We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manta Ray in is the best hotel value in Hollywood, FL.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Phoenix, Maryland
1 review
“The Manta Ray in is the best hotel value in Hollywood, FL.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I am almost reluctant to write this review because I do not want too many people to find this gem on the beach. The rates are reasonable, the rooms sparkling clean, and the owners caring and accomodating. Each room has a kitchenette and the parking is free, both big money savers for a longer trip. I have stayed four times and every aspect has been consistent top notch. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the Broadwalk but not on it, near the Diplomat hotel. The beaches are cleaned every night and there is a lifeguard stand next to the hotel. This is a family place, not a party place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
78
108
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I loved this place, I strongly recommend, if you want to just relax, meet friends and have a beutiful and peaceful vacation.The hotel is small but it has everything you are looking for! You will be directly on the ocean (the best part). Great service from Donna the owner. It's kept very clean. You can do your own BBQ. I am planning to go back very soon.

There's a whole new area called The Village at Gulfstream right down the street from the Diplomat(s) and although some of the shops are still in the process of opening, you'll find some nice shopping there.
There's also the Broadwalk about two mile north of the hotel. If you're into walking, you can walk along the beach until you get to it, but otherwise. The Broadwalk has many of the little touristy shops and restaurants and it's just a nice place to walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stopped in Manta Ray Inn not having prior reservations. This 12 unit inn immediately appealed to me. It is well laid out, right on the beach, very clean and comfortable. We have a 2 bedroom suite. It has a nice kitchenette and a great view of the ocean.

While it is not a big mega resort with tons of facilities, what it does have is fantastic access to a very nice beach and perhaps the nicest, most attentive service I have ever seen.

My family's adjectives include, comfortable, cozy, friendly service, right on the beach, they don't skimp on anything. Manta Ray Inn has a comforting, old fashioned, family warmth.

We will definitely look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here in June 2010. Having booked based on trip advisor reviews we were not disappointed. Absolutely perfect location on a gorgeous beach. rooms clean and well provided. Service was very personal and everyone was very helpful. We had a toddler with us and this set up was perfect for us. We will definitely be back here when next in Miami. Really delighted to have found the manta ray.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our stay at Manta Ray in was a delight. The hosts are wonderful, friendly people who go out of their way to make everybody's stay extra enjoyable. They were flexible and able to meet out slightly out-of-the-ordinary needs. It's a small hotel with a personal feel, right on the ocean, with a nice swimming pool on site. The rooms aren't fancy but they are pleasant and comfortable, fully stocked kitchenette had everything we needed. Our kids (9 & 13) loved playing in the surf, collecting shells, and even digging in the sand. Plenty of nature activities nearby too, with easy outings to John Lloyd State Park and the Anne Kolb Nature Centre.

The Manta Ray is in Hollywood FL, which is a smaller, friendlier town between Ft Lauderdale and Miami. It is located on a stretch of beach that is just ten minutes walk to the Broadwalk (which has shops and restaurants). Perfect compromise of being near the action, but in a much quieter and less crowded section.

Thanks! I hope we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Manta Ray Inn during the last weeks of November and start of Decemeber for several years and will return again in Nov. 2010. It is full time enjoyment. Everything is first rate including the owners, the suites, the location right on the ocean, the rates, the room cleaning service, the nice people who stay here. We have never been disappointed. The only disappointment is when the day comes and we have to leave. Anyone looking for "a sure thing" will find it at Manta Ray Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This was my third year staying at the Manta Ray. My sister, brother-in-law and nephew stay for 2 weeks every March and I meet them for 6 days.

Location: You can't get better. You open your door and you are looking at the beach! Within 20 feet you are ON the beach. The broadwalk is a 7 minute walk and it has been updated. Beautiful for a leisurely walk or run. Restaurants on the beach.....just beautiful.

Hotel: This is not a fancy hotel but it is comfortable. The beds are extremely comfortable....I have the best sleep! Fans in living room and bedroom. Air conditioner in bedroom. Flat screen tv in living room and another tv in the bedroom.The hotel provides beach loungers and chairs, beach towels, use of a bbq, fridge, stove, toaster, dishes, pots, cutlery etc in your room. Also, free Wifi. The swimming pool is behind the motel...it is shared with another motel but it is not a problem at all. It is actually good that the pool is behind the motel because on windy days at the beach it is perfect at the pool because it is protected from the wind. The owners Donna, Dwayne and their son Thomas are very warm and friendly. I love going to a place where people know you....it makes you feel so welcomed. Each year when I have been there they have made a wonderful bbq dinner for all the guests to thank them for their patronage. There are 11 rooms so it is quaint and I see the same people from year to year.....I believe that fact tells you something. Gerry cleans the rooms....he is so conscientious.....a very nice man. He works extremely hard to make sure your room is clean and stocked.
The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping....a car is useful...Aventura Mall, DSW, Target etc... Parking spot included at the motel.
I am already booked for next year and looking forward to a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.