We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orale Mexican Restaurant

Orale Mexican Restaurant
2041 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, FL 33020-4509
954-367-6795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 486 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boca Raton, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Very average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We decided to try this place because it has good reviews here, but were a little disupointed. The food was very much tasteless, especially the salad. Tasted like a grass, and I love salads... Would not go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is great! Had their Mole, which was amazing! Big portions at great prices. Best Mexican food in Downtown Hollywood!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Orale Andale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food was excellent. It is very difficult to find a moderately priced and delicious meal. Orale gets it right. The food was very fresh, a fact that came across in every bite. We had a special for 2 which was served in a hot stone cauldron of sorts. (I forget the Spanish word they used) in it were shrimp skewers with grilled pineapple. There were slices of ribeye steak- real ribeye as I know the cuts of meat. There were thin slices of chicken breast as well as lechon ( roast pork). This was nestled together with sweet onions all grilled and served in it's own divine pot liquor. The side dish of dried beans, rice, lettuce, tomato and guacamole was also very fresh. The guacamole was delicious and I could have made a meal of the beans as they were the best I've ever had. I have lived in Mexico and the food at Orale is the BEST Mexican food I have ever had. The ambience is slightly lacking but the food and service make up for it. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been looking for exactly this kind of Mexican place for a while - not too sophisticated (e.g. Mercadito), but also not a dump (e.g. La Bamba III in Ft Lauderdale). You know, something with lots of sombreros on wood-paneled walls, big margaritas and enchiladas that could make even your mother-in-law stop complaining and smile.
This still isn't quite that good, but it gets close.
I admit, my standards have lowered considerably since moving to South Florida (why is it so hard to find decent Mexican food here???), but Orale is still a great place to get your fajita and margarita fix without having to resort to a chain restaurant.
I had the Camarones del Diablo, which were really, really good. Shrimp in a creamy, spicy sauce. The margaritas are so-so, but they are also pretty cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Owners great food great great location. Very good all the way around. Juan the manager/owner is great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orale Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Orale Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orale Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.