We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hollywood Sands Resort to your Saves list
Hollywood Sands Resort
2404 N. Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The place is clean and sweet. The pool is small, the hot tub in the west building on the other side of the fence from the parking spaces. The people who work here are incredibly nice and really attentive; they want you to enjoy yourself and like the place. The couches could be updated. And I was amazed that we visited Florida and the unit is smaller than our Manhattan apartment.

The location is fantastic. We had lunch next door at the Marriott restaurant, and I made reservations at the hotel spa so that I could also use the gym, pool and hot tub there, if I would like.

They have clearly updated the bathroom recently, and it is just fine. The bedroom is so small that we have each bruised our legs on the bed post, but that may be just us. :)

I would not stay here again, but it was just fine for us for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean directly and is on the third floor, not the first or second and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times as friends have a time share here. The resort is in a great location - right on the beach, and boardwalk. Lots of restaurants and stores close by. We loved walking down the boardwalk in the evening - just a great location. Great views too!

The rooms are nice and spacious. Everything you need is in the room. The resort is typical of the area - in need of some updating but Hollywood Sands is, in my opinion, one of the best in the area.

Staff are helpful and friendly. Always with a smile and ready to go above and beyond.

Pool is nice and well maintained. Couldn't swim in the ocean for a few days due to warning flags so we made use of the pool.

My only complaint would be parking and lack of it. This seems to be a problem for the entire area though and not just Hollywood Sands. I also think it was a problem because some of the other guests had visitors at the resort daily taking away from the limited spots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hollywood Sands Resort, like most of the buildings around here is dated and long overdue for remodeling . Anywhere else this place would have had to do a complete gut rehab or face the wrecking ball. That is not the case here and I would guess that it hasn't had to modernise because it's on the " Boardwalk" and across from the water, and people still pay to stay here. Cramped suites , antiquated amenities ( the bed is as old as the building and has a " hole " in the center ) and while we were here the downstairs was getting new windows , so noisy as well. RCI sent us here last minute becouse the place they sent us to first in Pompano Beach was even a bigger dump and we refused to stay there. In short, if you like atmoshere, newer amenities ( at least from this decade ) and roomier accomodations , I simply can not recommend this place. If you don't care about your room at all and just want to be near the beach than this place may be ok for you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place was nice enough, very clean inside the room and on the grounds. The problem we encountered was that each room has a wide spot in the outdoor "hallway" in front of their door with chairs and table for sitting outside. First two nights were fine, third night was horrible. The group in the room next to ours violated the rule about quiet hours after 10:00 PM, and got louder and louder as the night went on. I asked them politely to keep it down at 11:30 PM, to no avail. With no management on-site to enforce the policy, there wasn't much we could do but bury our heads under the pillows and try to sleep. At 1:30 AM they were still going, loud and strong. We checked out the next morning.

While this situation is not the fault of the resort, I think it's important to consider that this could happen, when choosing a place to stay. I was there with my young daughter and did not feel that it was appropriate for her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I just got back from a weeks vacation at the Hollywood Sands Resort. This hotel was very nice and very conveniently located near restaurants, ice cream shops, live music and beach all within walking distance. The pool is heated and always very clean. The rooms are also very clean and updated with a full size kitchen. I really enjoyed walking the boardwalk with the kids on their bikes going for pizza and ice cream. The location is wonderful and the fact that you have everything walking distance makes you able to relax and not have to drive out for anything. It's all there... the pool, the beach, the sand, a small water park for the kids to enjoy, live music from a nearby pub, and a cozy room with great cool a/c and clean bed after a nice hot day out in the sun... Bring your bikes, rollerblades, skateboard, sneakers, etc... The boardwalk is amazing!!!

However, management can be a little snotty when it comes to asking for towels, toilet paper and if you need to change the sheets, they ask: "why? what happen?" etc... They can be a bit ridiculous, but overall I still had a great time!

Room Tip: Make sure its on the first floor or at least second floor. They do not have an elevator its a 3 sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We used to stay in this resort when our daughter was younger. Haven't been here for over 10 years, but must say it's really nice. Newly renovated, great spot on the beach, the broadwalk is much better now than before. A real jewel

Room Tip: The building in front is by the pool, the building in back has a tiki hut and hot tub. The front is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Celmente, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were in town visiting family and we had a good stay. We found a great rate online so definitely look into that! It was cheaper than on the website. I can't remember the name of the site I booked on.. one of those travel sites. But they have a nice pool and the hotel is in a good location. The customer service was good not exceptional but I would say for the rate we were satisfied. They recommended a good local restaurant called Billy's Stone Crab that we really liked as well. We will prob stay here again when we are back in town next visiting.

Room Tip: They have a pool that is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Sands Resort

Address: 2404 N. Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Sands Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.