We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and on Tuesday it is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Beach Shack

Taco Beach Shack
334 Arizona St, Hollywood, FL 33019
17862457469
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 453 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Taco Beach Shack is your friendly neighborhood taco shack in Hollywood, FL. Gourmet Mexican food, specialty burritos, quesadillas and tacos – we keep it spicy!
Hallandale
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good and on Tuesday it is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very good tacos and on Tuesday it is buy 1 get 1, which makes it a good value. Otherwise it is a little pricey- just a little. They usually have live music which is a plus. Staff is nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    136
    44
    22
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent taco's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a hole in the wall kinda place close to Hollywood Broadwalk..but the food at this place is heavenly. The Fish taco's were good but the Korean Short RIb taco's were off the chart. If you are staying in the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale area this is the place to visit at least once.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Taco Spot vs. Taco Beach Shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went to both places in the same week and ordered the Grilled Fish soft taco combo dinner. What a big difference between the two.
We first went to Taco Beach Shack. First you have three choices for soft taco shells, flour, corn and wheat. You get (3) tacos, beans, rice and Mexican parmesan cheese corn on the cob. Everything on the tacos seemed fresh, the cabbage and fish. They also put a nice sauce in the taco which gave it good flavor. The Mexican corn was very tasty and large portion. The waiter came by about every five minutes to see if we were alright and needed fresh drinks. It had a nice outdoor feel.
Two nights later we went to the Taco Spot. We were offered only flour soft taco shells. You get (2) tacos, beans, rice and kind of Mexican parmesan cheese corn on the cob. The cabbage in the taco was not fresh and not shredded small enough. The corn on the cob was very small and had very little Mexican seasoning. There was no kind of sauce on the taco and it was very dry. The soft taco shells were even falling apart. Besides the below average tacos the service was horrible.
Our first round of beers were done when our waitress brought the food to our table and asked if we wanted another round with our dinner and we all replied “YES”. We began eating thinking our drinks would arrive BUT they never did and we finished our meals. It seemed our waitress was MIA at times and also running around with her head down during our dinner. I finally found her behind the counter and mentioned to her that she forgot our drinks and paid our bill right there. We got out of there fast so we could get a drink somewhere else to wash our dinner down.
In conclusion the Taco Beach Shack seemed way better than the Taco Spot. The Shack was the better deal. It had good service, good food and looked cleaned. The only negative was the entertainer playing that night had some issues with their sound system and making loud feedback noises.
The only positive with the Taco Spot is the view. Everything else was below average and the place didn’t seem that clean. They’re many other places that have that same view so it may be worth to find another. There is no way they should have a high rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two Fer Taco Tuesday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tuesday afternoon lunch:
Food was great, presentation lacking, lol.. but its tacos, right? Well.. I ordered a single taco at first. The Short rib taco with kimchee.. oh wait, not on taco twofers.. no biggie. It was excellent. Served on a small cardboard holder type thing, no plate. I ordered a side of rice.. came in a small plastic cup, about 2 tablespoons of rice, .99 cents. Second order, carnitas taco's.. part of the two-fer menu. Delicious tacos, flavorful and a good amount of meat. Cant say Ive had many tacos with cabbage on them, its actually pretty good.
The pretty blonde waitress was nice as could be. The only problem I had that day was the computer was having issues and I had to wait a prett long time for the check. Comp me a beer maybe? Hmm oh wait, they added 18% gratuity to the check.. no biggie, it was 3 bucks, I was gonna give her a 5. Too bad. I absolutely hate when places do that.

Overall food- excellent. Waitresses, nice to look at while waiting for the inflated check.. Will I go back? Hell yeah, those short rib tacos are da bomb!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel right next door and ventured in for dinner during a downpour. There are large tents covering the tables, and found a dry space. The waitress was excellent, and we were pleasantly surprised by the food. We would come back again for sure!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Beach Shack also viewed

 

Been to Taco Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.