We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1915 N Ocean Dr., Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Almost great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Is hard to beat the location: 15 minutes from ft. Int'l airport, 10 minutes from 95, and a one minute walk to the beach and Hollywood boardwalk. Good customer service, friendly, courteous, and attentive.

Arrived at 2:00 a.m., and was greeted by the clerk who checked me in and showed me where to park (there is a $9 fee for parking that I had overlooked when I booked but you're right on the beach). The from was nice, it was like an effiency apartment. Microwave, fridge, stove, and counter space.

Shower didn't work on the first day due to some plumbing problem. They offered us a clean room in which to shower and assured me that the problem would be fix later that day. The following day the shower was still not working and we made the same arrangement as before. The staff was apologetic about the problem and I went along with it.

When we arrived that night I checked the shower to see if they had resolved the problem. Nope. I walked to the lobby (these rooms do not have phones) and told (nicely) the clerk about the shower problem. He was apologetic and upgraded us to a two bedroom suite with working showers.

The following day my son was awaken by a leak in the roof. He moved the bed and continued sleeping. So, as you can see, they have some issues but they seem to be working on them. Take the good with the bad and you get an almost great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a working shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    24
    15
    22
See reviews for
18
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Going to Hollywood Beach is reminiscent of my childhood in Miami Beach many years ago: the hotels are small and close to the beach, staff is helpful and unobtrusive, cheap rates, grill close to the pool, parking right up next to the building, simple wall unit air conditioners, etc. This is where people from Miami-Dade go when they want a nice few days at the beach without the bother of dealing with the noise, traffic and high prices of "Sous Beesh." Winter and Spring are when the visitors from the Great White North temporarily migrate and that's ok, I welcome them. Summer is when the locals are finally able to come out and enjoy the beautiful beaches of South Florida as they should be enjoyed: Sizzling Hot! The hotel is great for the price. July 4th is when we stay. There's a beautiful fireworks display right on the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've stayed here a few times before (see my previous review), and have never been disappointed. This stay didn't go quite as well as our previous stays, but it was not bad nonetheless. First, on the positive side, it appears front desk service has been expanded/improved, as there always seemed to be someone available at the front desk. In previous stays, the front desk area was sometimes locked while the staff were out showing another guest their room, etc., and you'd have to wait a few minutes for them to return. Also, when they learned we were having a baby in a couple days (we actually had to check out at 2 a.m. to go to the hospital on the last day), they delivered a nice assortment of items to our room from their gift shop, which was really a thoughtful touch.

Unfortunately they put us in a different building than we'd stayed in before (we've previously stayed in two other buildings there), and there was a lot of noise at this building, from other guests at night and from construction on an adjacent building all throughout the day. Not really within the hotel's control, but the window of our room was stuck open a bit, and the door did not close tightly, so that exacerbated the noise issue. Had we just been on a beach vacation this probably would not have bothered us much, but we really needed some sleep, so in retrospect this may not have been a good choice for this particular stay. This building also seemed to be a bit more in disrepair than the other buildings we've stayed in here. Nothing serious, but definitely showing its age, at least in our room.

Finally, the $10/day parking charge, which was charged to us the last stay but which was not charged to us on previous stays, was particularly galling this time because the parking lot for our building was incredibly cramped and difficult to get into and out of, and on the last night we had to park on the street as there were no spots left in the lot. Even worse, when I asked about the parking charge at check-in, the front desk person seemed to be trying to say it was Expedia or Tingo that was charging us the parking fee, which obviously is incorrect. She said because you get such a good rate booking through Tingo they charge the extra $10 per day fee. I guess that's one way to phrase it, but in my opinion it just sounds like bait-and-switch, because unlike just about every other hotel in the U.S. that has a parking fee, they don't disclose theirs in the notification of fees on booking websites.

Still, the rates are pretty reasonable, the property has its charms, the staff are pleasant and the location is of course still great, less than a minute's walk to beautiful Hollywood Beach, so while we'll definitely explore other options next time we're in Hollywood, I certainly wouldn't rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I would recommend the hotel only if you need a bed for the night. We arrived late in the evening and the guy at the reception wasn't very helpful. The morning staff was better. The room we got was basic, small and not too clean. The entry door didn't fit correctly and the windows were scary. We also needed to pay extra 10$ for the parking. They offer also free breakfast - which is very poor and improvisatory organised in the reception. The only positive thing is that the hotel is practically on the beach and minutes from the famous board walk. I wouldn't stay there for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It's not clear what the architects were thinking about when they designed this place. It really is all over the place with some of the swimming pools difficult to locate. We stayed for 5 nights at the flamingo facility and our only main complaint was the fact that there was virtually no room service to speak of. Towels were only changed once, and only then when we asked repeatedly at reception. And the bed linen wasn't changed at all which I found quite unusual and not what you'd expect.
Overall though, the people at the reception were quite pleasant and helpful (especially the young guy, Juan) and the location of the hotel was good.

Room Tip: Keep your options open, and make the staff at reception aware that you have other choices available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

great location, minutes from the beach, great people, the personel are fantastic, very helpful, nice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What can I say - if you need a bed for the night and this is the only choice then go for it. The only good points were location, friendly staff and simple breakfast. The room was very scary, red and black bed cover, the entry door didn't fit correctly and the windows didn't close. The A/C was jammed in the window and was VERY noisy and ran constantly. Safety was obviously not a priority as electrical appliances were attached to extension cords which ran down the wall and across the floor. Nothing about the room was inviting. The pictures on booking.com are not representative of the room we stayed in. Cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan

Address: 1915 N Ocean Dr., Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Hotels - Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.