We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for budget travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for budget travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my girlfriend and overall we were satisfied. Room was "cute" as she put it. Our room had 1 queen bed, mini fridge, microwave, iron and a hair dryer. Plenty for what we needed but a coffee pot would have been nice. It is less than a minute walk from the beach. Only about 100yds. Our only complaint was the maid service wasn't very good. Bare minimal amount of towels. No extra towels or rags...NONE. We were constantly reusing bath towels and never got replacement wash rags after the first night. Also there is some noise from the Taco Shack that bordered our room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello there Corey K,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad that you were content with the room that you booked. We are just a walk away from a beautiful beach, restaurants, bars, shops, etc. We would have definitely replenished you with new towels if we were aware that you needed more. We hope that you would stay with us again when visiting Hollywood, FL.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    21
    12
    19
See reviews for
31
55
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked a single room at a really good rate through hotwire and were pleased with what we got. Apart from the basic necessities this hotel offered spare dishes, spoons, glasses, dish washing liquid as well. We could enjoy meals in our room comfortably. I was little disappointed to see the cracks in the bathroom but I happy to soap dispensers mounted on the wall instead of the messy paper wrapped soaps. Our experience with the staff was pleasant. Overall the hotel is very cozy and offers the a walk by the sea only a stones through away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello there snehal_tatsme,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all of our future guests. We offer unbeatable prices, in a killer location with great amenities. We offer a kitchen with everything that you need to make your favorite home cooked meals. Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Used the GO airport shuttle to get here. After reserving a room via booking.com, upon arrival the front desk informed me they were not accepting discover cards, and I was not expecting to pay with my visa bank card. It was that or try to find another hotel at 10pm. Once inside the room, it smelled musty and the tiny bathroom smelled even more so. Toiletries are located in a dispensing unit on the shower wall. Decorated pretty modernly, with microwave and mini fridge. Beach towels and bikes are available to guests. Great location, 1 block from the beach. Don't think our sheets were changed at all during our 4 night stay, but they made the bed each day. These are very basic, if not a bit worn accomadations. Personally I will pay the extra $20 and get a nicer room on the beach next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello there Jesslikestravel,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am sorry that when you booked through Booking.com they did not inform you that we didn't accept Discover cards. I will definitely make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping your comment regarding the smell. We offer great amenities when you choose to stay with us. We do also offer private rooms for those who want their own space.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a mixed 10 bed dorm and since we got in late we had to get the key out of the mailbox which was fine until we realized that we were supposed to pay for a meter on the street which would of been $20+ instead of getting to park for $10 at the hostel. Since we didn't have change we just parked at the hostel hoping not to get towed since we didn't have a pass. In the morning when we went to checkin we found out that they had put us in a all female dorm instead of a mixed dorm like we had reserved and they were upset at us so I had to show them that we had in fact booked a mixed dorm. Also the all purpose area and kitchen were not open to us when we came in which was a bummer since we wanted to reheat food to eat and didn't really feel like going to bed right away. I had called the hostel twice the night we were driving in to let them know we were running late, I would of thought they could of mentioned something to us about the parking and/or the room switch. On the upside the room and the bathroom were clean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Deborah930,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We apologize that your stay was not a 5 star one! We apologize great for the minor inconveniences that you experienced with us! Unfortunately we need to close the kitchen area after a certain time. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best experience! The next time you are back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your stay at our hostel is an all out success!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Hollywood beach hostel for two nights during a holidays trip in December.

The place itself is a combination of hotel and hostel and i stayed in a ten bedroom dorm room. The room itself is relatively small so with so many people it can become very crowded. The beds are not made prior to your arrival which was a hassle when i arrived late and had to make my bed in the dark whilst trying not to wake the other people in the room. There are two bathrooms in the room so there was never any wait to use the toilet/shower. The lockers are very small and can only fit valuables, so your bags will have to remain near to your bed. There is a lack of power outlets in the room aswell which made charging devices hard. The air conditioning unit in the room does work but it is pretty loud, although necessary in the heat.

The staff were helpful and helped me with figuring out the bus i needed to take to get to the greyhound station.

There was no real atmosphere in the hostel section so I wouldn't recommend it as somewhere to meet over travelers.

The location is a two minute walk to the beach which was the main reason i came to this hostel so in that sense it lived up to expectations.

Overall, the hostel is cheap and in a good location next to the beach but it is basic and isn't a great place to meet other people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good Afternoon ainsleyb,

Thank you so much for the time you took to provide us with your honest feedback! We are both a hostel and a hotel with so much to offer. I will definitely make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping your comment about the beds not being made, prior to your arrival. I am extremely glad to know that you were provided with great customer service. Please come back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Oh how we would have loved to stay longer....We will be back! This place is the best! I'm speechless. The location to the beach, the awesome clean room, the entire atmosphere, the entire staff. We could only stay one night on our stop over before we traveled home. To fully enjoy the entire experience of staying in this hostel, I recommend staying several days. Thank you all for your hospitality, warmth and friendliness. I love staying in Hostels when we travel...not only for the price but the people you meet on your adventures is beyond great! KUDOS to the Owner! Don't change a thing. This is definitely a place where a guest is treated like family. To all of you "Have a wonderful New Year". Thanks for everything...Sandy and Mike.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
HAPPY NEW YEAR Sandy M,

Thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us! We are so glad to know that your stay with us was a 5 star one! The location of our property can't be beat. We are located in the middle of all the action. We wish that you could have stayed with us longer! Please come back when visiting Hollywood, FL again! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

i am an avid hostel traveler and this place gives you best of both world hotel or hostel. when i am there alone i stay in group rooms (sounds awful) but its always fun and interesting people. the people that work here and operate the lobby tv room internet room and kitchen make the place enjoyable. the free bikes and beach chairs and beach towels were welcome and unexpected. the bar lounge taco shack attached not only is good but its one of cooler places near the beach. waking up and jumping into the surf is amazing.. and walking the famous broadwalk is ideal for a single or couple traveling.

Room Tip: if you are use to hostels go for a group room . if you are NOT, get a private room. and also if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello there jjerseyJoel,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 STAR FEEDBACK such as yours! Thank you so much for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! It is definitely always fun to meet new people!! Here at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel & Hotel you are able to do that. I am glad that you were able to experience the great service that our staff provides first hand! They work hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a great time with us! I see that you were also able to take advantage of the amenities that we offer such as the bikes and beach chairs. Taco Beach Shack has some of the greatest Mexican food and is always so fresh! Please come back soon for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Address: 334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel + Hotel is a new concept hotel ready to accommodate those looking for a chic beach hotel or fun hostel experience. Chose our hostel option to vacation with your best friends or meet new ones. We have an amazing location… on the beach and boardwalk in the heart of Hollywood Beach, Florida just across the street from the Intercoastal Waterway and minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and the seaport. With private and shared accommodations, we offer hotel quality services for all types of travelers in a fun, friendly and safe atmosphere. Reminiscent of a Key West style cottage and a “no worries” attitude, our hip hotel features more than 200 beds with shared female, male, mixed-sex and private hotel rooms. You won’t be at a loss for things to do with our never ending list of free amenities and activities, such as biking and surfing. We are in the perfect spot for world travelers, single travelers and groups especially bachelorette and bachelor parties seeking the ultimate sun-filled vacation with activities including beach barbecues, fishing, surfing, kayaking and beach volleyball just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.