We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small....low budget....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Maurice Inn

Save Saved
You added St Maurice Inn to your Saves list
St Maurice Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Maurice Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Michigan Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small....low budget....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was alittle wary of this place because of the reviews. I picked it for the price and for the location the price is great. you can tell its a mom and pop operation running on a really low budget. Because of this I overlooked a few things. Things not really happy with. They don't clean the rooms or give you new towels each day. I was there for three days and had to go to the office and get my own towels. If you are not going to clean my room each day, give me a discount for staying more than one day. They could spend more time on things around the place that don't cost a lot of money like a really good "Spring Cleaning" of the rooms. All and all you get what you pay for and if you want cheap and on the beach, its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms look way better in pictures than they do in person. Because I was traveling with children, we had to rent 2 rooms because each room had only 1 bed in it. One of the rooms, the AC was not working very well.

However, the owner lets you pretty much do as you wish. If you want to be in the courtyard hanging out until 3 a.m., no one in the hotel will complain. If you are looking to stay on the beach (within 150 ft from the sand) and you just need a room to sleep and shower in, this is the spot!!

Owner ever supplies you with tables in the courtyard as well as a Bar-B-Que Grill for patrons to use.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Door knob needed screwed back in but no big deal. Room was clean. Sheets were clean. Small flat screen tv did the job with cable. Bed was comfortable. I slept very well. The room also has a futon in it that is comfortable. A/C worked fine. Clean towels, toilet paper, shower worked fine. Refrigerator and microwave worked fine. Not noisy. Excellent location. Your on the beach. Also, Rocco's pizza crossed the street is pretty good and on Mondays,Tues,Wed they have free concerts at the Hollywood outdoor Theater.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is not the most fancy place But for the price and convenient of being next to the beach is great, I usually travel with my own sheets and pillows, so for us we love it. If people want a super impeccable room the they need to pay the price for it, the Marriott few blocks away is excellent but the prices range from $200 to $300 per night. so for $60 to $70 per night is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our trip got extended one night due to snow and we were in the need of a place to stay on short notice. They had a room open and we were happy to take it. The St Maurice is older but was clean and had very friendly owners. Yes not a Marriot but also not paying for it either. We had a nice night stay, a block from the beach, free parking and lots to do around the area. We would be happy to stay again if ever go back that way. Cheap and easy to get around location..can save money on the hotel and spend it other places...what more do you need than a clean friendly place to sleep. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

I know they say "you get what you pay for" but even for the cheap price I would expect to get a room I was not afraid to take my shoes off in. I really don't think it was cleaned before we got here. There was popcorn on the floor & 2 hair balls the size of a dime in the shower. Speaking of the bathroom, there is black mold on the side of the sink. The shower faucets have so much rust on them that they are not fixed to the wall. You constantly were having to go to the office to get a roll of TP. The pictures on the wall have something splattered all over them. The TV was messed up, main light did not work after 1st day... The list could go on and on.. Lesson learned: pay a little more to get a decent room OR check out the room BEFORE you give them your money! Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a long overdue review, but one that needs to be written. We stayed at this place in June 2011 and I have to agree with the previous reviewer who said this place is a joke. The only good thing about this place is the owner, who is indeed a pretty friendly guy. But a friendly hotel owner can't make up for the disaster that is this place. It's dirty, the A/C is useless, and even the location isn't that enticing. Plus, there's this central area where people conglomerate at early in the morning, making it noisy as hell and impossible to sleep past 7am. All in all, this place has nothing going for it. They'd need to fully renovate for it to be any good, which I'm assuming they haven't done based on more recent reviews. Seriously, this is not a review coming from a picky traveler, I stay at hostels all the time and this place is just about at dump status as far as I'm concerned. And it doesn't charge hostel prices either, so... Bottom line, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Maurice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maurice Inn

Address: 310 Michigan Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Maurice Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your St Maurice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maurice Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Maurice Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.