We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Cuban restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
2723 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, FL
954-921-9990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 465 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, International, Contemporary, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: direct parking
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst Cuban restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food was bad, the service was worth less. If you never went to a Cuban restaurant, you probably would not go to one after going to Laura's. portions are small and over priced. Plus if there are only 4 people in the restaurant it should not take 30 minutes to get your food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jackson Hole
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we arrived and asked the young lady to give us advice on Cuban food, we discovered she did not share a language with us. We were disappointed, but in less than 2 minutes a bubbly awesome lady came to our table and made our day! Evidently she got a tip from the first lady that we needed a guiding hand.

Laura herself! Laura was friendly and seemed to have a real passion for sharing knowledge of her home island's food. She made great recommendations and we loved our meal. Laura stopped by our table several times to check in with us. If you are a gringo that wants to learn about another culture's food, what an awesome place to do so!

If we return to Florida, we will be back! :) If you visit Laura's, make sure to ask to say hi to Laura!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShootInJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love to go local!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was so good, and the owner is hilarious. They have wonderful food, empanadas, alcapurrias,and great traditional cuban fare. Also, they have over 250 beers from all over the world. The owner has a very no-nonsense approach and really interacts with the patrons. I felt like I was at a family dinner. Great time!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CASABOHEMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best roast pork ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My roast pork was so tasty and tender that it melted in my mouth! The rice with black beans was delicious and the fried plantains were fragrant, sweet but not greasy. My sister had the ox tail stew and it had a little kick to it but again tender and flavorful. To top off this meal, we tried their cuban coffee and was pleasantly surprise. The coffee was very smooth and yummy. What a find in Hollywood. I could not believe how reasonable their prices are for the quality and quantity of the dishes. It has the best cuban food, hands down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank achsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“despite what it looks like from outside, go in and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were a little hesitant to go in upon arrival (didn’t look that appealing) and after watching the owner slowly drift around to other customers we almost left again…
But something kept us here, and we are glad we stayed. Super tasty food, deep flavors and good homemade Sangria! Very nice and funny gentlemen running the place… good sense of humor.
Food wasn’t presented very well, but damn did it taste good! Explained to us how he makes his own simple mojo seasoning using lots of garlic. Seemed authentic to me, but then again I am from small town USA.

excellent joint, will return!
fbooth6/ harolda

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FBOOTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Cuban also viewed

 

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing