We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
1 review
“a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hollywood beach suites is a great value for its location,it has a key west surrounding,the beach is 100 yards away,plenty of,french,italian,mexican resturants on the board walk,nice wine and oyster bar & bagel shop right on the inner coastal,boaters can dock and walk right in,a mile a way on hollywood blvd the night comes alive with the many in/out door dinning from all over the world,live music,dancing & dinning,catering to couples or a whole family,good clean fun.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello DrMurphy277,

Your kind feedback on Trip Advisor is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to share it with us! I am very glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! Our location is great as we are within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants, bars and many other hot spots here in Hollywood Beach, FL. We definitely hope to have you stay with us again in the future!!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    93
    27
    12
    23
See reviews for
43
85
65
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

100 yds to beach, quiet, comfortable, free bikes, chairs, and other stuff. Friendly & helpful staff, and outstanding restaurant! Highly recommend! This is really a quality place for a great price. Parking at $10 a stay is a value too.

Room Tip: Away from restaurant is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Allan R,

Thank you for taking your time to post your wonderful 5 star feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad that you found our hotel to be a great place! We are within steps of the beach and we also have bikes for you to use to ride down the beach. Our staff is always eager to serve you and we are glad that you were given such service! The Taco Beach Shack has delicious Mexican food and great specials as well. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ok, I would actually have given this a 3.5 if possible, but it almost deserves the 4 stars. All of the previous bad reviews about the shape of the rooms may have been before a remodel. We found our private room (D-1) to be comfortable and smartly decorated for the pricing of this area. Although a private room may be 3 times one you'd find in Central American regions, this was a great price for the location (a block from the Hollywood Broadwalk).

The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful, and free bikes, beach towels and chairs, etc are provided to guests! The common area in between the buildings is a great place to chill and drink a beer while reading or chatting with other guests.

Now for the downsides (1) the toilet in our particular room was so close to the wall, you literally had to sit sideways... something that an older potential guest may want to think about - bad hips or knees would not have been a good thing and it was somewhat uncomfortable. 2) The parking is NOT guaranteed, so this can be a problem, as parking is about $1.50/hr anywhere near this hotel/hostel. Apparently, the attached "Taco Shack" (good food and expensive drinks) guests can also park in the hotel parking areas... I just can't figure out how they could enforce parking, as Taco Shack patrons don't have any kind of identifying tag in the car, whereas hotel guests are given a paper parking pass for the duration of their stay. No biggie, but on Friday, Saturday, and Sundays, it can be an issue.

This is a beach hotel/hostel, people! Some reviews seem a bit harsh (perhaps Quebec visitors :P ). Enjoy the vibe and relax a bit... you can't beat the location near the beach and trolley stops to downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Good Afternoon Lobo777,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We greatly appreciate it!!! We are very glad that you were content with the room that you were given! Our location is great! We are in the middle of all of the action!! Our staff is great and they work extra hard to ensure that you feel like you are right at home. I am glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the amenities that we offer at the hotel! They are great and all of our guests love them! Parking has always been an issue here. We have tried to do our best to make it a bit easier for our guests. The weekends are a little hectic in terms of parking.
We would hope to be able to host your next visit to South Beach!!!!!!!

Have an amazing weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a budget hotel/hostel. We stayed in a private room with private washroom (shower only). The room was a good size, including a small kitchen-style table and chairs, microwave, bar fridge. It was bright, clean. The satellite TV should have come with instructions, but that was the only negative. The adjacent mexican restaurant is decent for a beer and a snack or light meal. The location just off the quieter end of the beach but just a few minutes to the action is excellent. For a budget level property, it's pretty good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good Afternoon VonWoogle,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are glad that you enjoyed our property and the size of the room! Taco Beach Shack is amazing and has SO much good food!! Their Chicken Tacos are so delicious! Please come back and stay with us on your next visit to Hollywood!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec/Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wanted a calm and clean place to stay, near the beach, and cheap, which I got.
If you are looking for a more comfortable and private experience I would suggest the private rooms, or going elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good Afternoon Al2cand,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback! We are very glad that you chose to share your opinion with us! We are glad that you got what you were looking for, and what was a calm, cheap and clean place to stay near the beach. We hope that you chose to stay with us the next visit that you make to South Beach!!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were going to arrive around midnight, so we called and they arranged to have the key left somewhere for us, which was great.
When we arrived in our room I was surprised and disappointed. I was expecting something a little nicer (have to remember never to trust photos). The room was very musty and a bit dirty. All the furniture seemed sticky. There was a mini fridge & microwave. Nothing else.
In the morning though, we realized it was just run down and needed some paint and upgrades. We purchased some anti-bacterial clothes and gave everything a good wipedown and felt much better. Also bought dishsoap, sponge and a couple glass dishes to "nuke" some eggs and hot water for breakfast.
The room was clean, bed very comfortable,fridge clean and cool and didn't see any bugs.

***But BEWARE!!*** The communal kitchen in the office was INFESTED with cockroaches! We went to go make breakfast in the morning and there were at least 6 just leisurely walking on the counter and under the pots etc. If there were that many in midday on the counter, that means there's hundreds unseen! Needless to say, we left, didn't make anything and didn't return to the kitchen. YIKES!

So, for a very convenient beach destination, I would recommend these basic rooms. We were going to the beach every day and weren't in the room much anyways.
On the weekend the boardwalk was great, lots of people walking and lots of ice cream or frozen yogurt to be had! Plenty of beach bars too...... Mamacita's was always hoppin with live music.

There's a Dollar Tree & Walmart about 5 minutes away (E Hallandale Blvd) if you want to buy groceries, beach accessories etc. Better than the crazy expensive ones on the boardwalk.
The hotel does have about 5 chairs, 2 umbrella's, a couple surf & body boards and 6 bikes you can use for free, first come first served.

Hope you have a good trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Hate-being-cold,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very sorry that you had that kind of experience in the kitchen. Did you explain this to the manager or the front desk? If so, who did you speak with? We would have definitely taken care of the problem immediately. Since it is a communal kitchen some guests are not as clean as other- which will draw the bugs to where there is food. We do have our lobby attendant make sure that the kitchen and clean and ready for our next guests to use. We also have it exterminated several times a week. I am very glad to read that you had a good time while staying in Hollywood! Our location is prime and walking distance from everything. Were you able to get a bite to eat at Taco Beach Shack? They have some of the best Mexican food there. We would hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend just recently stayed there and I was shocked on how clean the rooms were. The front desk agent walked us to our room and told us about the free bikes and beach chairs we can use. YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT! Beds felt super comfortable and it was a good experience. I would definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Eneal,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am very glad to read that you had a 5 star stay while staying with us!!! From your room to the service that you were given and to our amenities- it seemed like you and your boyfriend had a great time. Come back and let us host your getaway again!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Address: 334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel + Hotel is a new concept hotel ready to accommodate those looking for a chic beach hotel or fun hostel experience. Chose our hostel option to vacation with your best friends or meet new ones. We have an amazing location… on the beach and boardwalk in the heart of Hollywood Beach, Florida just across the street from the Intercoastal Waterway and minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and the seaport. With private and shared accommodations, we offer hotel quality services for all types of travelers in a fun, friendly and safe atmosphere. Reminiscent of a Key West style cottage and a “no worries” attitude, our hip hotel features more than 200 beds with shared female, male, mixed-sex and private hotel rooms. You won’t be at a loss for things to do with our never ending list of free amenities and activities, such as biking and surfing. We are in the perfect spot for world travelers, single travelers and groups especially bachelorette and bachelor parties seeking the ultimate sun-filled vacation with activities including beach barbecues, fishing, surfing, kayaking and beach volleyball just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.