We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference in the area.
The staff is very friendly and rooms were very nice. It is a short walk to the beach.
The restaurant is quite nice. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear girbit,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business accommodations. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon. Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    519
    218
    77
    60
See reviews for
373
448
81
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 3 adults for 4 nights, Dec. 9-13, 2012. We took advantage of a promotion that with 3 nights the 4th night was free. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, especially the beds and pillows, large shower, and small kitchen area. The infinity pool is lovely, right on the Intercoastal Waterway, with its own stop on the Water Taxi route. The beach is a short walk across the street. If you don't have a car, there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. Parking is $17 per day/$19 for valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for views of the beach or Intercoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear LWDELLES,

We appreciate you taking the time to share such great feedback of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you and the family back to Hollywood soon. Thank you!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 4 days and here is my report:
The hotel was above average for the most part except for the location. The beds and pillows were very comfortable (huge bonus), and all the staff whether they were the cleaning ladies or the counter clerks or the swimming pool staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and we liked the thick curtains that did not allow light for a good sleep in the morning. We did not like having the hand washing sink outside the bathroom (in the bedroom), but the shower and the rain shower-head were great.

The pool was also very convenient, large and plenty of lounging chairs. They allowed us to check out towels to take to the ocean as long as we brought them back. The ocean was 5 minute walk but not visible from the hotel lobby.

We did not try the restaurant since it was a bit pricey, but we had breakfast at a small cuban restaurant around the corner that made great omletes and sandwiches for around $4. We loved their lunches as well for about $6.50. Their cuban coffee was fantastic.

Since we did not rent a car due to the outrageous parking fees at the hotel of $18 per night, we had to rely on the trolley to take us to the boardwalk or restaurants along the route. They only charge $1 each way per person. It is well worth it to go to the boardwalk with its many restaurants and some entertainment.

We walked to a Walmart across the waterway which was handy to get some wine or tanning lotion. There is also a seven-eleven around the corner that was very handy for water bottles and pop etc.
Going to the Ft. Lauderdale strip or Airport was expensive. About $35 each way by Taxi.

All in all we had a good time at the hotel but probably would not go back due to the location and the expensive parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear TorontoTravel_Right,

Thank you for sharing such a great review.
We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback of our room amenities and our hotel staff. It's great to hear that you had a chance to try to the local restaurants, that we love as well, and had a chance to go to the Hollywood Broadwalk. The parking fee is a standard in South Florida especially with the hotels along the beach.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed over at teh Crowne Plaza prior to our RCI cruise. We booked on Priceline at a $136 price point, and have generally been pleased when booking hotels with the highest star rating available. Not this time.

I have experience in hospitaility management, so I have a pretty keen sense for cleanliness and service. Didn't need it at this stay. First impression was lackluster; lobby left something to be desired, much like a somewhat dated Holiday Inn or something. But that's not a deal breaker to us.

When we checked in, we discovered they booked us with one bed (my daughter and I). I advised we needed two beds, and had in fact called the hotel some 7 months earlier when booked to confirm this. According to the not so friendly clerk, they were full, and had us in a King. And she added "you prepaid." Not sure why this mattered. I suspect she was making an inappropriate comment about it being booked through Priceline?? It's been years since I managed hotels, but when we had Priceline blocks, we sold them cheap to Priceline, but had not knowledge (or control) of what markup Priceline sold them for. So you could, as a practical matter, pay more than you book directly (but not likely). Anyway, rude and odd.

Everything about the hotel was dated. Room was less than impressive. Seemed fairly clean. Didn't even open the balcony door. It overlooked a parking lot.

I thought the pool will at least be nice. We can chill by the pool with a cocktail and book. No. The pool area had a putrid odor. I'm not sure what it was, but think it was the adjoining water. It smelled like still water that sours or something. Suffice to say, we dind't stay.

So we opted to venture out. BEWARE - the guys at the front offered to assist with a taxi. The valet set us up with the hotel van person (who is really just a friend of the valet). We waited, and waited for the fellow. Once he came, it's a van (which is fine, it was nice and A/C was used. Also pretty clean) with no meter. So he just names a price once you get there. Huh?!?! And you better have cash. Unlike a cab, no credit cards accepted. This would all be OK, except we taxied back and it turns out it was about 30% less using a metered cab. I think the fact it was "pushed" by the hotel staff was the most irritating.

I'll never use Priceline in Ft. Lauderdale again. And will certainly not return to this hotel. I saw a Courtyard nearby. Didn't go in, but would prefer to go to a tried and true (non full service) Marriot product than this dated, poorly maintained property with poor service. No idea how this hotel has such a high rating on TripAdvisor for it was not just our crappy room, it was the entire hotel that would be obvious to anyone...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Springboro Atty,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It's unfortunate to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We apologize for the miscommunication upon check in and the inconvenience with the driver. We can assure you these are not common issues at our hotel so we will certainly address them with our management team. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice crown plaza, great rooms, clean and well appointed.
Upgraded as a platinum and included free valet
Short walk across the street to the beach and a couple of miles from the boardwalk.
Nicer than most Crown Plaza's

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Band13,

Thank you for sharing this nice review with us.
We especially like the comment, "Nicer than most Crown Plaza's ".
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon. Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is my third annual 2 week stay at the Crowne Plaza, from Nov 14, 2012 to Nov 28, 2012. My stay there was great. I can't wait to go back. The hotel and room was perfect. The beds were comfy. The fridge came in handy. The location was good, however you need a car to get around.

I have a couple of comments, though. I had a room on the top (10th) floor. At night when the room was quiet I could clearly hear a humming sound, perhaps from the air conditioning (?) unit on the roof. It wasn't just me as I asked my next-door neighbour and she heard it too. Also, there are birds who like to perch on top of the railing of the balcony, which leads to droppings on the railing and balcony floor. It would have been appreciated if housekeeping could check the balcony and clean this.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room a higher floor if you are a light sleeper, even though they are considered exec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Francine,

It's always a pleasure to hear to from you!
Thank you for taking the time, yet again, to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we will look into the issues you've mentioned regarding the sound in your room and the birds. We are currently working on fixing the bird situation so hopefully, that'll be over soon. :)
We really appreciate your loyalty to us Francine and looking forward to seeing you again next year. See you on Facebook!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at the crowne plaza two days prior to our cruise. The rooms were large with a sink, mini fridge and microwave. It was very nice to have a balcony although we were facing a Main Street it was not too noisy and we could see the draw bridge. The bathroom was large enough although our towel rack was falling off the wall... But we didn't bother to complain sense I'm sure they were aware if this and we were only staying a couple of nights. Cleaning staff wasn't the best, we made coffee in the morning and they didn't even bother to clean the coffeemaker or replenish our coffee package.... All in all it was fine for the length of stay

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Dontbecheaplivealil,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We appreciate you choosing us as your pre-cruise hotel. It's great to hear that you all enjoyed our hotel. Your feedback of the towel rack and housekeeping issues are much appreciated as well and will be addressed with our management team.
Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you in the near future.
Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.