We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only reason to stay here is the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hollywood Sands Resort to your Saves list
Hollywood Sands Resort
2404 N. Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only reason to stay here is the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hollywood Sands Resort, like most of the buildings around here is dated and long overdue for remodeling . Anywhere else this place would have had to do a complete gut rehab or face the wrecking ball. That is not the case here and I would guess that it hasn't had to modernise because it's on the " Boardwalk" and across from the water, and people still pay to stay here. Cramped suites , antiquated amenities ( the bed is as old as the building and has a " hole " in the center ) and while we were here the downstairs was getting new windows , so noisy as well. RCI sent us here last minute becouse the place they sent us to first in Pompano Beach was even a bigger dump and we refused to stay there. In short, if you like atmoshere, newer amenities ( at least from this decade ) and roomier accomodations , I simply can not recommend this place. If you don't care about your room at all and just want to be near the beach than this place may be ok for you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place was nice enough, very clean inside the room and on the grounds. The problem we encountered was that each room has a wide spot in the outdoor "hallway" in front of their door with chairs and table for sitting outside. First two nights were fine, third night was horrible. The group in the room next to ours violated the rule about quiet hours after 10:00 PM, and got louder and louder as the night went on. I asked them politely to keep it down at 11:30 PM, to no avail. With no management on-site to enforce the policy, there wasn't much we could do but bury our heads under the pillows and try to sleep. At 1:30 AM they were still going, loud and strong. We checked out the next morning.

While this situation is not the fault of the resort, I think it's important to consider that this could happen, when choosing a place to stay. I was there with my young daughter and did not feel that it was appropriate for her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I just got back from a weeks vacation at the Hollywood Sands Resort. This hotel was very nice and very conveniently located near restaurants, ice cream shops, live music and beach all within walking distance. The pool is heated and always very clean. The rooms are also very clean and updated with a full size kitchen. I really enjoyed walking the boardwalk with the kids on their bikes going for pizza and ice cream. The location is wonderful and the fact that you have everything walking distance makes you able to relax and not have to drive out for anything. It's all there... the pool, the beach, the sand, a small water park for the kids to enjoy, live music from a nearby pub, and a cozy room with great cool a/c and clean bed after a nice hot day out in the sun... Bring your bikes, rollerblades, skateboard, sneakers, etc... The boardwalk is amazing!!!

However, management can be a little snotty when it comes to asking for towels, toilet paper and if you need to change the sheets, they ask: "why? what happen?" etc... They can be a bit ridiculous, but overall I still had a great time!

Room Tip: Make sure its on the first floor or at least second floor. They do not have an elevator its a 3 sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We used to stay in this resort when our daughter was younger. Haven't been here for over 10 years, but must say it's really nice. Newly renovated, great spot on the beach, the broadwalk is much better now than before. A real jewel

Room Tip: The building in front is by the pool, the building in back has a tiki hut and hot tub. The front is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Celmente, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were in town visiting family and we had a good stay. We found a great rate online so definitely look into that! It was cheaper than on the website. I can't remember the name of the site I booked on.. one of those travel sites. But they have a nice pool and the hotel is in a good location. The customer service was good not exceptional but I would say for the rate we were satisfied. They recommended a good local restaurant called Billy's Stone Crab that we really liked as well. We will prob stay here again when we are back in town next visiting.

Room Tip: They have a pool that is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca ratan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Went again in April. I hadn't been there in two years and won't make that mistake again!! Best beach property and at a great price. The staff were so accommodating. Especially Tami at the front desk. The guests and owners love it here and come back often. We will too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front building but the back by the hot tub is good too.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

So where do i start? First of all i have been a repeat guest at this resort because my stays there have been so good for my wife and I. we recently returned to the resort expecting more of the same...well it wasn't the same at all aparently the GM is not longer there, she really had this place running so smoothly, now that she is gone. We were not welcomed upon check in, the lady behind the desk seemed bothered that we were taking up her time (I think her name is Tammy), never got out of her chair. later in the week we wanted new towels, she directed us to the room in the hall to drop them off, not so helpful. I asked to speak to the manager, i was told she was not on site...come to think of it we never did see her there, maybe they don't have leadership anymore? is this the owners way of saving money in these tough times? If so they wont need to spend any payroll or overhead because with no guest who needs a staff? As for the staff they seemed to be all over with no unity very different than before, everyone seemed bothered or something. i have no plans on returning to this resort with other places on the beach i will find another spot, it is a shame because this place WAS GREAT NOT ANY MORE!!!

Room Tip: The Marriott next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Sands Resort

Address: 2404 N. Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Sands Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.