We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
2723 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, FL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 478 restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Continental, Contemporary
Description: direct parking
Restaurant details
Description: direct parking
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Patience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Go there with lots of it. We went during the week right at lunch time and we had to go get the server in the back after numerous times calling. The food and the bill took equally long to get. The food was okay, it def needs more ambiance and more service. But the beer selection is amazing, from all over the world over 200. You can build a great business just on that! Beer and appetizer happy hour could turn this much needed business into a thriving neighborhood joint catering to a discerning crowd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    45
    11
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GMH888
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cuban food prepared with love for the food and the customer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Cuban food that is all about respect and love for the art of cooking and sharing. This is the place that makes some magic happen with the service and the meal. We had braised ox tail, roasted pork, black beans, rice, plantains, wine and ice tea. Everthing, including the ice tea was either better than most I have had or so different and delicious I had nothing to compare it to. That even includes the ice tea. If you want great food, personal and attentive service, Laura's is a must eat at location. They also stock over 200 varietes of beer, in addtion to a selection of wines, coffees, teas and misc soft drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Laura's is very good authentic Cuban food. Laura herself served us. Her flan is delicious! Recommend this restaurant to everyone! Very good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Never ate Cuban food before. Found this place while on travel. Walked in and it was empty. the owner greeted us and were we at home. Extensive bottled beer collection and we helped ourselves; fresh chilled glass per bottle. At the recommended meal (all 3 had different meals) and was very pleased.
Half the experience is the owner, he is a character adn great to chat with.
The other half is really good food and generous portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The owner was very friendly and recommended a Cuban dish for us to try. He told us how he made the tables out of wine crates. The food was great, I would go back. The only complaint I have is that we arrived at 1pm when they were supposed to open and they were 10 minutes late opening. We paid about $50 for two alcohol beverages, two sodas, and our meals (plus tax and tip). It took a little while for the food to come out, but everything was made to order... this is not fast food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura's Cuban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.