We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ceases to amaze me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea on the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bougainvillea on the Beach
2813 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never ceases to amaze me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm back in my home-away-from home. I love the renovations...the rooms and the patio look amazing!!! The bright colors make for an invigorating and relaxing atmosphere. As always, Claudia and her staff make me feel right at home with their hospitality. Her staff is so welcoming and accommodating. Most importantly, their manners are impeccable!!! My only problem is, I don't want to leave. I so look forward to my stay every year. Thanks to the Herzog's and their staff. Love you guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at Bougainvillea, and by far, the best, no hassle, laid back, beautiful place I have stayed. Claudia set me up in the office as a walk in, I wandered in after looking at a not so great place up the road. I stayed for three wonderful weeks on the beach. They put me in a room with a wired ethernet connection so I could set up my own WiFi, changed towels everyday, took out the trash. The staff is smiling and friendly, good international client base, made a few friends along the way. When you step out the back gate of the beautiful yard, the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk is 10 steps away, unless you stay at the Seadowns, their next door property, which is ON the boardwalk. Barbeque grills are kept in great shape, filled with gas. One of the things I thought was neat, was when guests leave beach chairs and umbrellas, instead of throwing them out, they save them, and have them in a location available to other guests. Waste not want not. I left a chair o donate to the program, hopefully someone gets the use out of it as we did others. I have to travel to the area for work often enough, and I will be staying here again, even if I have to pay the season rates, it's just too great a place, location, fantastic staff and owners to pass up for anything else. For the location, it's 5 minutes walk down the boardwalk to the excitement but just up the way enough to be quite. I managed to ride my bike most days down one end to the Dania Beach Pier and back to the other end of the board walk for about 12 miles each day. It was relaxing and a productive place to be. Thank you Claudia and her staff for everything! See y'all next time!
Andy

Room Tip: Check out the rooms available. I was walked around to the various open rooms, and they are decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went looking for a place to spend a few days on the beach. Found this place and booked a 3 night stay. It is perfect. quiet. safe.
The apartment was immaculate - stocked with all the essentials for cooking in. the bed was comfy. the futon in the living area was perfect.
The managers were always accessible. polite. very hospitable.helpful
Laundry facilities on site was excellent. we certainly needed the washer and dryer.
Great place to stay. on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Bougainvillea met all of our expectations--- the apartment was VERY clean and modern with a well equipped kitchen. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The
garden area was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently spent two weeks at this apartment motel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

- It's located 1 short block from the beach, so you have instant access to the beach hen you want it and yet total privacy when you need it.

- There is a very private pool, totally sheltered on windy days. It's quite small with limited sitting space, so you will need to plan ahead.

- The room we had (efficiency) was spacious enough for two people and very bright. Actually, at night we hung blankets in the windows to cover the ever present bright street lights! Lots of storage space, small sitting area and eat-in kitchen table. A modern bathroom (although no exhaust fan - just open the window). A ceiling fan and A/C unit to keep you cool when needed. We had a really noise fridge, but that's just bad luck. Towels are changed daily, but a full cleaning is done only weekly.

- It's perfectly located: walking distance to some shops and restaurants (15 minutes), but far enough away to be quiet at night. The stone boardwalk is beautiful and you can walk about 1/2 hr in each direction to reach the end. A grocery store is about 10 minutes by car and access to the highways about 20 minutes.

- The owners and housekeeping staff were very friendly, helpful and always available.

Highly recommend this establishment!
Book early, since there seem to be a lot of repeat clients!

Room Tip: Anyone coming back to their apartments in the courtyard as well as the housekeeping staff, will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Since we were headed to Miami for a football game, we decided to take the week off to chill out before the weather chills us. Everyone that works at this boutique style hotel was friendly and helpful especially Trudy who maintains the office on the weekends and Debbie who did our housekeeping. I really appreciated Debbie's respect towards our privacy yet always available for anything we needed. The location was perfect for us and our R&R agenda. Our small efficiency was recently redone. Mind you, there is nothing luxurious about it, but I think sometimes when you desire nothing more than R&R, simple works best. Our small efficiency was the perfect size for the two of us - a kitchen with basics, a small dining table, a sitting area (loveseat & chair) and a king size bed. I was a bit worried about the bed comfort because it's 2 twins pushed together, but we slept fine. The Sea Downs and the Bougainvillea were under renovation while we were there but only once did that impact our stay. One morning, we were shaken out of bed by a very loud banging. The mason workers were sledge hammering the exterior wall under a window which happened to be just 2 feet away from my head! I jumped out of bed startled, pulled up the blinds and asked them to stop for a little while - and they did - which we appreciated! Our room had tile throughout - a nice bathroom with a a pretty forceful shower head but there is no exhaust fan. And I couldn't see myself in the mirror because I wasn't tall enough! (5'4) The stove is free standing in the middle of the room and there is no exhaust fan there either - just a smoke alarm that I set off twice while cooking. :o) We checked out the pool and it was clean but we didn't use it. It's in an odd location and not very appealing especially when the ocean is at your door.

Improvements that we would like to see;

A separate area, away from the guest areas, for the staff to take their cigarette breaks.

We stayed at a hotel in Naples that provided bicycles, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, noodles, rafts, sand toys, all free of charge. Maybe the owners should consider providing these items via a deposit like they do with the beach towels. The chairs and umbrellas left by previous guests were limited and in awful shape; dirty, rusty, and torn because they are left outside. Bicycles with locks would be awesome for that daily broadwalk ride ... again available for use via deposit.

On a final note: we will definitely return! I researched most of the smaller hotels along the broadwalk, and the Sea Downs / Bourgainvillea property is by far, better maintained than most. We considered 2 other popular hotels/inns and honestly, we were so happy we made the right choice once we saw where we 'could have been'. This place is truly a gem and one that will only become even more polished with time, I'm sure!

Room Tip: Two suggestions: 1. We stayed in Unit 6, which is the first room as you enter the courtyard. Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my first visit to the Hollywood Beach area, and, I was extremely pleased with the Bougainvillea. There were just two of us staying and the efficiency we had was brand new and beautifullly decorated. It was perfect for 2 people. The patio area was cute and had tables/chairs/grill. The hotel offers beach chairs at no cost, however, should you want beach towels you need a deposit. The staff was more than happy to assist with our airline checkin and printing of our boarding passes the day before our departure. The location doesn't provide a beach view, however, its only steps to the broadwalk and beach which was convenient. The pool is quiet and clean and had pool floats, tubes, etc for use. I really liked the fact that the hotel was located on the quieter end of the broadwalk as well. We only stayed 3 nights, and, you don't get full maid service, however, they do change towels daily and empty the trash daily. Only downside is that the wifi wasn't the greatest and if it rains don't expect many television channels. I would definitely recommend the Bougainvillea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bougainvillea on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea on the Beach

Address: 2813 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior Small Lodging is located only 30 yards from the beach. Featuring a beautiful,lush,tropical garden with tables and umbrellas and BBQs for dining.Plenty of lounge chairs to catch some rays while being protected from the occasional breezes that could stir up the sand on the beach.Comfortable and clean one bedroom, two bedroom and spacious studio apartments.Non smoking rooms (smoking permitted outside), in-room safe,TV,pool,free private parking, free high speed in most units,free wifi in garden and patio areas.Recommended by Frommer's and Fodor's travel guides. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bougainvillea on the Beach to your Saves list