We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place, avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Maurice Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Maurice Inn to your Saves list
St Maurice Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Michigan Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Horrible place, avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a long overdue review, but one that needs to be written. We stayed at this place in June 2011 and I have to agree with the previous reviewer who said this place is a joke. The only good thing about this place is the owner, who is indeed a pretty friendly guy. But a friendly hotel owner can't make up for the disaster that is this place. It's dirty, the A/C is useless, and even the location isn't that enticing. Plus, there's this central area where people conglomerate at early in the morning, making it noisy as hell and impossible to sleep past 7am. All in all, this place has nothing going for it. They'd need to fully renovate for it to be any good, which I'm assuming they haven't done based on more recent reviews. Seriously, this is not a review coming from a picky traveler, I stay at hostels all the time and this place is just about at dump status as far as I'm concerned. And it doesn't charge hostel prices either, so... Bottom line, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I feel terrible writing a bad review, but this place defies all common sense and should NOT be in vacation packages on major websites. We went to FL for a vacation and to save some money, we decided [unwisely] not to overspend on a hotel. My friend booked a vacation package via Hotwire and this hotel was part of the Hotwire deal. To stay together, we booked the St. Maurice Inn for $60/night directly through the property. Upon arrival, the experience was a disaster. The office had a sticky hand written note t call a cell ph # for registration... Rooms were dingy, worn-out, unsanitary... you name it. They were most likely put together about 40 years ago with yard sale furniture, appliances and scary bed linens.

Bed sheets were of three different colors (white fitted, blue flat and striped "prison-style" pillow cases). Dark stains on towels that also came in red, beige and off-white colors. A joke. The owner stated that yes, they are stained, but they are clean. How reassuaring. When hair was found on the sheets, we were told hair gets on the sheets in the laundry, but the sheets are clean (they did replace the sheets upon request, so thank you and we appreciated that). We bought our own towels and we showered in flip-flops to avoid stepping on the floor barefoot. The sidewalk outside was cleaner than the rug on the floor in the room. Everything felt dirty to the touch and disgusting to look at, I had to use Lysol just to have peace of mind for the night. Holes between the entrance door and the floor... AC so loud, a small airplane's back seat is quiter. Beach chairs were rusted and duct-taped over and over... It was like we were ended up in the middle of a comedy shoot.

Needless to say, we were gone after 1 night. At check-out (after the 1st nighht!!!) we agreed to pay the $60 for the first night - we stayed, we paid, no matter how much we disliked it, it was our decision to sleep the night there. BUT... at check out the next morning the owner refused to refund the rest of the 4-night stay (Policy: "No refunds after you check in"). Are you kidding? Self-written policies can only go so far and they need to abide by at least common sense! (A full payment was required upon check in... obviously.)

Any hotel operator in his right mind would not only refund the money for the unused time, but would also give the money back for the only night we stayed. No, we did not expect that, and neither should you. Expect nothing. Expect a crack-head street-walker to offer you sex right outside the motel (it's the trashy area, not the motel's fault, of course, but you should still know).

The owner was nice overall. I am pleased to acknowledge that. It's his refusal to refund the unused night was frustrating. The owner offered to correct any issues, but no refund. What can you correct?!? Refurnish the entire room, repaint every wall, replace AC... Re-invest into the property. It's a good location, but honestly the whole area is run down, so it does seem not worth of investing any money into at all. Maybe that's why it is what it is.

The owner said we had Marriott expectations. Not really. We drove to Miami and we found a clean hotel with the same amenities for $85/night. The extra $15/night provided for a great experience and the trip was very well worth it.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a small Motel seconds from Hollywood beach. Its not the Ritz but then the price reflects that. $120 for 2 rooms! Beds Comfy, Showers clean and Hot, Toilet spotless! Air Con worked well although a bit noisy. Bruce was very helpful and informative about where to eat and directions for the next day down to Miami. We were a family of 5 and we would stay again.
Thanks this was the last night of our Holiday and it finished well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I wasn't very impressed with this hotel ... The bathrooms are way too tiny and the furnishings look like they were found at a garage sale .. I was a little uncomfortable sleeping and had thoughts of bugs on me... I found 1 roach and it was dead but I wouldn't be surprised if there were more. We had two rooms that connected so that was nice.. It appears as if some people rent them to live there ...No room service, no daily cleaning, no pool, no onsite resturaunt but plenty around you.
With all the sand from the beach the room gets dirty (sandy) really quick ..
If your expecting high end ... don't stay here ... If your looking for something close to the beach this would be ok but there are alot of hotels by the beach (No room will have an ocean view) ... this one is just really cheap and you get what you pay for. The owners are pretty nice, found out on the last day they were from the same small town that I live in now... small world.
Long story short this was one hotel I couldn't wait to check out of and wanted to go home.

Room Tip: There is no ocean view rooms .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kissimmee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The worst hotel I've ever been to . Air conditioning didn't work in any of the 4 rooms I saw. 12" TV was on top of glued-together dresser that fell apart every time we touched it. The bed frame had no headboard and collapsed while we were sleeping/sweating. The shower sprayed out of the bathroom into the bedroom. The owners left at 8pm so nothing was rectified. To add injury to insult, we got major attitude when we checked out the next day; not even an apology. In addition, many of the rooms were occupied by transients that were noisy and intoxicated.

Room Tip: there was no best room, all equally terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed at this cozy motel for a week in March with another person. We're in our twenties. The price was very convenient, $60 or 70(i forgot) per night plus one night free. The location was amazing, in the middle of Hollywood Beach and 10 steps from the infamous Broadwalk and the sand.
I was very impressed with the hospitality of the owner (she was very nice and helpful during our stay and before our stay when i called on the phone a few times because we were coming from northeast). We had a room with a bathroom and a kitchenette which has a counter, fridge, sink, and a small table. Air conditioner was working properly, and hot water was very good in the shower. Everything was plenty for our stay. Grocery store is 5 minutes walk away, and plenty of restaurants/food joints around. The trolley that you can take to bring you around Hollywood for 1$ is 30 second walk from the motel.
St. Maurice is not a fancy flashy hotel, its a bit older style, but its a comfortable and affordable motel that is in a great location and with excellent service and enough of everything that you need for a mini vacation, after all you don't go on a vacation to stay in your room. But even if you had to, this place will do.
Not sure about parking because we didnt come with a car, but ask the manager she will help without a doubt, i think its like 5$ per day or something in the near parking lot, im not sure.
I will definitely come back to Hollywood Beach again, and stay at St. Maurice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Enjoyed our 3 night stay here at this family run motel. The owners were really friendly and the room had everything we needed, small kitchen area with fridge freezer, microwave and coffee maker. The shower was really good. Very close to the beach, a 10 second walk and you were there, also just as close to loads of restaurants. You'll not find anything that comes close to the price in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Maurice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maurice Inn

Address: 310 Michigan Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Maurice Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Maurice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maurice Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Maurice Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.