We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
3555 S Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-2827
954-602-8347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 479 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hallandale Beach Blvd
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Top notch service and steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

You will appreciate the service and steak here. The professionalism of the staff along with their knowledge of wine pairing made us feel like we were in NYC. Staying there was a bonus.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    5
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good but there are better places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We dined here recently. The service was excellent. The food was good but, for the prices, we have had better. We ordered the caprese salads, swordfish, filet, and asparagus. The swordfish was cooked to perfection. The filet was actual a little tough and took some effort to cut. It was ordered medium well but the inside was more medium to medium rare. The asparagus was advertised by the waiter as "large enough to share" but that wasn't the case. 3-4 stalks each is not what I would consider large.

I think we could have found a better experience at other local high end restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We can always count on an exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hollywood Prime is in our hometown and we've eaten here many times over the years since it opened. It is always a special occasion, necessitated by the prices, but we are always pleased with our dining experience.
Service has always been excellent for us, greeted promptly and usually by name when we have a reservation. The waiter team handles the table attentively and flawlessly providing alot of information but with a casual manner. Portions are huge and result in at least one more meal at home. The steaks and prime rib have always been prepared perfectly as requested for us and they are as good tasting as we've ever had anywhere.
Hollywood Prime is a special dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of promise. Good food. Service a little sedate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The place is beautifully designed with great decor and a lot of staff so things should really be a treat. Its essentially a steakhouse, so the menu is limited primarily to some cold starters and a wide selection of steaks. Some lobster tails, a duck offering, a tuna steak offering and lamb offering. Everything is cooked on charcoal. No sous vide cooking on offer. Wine list is a mix of European and good US wines. So far, so good.
So unfortunately for HP, America does some great steak houses. And its not hard to get a great steak. So to be a really top steakhouse you need either a wider selection of non-steak items on the menu (there is not) or some really slick waitering and front of house. And sadly there is not here either. (but the place is very smartly decorated).
Don't get me wrong. They are trying really hard. But you can see how the waiting staff bump into each other (metaphorically) and are sticking within a tight job description. So some waiters do some things but not other things.
On the night, we had to book. Beware.
Getting to the table was not slick. We had to wait for the greeter to get back to her station, when there were 3 other waiters standing around the bar. That's not what happens in a top restaurant. Once seated, we got a wonderful rundown of the steaks on offer. But then nothing happened for 20mins. We hadn't placed an order. We got no nibbles or bread on the table. We just sat there with our water whilst being passed back and forth by various waiters. Actually the place was not that busy anyway. So seemed the effort was high but the results less so.
Once prompted by the wife that I actually would need to get up from the table and tap a waiter on the shoulder to force them to take my order, I became confused. As there were so many waiters standing around.. Who should I tap? Strange that none of them noticed us making eye contact with them or noticed we had not ordered (and had no food) and had been there a while.
We made a decision to leave and try our luck elsewhere. You know it just becomes a chore when you have to figure out how it works in a restaurant. You really just want it to go the way a standard good restaurant works.. when you are in a place that wants to be a good restaurant.
Anyway, the house manager on shift called us back and after a pow-wow made an offer to give us some express service in the bar area.. Which we agreed to. It seems HP want to give a leisurely 2 or 3 hour dining experience.. so it wasn't going to be what we wanted that evening or that holiday to be honest.
Personally I think its always going to be a challenge for a steak house to give a 2 or 3 hour pleasant dining experience.. but I can see numerous good reviews so its suits many people. I guess its the sort of place where you have a lot of catching up to do with your friends or you are going to propose to someone! (which its the sort of place you might do this).
Steaks were perfect. Sides were a little limited in choice but very good and huge portions. Wine was good.
Anyway, I want to thank the floor manager (I won't mention his name) for his efforts and his genuine distress at our leaving and getting us to come back. He did well. The food was good. The wine was good.
If you are going to eat there. State up front and loud what you want. If you want quicker pace of meal.. tell them that at the first opportunity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Solid Steak, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I had the 18 oz. Prime Rib. Cooked very well and quite tasty. The cut was a bit fatty and veiny for my taste, but not anything wrong at all. Service was as good as I have ever experienced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Prime - Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.