We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lotza bang for the buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
south florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lotza bang for the buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I usually stay here for work. I do lots of jobs at the Westin Diplomat about a block north of this hotel. And we get put up here when the Dip over books - which is a lot ... However, I prefer staying here... For personal reasons, if I'm staying here, I don't have a gazillion client peeps at every step... And the best part... The rooms are more spacious - and with the renovation a few years back - quite attractive. There is a small kitchenette - refrig, microwave, sink. Nice decor. All rooms have a balcony.

Yes, the lobby is weak...... However, The Tiki bar on the intracoastal is probably one of the best tikis on the intracoastal bars in SoFla. Really. (I've done the research ;) And the prices are reasonable. $5/6 for a call drink... On the water... Great sunset views.... Nice bartenders.... Skip the Westin Diplomat... Sure the Dip is grand and all... However, this place is worth a glance...

Room Tip: Give this place a look.... The rooms are clean and the decore is nice - just ignore the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear turtleSouthFlorida,

Wow! Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review.
We appreciate all of your compliments on our rooms, service and amenities. Thank you for naming the Lava Tiki Bar & Grille the best intracoastal bar in South Florida.
We truly appreciate your loyalty to us and look forward to continuing to be your home away from home in Hollywood. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    519
    218
    77
    60
See reviews for
373
448
81
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been to South Florida many weekends during my 5-year Ph.D. program and stayed in various hotels. The staff at the Crowne Plaza, Hollywood were superb. In particular, Akeelia was friendly and accommodating making my celebratory commencement weekend even more special. Akeelia provides excellent customer service, focusing on building long-lasting relationships with each guest. And because of that, I have become a loyal customer. I will always place the Crowne Plaza, Hollywood as my number one destination in South Florida because of this excellent and personal treatment. Thank you to the whole staff and Akeelia (especially) for delivering warm hospitality with a great smile!

Eileen Wesley
Guest on June 14 - 17, 2013

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the intracoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sandy G,

Thank you for being a loyal guest to us and Congratulations!!!
We are so happy to know that we were part of such a special weekend for you and were able to make the experience even better. We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us. Akeelia is an excellent team member and please rest assured that she will be recognized for the memorable service provided to you. We hope to see you in the near future. Have a fantastic summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would like to thank Manager on Duty Chris M. for excellent service upon arrival with early check in and great customer service to my children and my family it feels like home with great smile and additude.Great place to be super friendly staff as always (Jeff bellman) and great food and pool area.Thanks again from Toronto...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear epianoe,

Thank you for sharing this great feedback with us.
We appreciate all of the compliments on our staff service. Chris and Jeff are both assets to our team and we'll be sure to recognize them for providing you with memorable service. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you in the near future. Say hello to our friends in Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza 2 nights in May before our cruise out of Miami. We throughly enjoyed our stay and this has become one of our favorite places to stay in Florida. If you're looking for a relaxing, tropical vacation, yet close to everything, this is your place!

The hotel and its grounds are immaculate. The pool area is absolutely the best, huge pool with enough space for everyone to have their own area to swim, etc. The water was nice and warm and there are lounge chairs everywhere, both in the sun, and shade. They have a little hut with beach towels and they also sell t-shirts, sunglasses, and sunscreen if needed. The Lava Tiki Bar (and Grille) was great and we enjoyed lunch there both days. The food is very good and we had several tropical drinks as well that were made to perfection. Servers are great as well, Dan and Evelyn are both top-notch and we really enjoyed their friendliness and service.

Jeff at the hotel (Concierge, I think) is also great, and so hopefully and friendly. A true asset to the hotel.

The room was clean, spacious, and had a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. We also had a balcony which made the room even better, we enjoyed sitting out there many times.

The area this property is in is almost to Hallandale Beach. There is a walmart right around the corner, over the bridge, to grab anything you need for your stay or for your cruise. Also a 7/11 right next door that is well stocked--this came in very handy for us as well.

The beach is a 3 minute walk right across the street and along the fire station, all public access. We also took the trolley one evening over to the broadwalk for pizza. The location of this hotel is great, we would definitely stay here and again and highly recommend this property. This hotel would work as either a pre/post cruise stay, or as a vacation within itself. Very pleased!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TravelerofTheSeas13,

Well, it sounds like you have found your new home away from home!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us. We are so pleased to know how much you and your family enjoyed the amenities in the hotel and had a chance to explore our neighborhood as well. Your compliments on our staff services are much appreciated and we'll be sure to recognize each team member you have mentioned for providing you with such memorable service.
Again, we truly appreciate you sharing this feedback and can't wait to welcome you back to Hollywood.
Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were expecting this hotel to be closer to the beach.

When we when checked in, the front desk said she was "upgrading" our room. I thought to myself, how is she upgrading us when we booked a 1 KING BED CORNER ROOM.

When we got to the room- it was disappointing- views of construction sites, parking lots, and roads. I was told when I booked the room I would have views of the intercoastal/ocean.

The pillows are horrible. Like bricks.

I will say room service & the food from their café was excellent!

The pool and hotel area was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear yanksgirlinfl,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're sorry to hear that the view from your room was not the preferred view. Our hotel faces east and west so the options are partial intracoastal or partial ocean view. It would be best to request a particular view while booking the reservation so we are aware of your preference day of arrival. Again, we greatly appreciate your time and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Greeted very well upon check-in. For the price you can not go wrong. Excellent price. I must say the room was nicer than I expected other than the glob of hair found on the floor of the bathroom when we first went into the room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. A/C was a bit loud but you could set it how you wanted it. They only left 2 towels for us to use and no bath mat. I went to get a soda and they charged $2 a 12 ounce can of soda I thought that was high. We were at the pool and they charged $3.76 for a bottle of water. The night we arrived it had rained so hard the roads were flooded and we had to eat in their restaurant. The menu was very limited with very few options. We both are vegetarians and found one item we could order. Linguini and butter sauce with veggies $18.
When the cleaning crew finished cleaning the room the next day we noticed the door was not closed completely. Good thing we put anything valuable in the safe. The hallway could use some ventilation as it is quite warm. Even with my complaints I was very satisfied with the service and room. I will be going back to the area soon and expect to stay here again. Nice thing is there is a 7-11 right next door they carry everything you need. Just go there to buy your drinks to put into the fridge inside the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Pizzadr,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us.
We appreciate your wonderful feedback of our customer service and guest rooms.
We greatly apologize for the housekeeping issues during your stay with us. Your concerns will be reviewed with our team members and we will take necessary action for improve.
We certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Hollywood.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I can honestly say I have not stayed in a friendlier hotel.

I travelled from London with 8 friends for memorial weekend and although this hotel is 20-30mins drive to South Beach, the hotel staff and facilities more than made up for it.

Our rooms were always cleaned when we were out, shower and bath area were immaculate and the staff were helpful.

Akeelia, in particular made it her mission to make sure our stay was as good as possible, and really went above and beyond in assisting us with food, travelling and making sure our checkout time tallied up with our late flight. Elizabeth was great also, always great with one-liners that keep you laughing. All this adds to the atmosphere of a good hotel.

Concierge's Sherif and Kevin were great too, ask Kevin any question about Florida and he knows the answer.

All in all, great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Okey E,

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review.
We appreciate your compliments on our staff services with the special mention of our front desk and concierge team. We will be sure to recognize each and every one of team for providing you such memorable service. We look forward to seeing you the next time you and your friends are in the States.
Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.