waived after we explained the reason for our visit.

Food at the restaurant was below avg. They wanted $18.00 for the breakfast buffet that had no omelets, crepes, or bacon. The holiday Inn has better breakfasts.

I have stayed at Holiday Inns on the way down and the service at the Holiday Inns that we stayed at was exceptional, as was the internet access; I dont know what is happening at the Crowne Plaze but I will try not to stay at this location in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have very nice balconies. Do not stay if you need to work using hotels internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mikestoz,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. This kind of service behavior is not common at our hotel and we will be sure to look into it. Just so you are aware, it is hotel policy that our luggage carts are utilized by employees only for liability issues. We recently upgraded our internet services and unfortunately, during that time frame our services were unusually slow. This might have been the cause to the slow internet connection but again we apologize for the inconvenience. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am currently staying the Crowne Plaza in Hollywood and it in no way is a 4 star property or experience. Everything is very average. There does not seem to be any management on site, as the employees seem to be disengaged. The restaurant is again average and over-priced and the bar is a morgue.

I have spent the majority of my vacation at the Westin down the block because both their sit down and to-go dining options are much better. Their lobby is also inviting and the staff welcoming and well-trained.

It's unfortunate that I spent nearly $1000 to stay at the Crowne Plaza and had the experience that I did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to discuss this further and see where there is room for improvement. Please email us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you again for your time.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel/rooms were very nice but was most impressed at the friendliness of the staff. When our room did not have two beds as reserved, they moved us to a ocean view room. Staff greeted you and were very helpful from the housekeeping, conceirge, pool staff. I did not realize how far it was from the ocean though and probably would not stay again because of the location. I prefer being on the ocean rather than walking distance to the ocean.

Room Tip: Trolley stop right in front of hotel....$1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sallyodo,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this great review with us.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our staff services. We certainly hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in South Florida. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Crowne Plaza was our last hotel in Florida after a two weeks and 1300 miles trip, and it delivered. Sure it is expensive, but you pay for a >5 minute access to the beach, huge rooms, a nice bathroom with a good shower (that is very important), great outdoor area including a big pool and a bar. We enjoyed staying there and even had dinner by the pool. The sandwiches are good and the frozen drinks contained a good amount of alcohol, in contrast to what people tell here. Maybe if you are unfriendly to the staff, you don't get the best treatment :) I cannot share the experience that the valet was rude, in contrast they are friendly. I made use of the self-parking and the service asked to help us with our luggage. I recommend that hotel and it's outdoor restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear armintoepfer,

Wow! Thank you for sharing this review with us.
We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay. All of your compliments on our staff services, hotel amenities and restaurants are much appreciated. Hopefully, the rest of your vacation also went well. We looking forward to seeing you the next time you are vacationing in South Florida. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Apart from the king size bed and the bathroom, I hardly enjoyed anything in this hotel. The AC is aircraft-engine loud, the sofa is dirty, the light at the lavabo and mirror isn't bright enough, internet is mega slow (Download :: 139 Kbps 17 kB/s Upload :: 87 Kbps 11 kB/s). My check-in at the reception took forever: they had problem with the computer, so had my keys in 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear tripbyr,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We would like to discuss this with you further. Please email us at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.