We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Budget Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a budget hotel/hostel. We stayed in a private room with private washroom (shower only). The room was a good size, including a small kitchen-style table and chairs, microwave, bar fridge. It was bright, clean. The satellite TV should have come with instructions, but that was the only negative. The adjacent mexican restaurant is decent for a beer and a snack or light meal. The location just off the quieter end of the beach but just a few minutes to the action is excellent. For a budget level property, it's pretty good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good Afternoon VonWoogle,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are glad that you enjoyed our property and the size of the room! Taco Beach Shack is amazing and has SO much good food!! Their Chicken Tacos are so delicious! Please come back and stay with us on your next visit to Hollywood!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    67
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
33
61
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec/Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wanted a calm and clean place to stay, near the beach, and cheap, which I got.
If you are looking for a more comfortable and private experience I would suggest the private rooms, or going elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good Afternoon Al2cand,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback! We are very glad that you chose to share your opinion with us! We are glad that you got what you were looking for, and what was a calm, cheap and clean place to stay near the beach. We hope that you chose to stay with us the next visit that you make to South Beach!!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were going to arrive around midnight, so we called and they arranged to have the key left somewhere for us, which was great.
When we arrived in our room I was surprised and disappointed. I was expecting something a little nicer (have to remember never to trust photos). The room was very musty and a bit dirty. All the furniture seemed sticky. There was a mini fridge & microwave. Nothing else.
In the morning though, we realized it was just run down and needed some paint and upgrades. We purchased some anti-bacterial clothes and gave everything a good wipedown and felt much better. Also bought dishsoap, sponge and a couple glass dishes to "nuke" some eggs and hot water for breakfast.
The room was clean, bed very comfortable,fridge clean and cool and didn't see any bugs.

***But BEWARE!!*** The communal kitchen in the office was INFESTED with cockroaches! We went to go make breakfast in the morning and there were at least 6 just leisurely walking on the counter and under the pots etc. If there were that many in midday on the counter, that means there's hundreds unseen! Needless to say, we left, didn't make anything and didn't return to the kitchen. YIKES!

So, for a very convenient beach destination, I would recommend these basic rooms. We were going to the beach every day and weren't in the room much anyways.
On the weekend the boardwalk was great, lots of people walking and lots of ice cream or frozen yogurt to be had! Plenty of beach bars too...... Mamacita's was always hoppin with live music.

There's a Dollar Tree & Walmart about 5 minutes away (E Hallandale Blvd) if you want to buy groceries, beach accessories etc. Better than the crazy expensive ones on the boardwalk.
The hotel does have about 5 chairs, 2 umbrella's, a couple surf & body boards and 6 bikes you can use for free, first come first served.

Hope you have a good trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Hate-being-cold,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very sorry that you had that kind of experience in the kitchen. Did you explain this to the manager or the front desk? If so, who did you speak with? We would have definitely taken care of the problem immediately. Since it is a communal kitchen some guests are not as clean as other- which will draw the bugs to where there is food. We do have our lobby attendant make sure that the kitchen and clean and ready for our next guests to use. We also have it exterminated several times a week. I am very glad to read that you had a good time while staying in Hollywood! Our location is prime and walking distance from everything. Were you able to get a bite to eat at Taco Beach Shack? They have some of the best Mexican food there. We would hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend just recently stayed there and I was shocked on how clean the rooms were. The front desk agent walked us to our room and told us about the free bikes and beach chairs we can use. YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT! Beds felt super comfortable and it was a good experience. I would definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Eneal,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am very glad to read that you had a 5 star stay while staying with us!!! From your room to the service that you were given and to our amenities- it seemed like you and your boyfriend had a great time. Come back and let us host your getaway again!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hostel was actually a nightmare. Except that it's close to the beach it hasn't got anything I can recommend. I faced very unfriendly staff, a 12 bed dorm with just one bathroom (couldn't manage to See it from inside, since it was always blocked, what is actually not a wonder, if 12 folks are using one bathroom together), no pillow on my bed, additional 10 Dollar for parking my car (without guarantee for any space), just cold coffee in the morning and finale the social area is just a floor, but not really a place where you can meet other people.
Wouldn't go back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Jens,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely sorry that you didn't have an amazing time while staying with us! I apologize that you were not given A+ service! Do you remember the name of the employee that was attending you? The style of Hollywood is very hostel like. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am always concerned with the cleanliness of the hotel I stay, so I had read all the reviews about this place and didn't find anything that stops me from booking a private room ( two peas in a pod). But I didn't have the happiest experience:

1. Found some dark spots on the bed sheets + hair so I used my own backup bedding that I had with me.

2. screamed to find a not completely dead cockroach when I opened the fridge (pic attached). When I advised the service desk, the lady just said : "ok, I'll send someone to clean it up" !! and I was like, : is that it? no apologies, no compensation, no way to make up for it? and she said " your booking is prepaid by Expedia" [ I suggest you don't do so, cause if something goes wrong, you can't do anything!], and she continued " I don't understand why you are upset, I said I'll send someone to clean it" !!!...

3. The hostel/hotel asks for a 100$ deposit for possible damage to the appliances in the room. I didn't have a 100$ cash with me so they made a COPY OF MY CREDIT CARD & made me sign a preauthorized withdrawal in case something happens. When I wanted to check out, I asked them to give me the copy they had made from my credit card. But they said " it is necessary that the copy remains in our files for the record". I asked them to at least give me a paper confirmation that my authorization is cancelled, but the lady looked so surprised for such a request, played with the computer for more than half an hour to give me a computer print of the cancellation and finally ( when she couldn't) wrote something on a piece of paper saying that "this credit card will not be charged"...( I am waiting to see what happens on my e-statement)

4. I was in Hollywood to attend a conference. When I checked out, I forgot to take the poster I had presented at the conference with me ( I guess I just wanted to get out of there). I went back a few hours later to get it, but they said there was nothing in your room! (except the conference book that they had kept for me). So they had either threw it away or didn't want to give it to me. Luckily, I didn't need the poster anymore and I was tired to get into another argument with them. so I just said "FINE!"


The location of this place is great, close to beach and easy access to a trolley that takes you to downtown Hollywood for 1$. If you can ignore the cleanliness and poor service, this place might be a good option for a short stay. I wouldn't want to repeat the experience though. Goodluck

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Good Afternoon A S,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! I am extremely sorry to hear about the spot on the bed. Would you happen to remember the name of the lady that was at the service desk? If not, what she looked like? I would like to make sure that she is well aware of how to give outstanding customer service. In regards to the hold on your card- it is mandatory that we keep a file of your card with us until everything has been released. Your card will not be charged but she as well should have presented you with better service. Was this the same agent that was at the service desk that you spoke with in regards to the roach? I would love for you to give us a second chance if coming to Hollywood again! Please contact me directly and I would love to personally handle your reservation.

Have a great weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's a great place to stay for adults, but there's nothing for kids...except the beach 1 block away. The location is awesome, being a block away from the beach. The Taco Shack next door has great food. Free bikes, umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards for guests. The bikes aren't the best looking, but their free for guest use. They don't have kids bikes, which I think they should have at least one or two.

I would definitely stay there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room E3 if it's gonna rain. The gutters must've been full because the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you were able to dine at Taco Beach Shack. They sure whip up some good Mex food there!!! Were you able to use the bikes, umbrellas and the great stuff that we have to rent out- free of charge? I will definitely let our maintenance team know about room E3! Come back and stay with us again!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel

Address: 334 Arizona Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel + Hotel is a new concept hotel ready to accommodate those looking for a chic beach hotel or fun hostel experience. Chose our hostel option to vacation with your best friends or meet new ones. We have an amazing location… on the beach and boardwalk in the heart of Hollywood Beach, Florida just across the street from the Intercoastal Waterway and minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and the seaport. With private and shared accommodations, we offer hotel quality services for all types of travelers in a fun, friendly and safe atmosphere. Reminiscent of a Key West style cottage and a “no worries” attitude, our hip hotel features more than 200 beds with shared female, male, mixed-sex and private hotel rooms. You won’t be at a loss for things to do with our never ending list of free amenities and activities, such as biking and surfing. We are in the perfect spot for world travelers, single travelers and groups especially bachelorette and bachelor parties seeking the ultimate sun-filled vacation with activities including beach barbecues, fishing, surfing, kayaking and beach volleyball just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Suites, Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.