We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
2723 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, FL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 480 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Continental, Contemporary
Description: direct parking
Restaurant details
Description: direct parking
Jackson Hole
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we arrived and asked the young lady to give us advice on Cuban food, we discovered she did not share a language with us. We were disappointed, but in less than 2 minutes a bubbly awesome lady came to our table and made our day! Evidently she got a tip from the first lady that we needed a guiding hand.

Laura herself! Laura was friendly and seemed to have a real passion for sharing knowledge of her home island's food. She made great recommendations and we loved our meal. Laura stopped by our table several times to check in with us. If you are a gringo that wants to learn about another culture's food, what an awesome place to do so!

If we return to Florida, we will be back! :) If you visit Laura's, make sure to ask to say hi to Laura!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love to go local!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was so good, and the owner is hilarious. They have wonderful food, empanadas, alcapurrias,and great traditional cuban fare. Also, they have over 250 beers from all over the world. The owner has a very no-nonsense approach and really interacts with the patrons. I felt like I was at a family dinner. Great time!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best roast pork ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My roast pork was so tasty and tender that it melted in my mouth! The rice with black beans was delicious and the fried plantains were fragrant, sweet but not greasy. My sister had the ox tail stew and it had a little kick to it but again tender and flavorful. To top off this meal, we tried their cuban coffee and was pleasantly surprise. The coffee was very smooth and yummy. What a find in Hollywood. I could not believe how reasonable their prices are for the quality and quantity of the dishes. It has the best cuban food, hands down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“despite what it looks like from outside, go in and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were a little hesitant to go in upon arrival (didn’t look that appealing) and after watching the owner slowly drift around to other customers we almost left again…
But something kept us here, and we are glad we stayed. Super tasty food, deep flavors and good homemade Sangria! Very nice and funny gentlemen running the place… good sense of humor.
Food wasn’t presented very well, but damn did it taste good! Explained to us how he makes his own simple mojo seasoning using lots of garlic. Seemed authentic to me, but then again I am from small town USA.

excellent joint, will return!
fbooth6/ harolda

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Felt like mom and dad were cooking for us...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very unique experience. Excellent food and beer selection. Walk up to the coolers and pick what beverage you want to try. ~100 different beverage/beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Cuban also viewed

 

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura's Cuban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.