We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Brampton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel and rooms are great. The beach is across the road. You really should have a car to get around for some good food and entertainment. We did not eat at the hotel Restaurant. Avetura Mall is not far for some shopping and South Beach is 10 Min down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear JBrook,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share this review with us.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and had the opportunity to explore our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood on your next visit to South Florida.
Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    568
    239
    86
    71
See reviews for
419
495
84
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I along with our friends (another adult married couple) stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Hollywood Beach from 11/18/12 - 11/22/12. The rooms were nice and spacious with comfortable beds, mini fridge, sink and microwave and oversized shower in the bathroom. This facility has a very nice pool area (although it is not on the beach, you have to walk there across the street and you can rent 2 chairs and umbrella for $40 a day). Since the ocean was a bit rough and the water was colder than we liked, we opted to go to the pool. They do have a bar there and you can order sandwiches from their restaurant, but they forbid you to bring any of your food/snacks/fruit to the pool area (which is an inconvenience). Upon check-in we were treated well and even given room assignments early which we very much appreciated after our flight in from Boston. The first day all was well. The second day our friends' room never got cleaned by housekeeping, so we complained and finally they came around 8 pm. Day 3 we had no complaits. Day 4, once again our friends' room was skipped by housekeeping entirely. We arrived back at the hotel after midnight from a long day at South Beach and their room was not made up and they didn't have any clean towels. They called the front desk and finally someone showed up at 12:45 a.m. with a few towels.

Upon check-out we mentioned this to staff member at the front desk after she inquired how our stay was. She apologized and said that we had an additional fee that was due for parking (4 days x $16/day). My friend said that it would be nice if they credited us the parking fee given that we've had such poor housekeeping service during our stay. The young lady said she'd have to ask the manager on duty (11/22/12) who soon came out to talk to us. She was the most unprofessional and hostile person. She was rude and abnoxious and claimed that my friend must have put the "Do not disturb sign" on the door, when she did no such thing. Coinsidently, their signs are only 1 sided (they do not have "Please make up my room" on the other side). This manager persisted in her argument that it was somehow our fault, but then admitted that the room was never cleaned for which she was willing to give us credit for 1 day of parking (which amounted to $16). I attemted to explain to her that this situation the fault of the poor service coordination and not the guest's problem. There is no reason in the world that we would complain about this if it wasn't true. Like I said, we had absolutely no problems with our room service (2 doors down from our friends).

This incident and the way she chose to handle the complaint have definately left a very sour taste in our mouth and we will not stay there again. Nor would I recommed anyone stay here if you are truly in search of 4 star service which this hotel is sadly lacking. The only consolation was that I booked this place through Priceline (Name Your Own Price) for only $79/night because that's all it was worth.

The last few times we have stayed at the Westin Diplomat (directly across the street, ocean front) and let me tell you, their service is stellar! This would have been addressed in a much more professional and appropriate manner, but most likely the problem would have never happened in the first place.

Before staying at the Crowne Plaza decide what's more important to you $$ or service because you can't have both at this place.

Happy travels.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear QueenVictoriaBoston,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
It is unfortunate to hear of the issues your friends encountered during their stay with us. Please be aware that this incident is not common with us and we do apologize for the miscommunication and the inconvenience it may have caused. We will certainly review your feedback with our team and see where there is room for improvement on the service provided.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and I am glad I chose this hotel. All staff member delivers great service. The rooms are nice and spacious although I found it a bit strange to have the sink outside the bathroom. The rooms comes with a good sized balcony where you can sit and enjoy the the weather and the intercostal and watch the boats. The Elements restaurant served food that is good quality and a good price. They have a larger pool just by the intercostal. The Tiki Bar serves food and drinks with a great smile. It seems that the management of this hotel really knows what the guest needs, great service. Thank you. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the poolside for good intercostal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Andreas N,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review.
We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoy the hotel features and appreciate all of your great compliments on our staff services. We strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it's always rewarding to get feedback when we do. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 4 days at this hotel in Nov. 2012 and were very pleased with the stay. We were lucky to get a room on the 7th. floor facing the pool and the intracoastal water way. The room was stylish decorated and spacious. The pool area is just fantastic. The pool is very big and is placed right next to the intracoastal water way. The hot tub is big and wonderful and very large. The only negative thing about this hotel is that you hear every sound from the corridor. The employees were very noisy out there which was very annoying when trying to get your children to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Holm-Soby,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this review with us.
Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback. We're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the sounds in the hallway and we’ll be sure to mention this incident to our team members.
We hope to see you all the next time you're in Hollywood. Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

At the end of our cruise, because of flight cancellations etc we were lucky enough to gain an extra day. Thinking on my feet I asked would it be possible to stay in a different hotel and this one was suggested. As I had pre arranged shuttle to collect us from Port Everglades the journey was easy though the driver wasn't familiar with this hotel.

First impression was that the hotel is on the wrong side of the road, it's on the waterside apart from the beach side, however, the pool borders the water and is a lovely way to spend time watching the yachts and taxi's go by.

Our room was huge, and contained everything. The bathroom was also a good size but strangely the sink was outside the bathroom with a curtain to pull down. Wardrobe space was generous but our view was pretty poor, the car park. Sorry I can't remember the number but it would have been nicer to be either looking out front or back.

On the other side of the road is the beach, it isn't Hollywood Beach but Hollande beach which is just south of Hollywood. We walked up to Hollywood, then walked the boardwalk and continued not only up to the dog beach at the north end but almost ended up back at the port! It really is a lovely walk with lots of walkers, joggers, rollarbladers, cyclists etc. A terrific place to stop and watch the world go by.

We didn't eat in the hotel just had a drink that night.

The following morning we got a take away breakfast and headed to the beach to get some last minute heat and rays before we headed back to winter.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and if anyone was planning on a cruise and arriving a few days in advance this is a lovely area to stay in. The staff are pleasant and helpful, lots of local information in the foyer and a taxi back to Fort Lauderdale airport the following day cost $30

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear carnsoreboxer,

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
We're so happy you chose to stay with us for your post cruise stay. It sounds like you all really enjoyed the hotel and the area. We're looking forward to seeing you soon!
Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is a forty dollar ride from Fort Lauderdale airport. It is conveniently located for Hollywood Beach although there was nothing about the area that would encourage me back - except GGs Restaurant!
Facilities at the hotel were fine but even though we upgraded from the somewhat small executive room, the service could not be described as anything other than average. In short, the hotel is okay, basic, but I would not like to stay there too long

Room Tip: Tried two rooms before deciding to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear PCliveR,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We also love GG's restaurant :) but you have to try a few of the restaurants in Downtown Hollywood on your next visit. Our concierge can assist you with things-to-do and great restaurant recommendations.
Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon and next time, for a little bit longer stay!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice Hotel and not really anything big to complain about. Pro's are the contemporary design (can not really expect that from a Crowne Plaza in US), friendly staff, nice pool. I also appreciated to receive free parking as Platinum Priority Club member. There are - by the way - plenty parking opportunities at the Hotel and disagree with statements made by other travelers that the Hotel does not have enough parking. They have plenty! I would personally always recommend having a car here because the really nice beach (North Hollywood state park) requires a car to get to - the beach opposite the hotel is no match.

The positive experience is rounded off by high quality HD TV, good beds and good A/C system.

Only two slight negatives I have: the rooms could be slightly cleaner (e.g. sofa in room has many stains, some dark spots in shower and corners in bathroom ... well ...). Overall not a disaster and nothing where I would say it was a major issue, but obviously I noticed and thus not ideal ... Last but not leas: the Internet connection is a disaster. Frequently line connection terminates and when it stays on it is terribly slow. Downloading from iTunes is impossible - about 7 hours for a 22 minute TV show - where the download always stalls after two hours. :-(

But again: overall quite positive experience and would definitely come back (again)

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ATLdud,

Thank You for sharing this wonderful review and for being a Priority Club member.
We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the time you spent with us.
Thank you for your feedback and letting us know where there is room for improvement. We will be addressing these concerns with our management team.
We appreciate you bringing it to our attention and look forward to your return stay with us.
Happy Holidays!

Tana F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.