We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bof... Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchies Bar and Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frenchies Bar and Grill
3990 Hallandale Blvd, Hollywood, FL 33020-6319
954-922-5159
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 478 restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: American, French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
USA/Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bof... Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Do not expect anything special at this restaurant. The food is very average, the service is less than average and the overall experience is... very average! We went for breakfast at this restaurant. Lets's say the facts: as the name says it, this restaurant is owned by and designed for French Canadian snowbirds in the Hollywood/Hallandale area. Not sure if this restaurant is even open in the summer. So if you're not "part of the gang" people will be staring at you, literally. The food we got was not hot, not cooked as per ordered, but you get what you pay for. Not that expensive. The service... ouch! My mom was talking to her sister (in French) when the (French speaking) hostess came by and she waved her hand in from of my mom's face and said "Hey, Hello...". Let's say that the servers are not very "high class". Being French speaking myself, I was very disappointed by this place and not proud at all. Pass on this one. And no reservation, even if you are a group.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

22% Recommend
    0
    2
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Horrible restaurant. Menu was pricy (7$ for only 3 little fajitas without meat!!), service was terribly slow and unpleasant, the server took a 30% tip on a 30$ bill without asking us. Will definitly not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“okay, but expected what?!not sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have never had Canadian food before, so I guess I was expecting something along the line of French cuisine. But that was definitely not what we got. Everything was blend, fried and lacking in some matter. On the good side it is very family friendly and the staff was very warm. But if your taste buds are craving yumminess, this is not the place for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorel, Qc, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Anywhere but....frenchies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The place is hard to find but once you made it, you have to find a place to sit. People in there are looking at you like if you came from the moon or something. If you are not a member of the gang, you cannot sit in the restaurant where the band is. There is always somebody watching a place for somebody else.
If you sit on the other side, be prepare to wait and wait and wait, and if somebody shows up one hour after you and is known to the waiter, he will be served ahead of you.
Do not loose any time trying to go there, not worthed

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frenchies Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchies Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.