We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, view and family run service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, view and family run service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was our second time at Manta Ray. A 10 minute walk off the Broadwalk but the quiet beach and views are worth it. Gerry keeps the place very clean and the family owners are there all the time. Bathrooms need upgrading but the rest of the unit was well maintained and nicely furnished. New flat screen in living room and WiFi were new this year!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
78
108
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island,ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We've stayed at the Manta Ray many times, often with our extended family in other rooms. We've shared meals, used the BBQ, gone to the Broadwalk, but mostly, loved the beachfront location. It's absolutely fantastic for kids, who can just go out and play. Our grandsons love it, and are envious when we go without them! During our most recent stay last week we would take our morning coffee to the beach, and go for a swim before breakfast. That's how accessible the beach is.The rooms are comfortable, not fancy, but in the process of being renovated. The family who runs the Manta Ray has always been helpful and friendly. We look forward to our next stay there.....soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York County, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Last year, my sister and I were looking for a vacation apt on the beach. Our internet search led us to the Manta Ray. The picture showed that it was directly on the beach. We were sold. We enjoyed our experience there so much, we returned again this year. Thomas chacked us in again and was very helpful. He made sure that we had every thing we needed to make our stay comfortable.

If you take the pillows from the bed to the sofa, you can take a nice little nap. While you are dozing off, you can watch the ocean. The door to the apartment is full glass with a reflective film, the window has reflective film also. During the day, there is complete privacy as no on can see in.

My sister and I prefer to walk about rather than drive and found the short walk (1/3 mile) to the Broadwalk an excellent alternative to hopping into the car. We loved the ktichen and cooked most of our meals. We were delighted to have a couple of "no car" days.

Word of advice- if you do plan to cook most of your meals, do not shop for food at the Walmart, go to Winn Dixie instead. The selection is much better. There is no fresh produce available at Walmart.

Taking coffee to the beach to watch the sun rise is an incredible experience. The pelicans flying overhead are absolutely amazing. They look so awkward on the land, In the air, they glide effortlessly.

The Manta Ray is a great place to stay. The barbeque is available at all times. If you want to eat "al fresco", there are tables w/umbrellas on the lawn. Although, we chose to eat just outside our apt door. Each apt has a small table and two chairs for sitting out and enjoying the ocean view.

We are already planning our return trip for next year.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Found this hotel many years ago when our connection flight to key west was cancelled… we ended up staying at the Manta Ray for two days, and couldn’t wait to get back! Some things have changed over the last ten years, but one thing is constant: the staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always comfortable and clean, the grill is always ready to use, and the view is amazing! This family owned hotel takes great pride in what they do. Many thanks to Donna, Dwayne, Thomas, and Gerry! Our last visit (last month) was our most enjoyable ever! The hotel was busy, but Thomas made sure everyone was accommodated properly. Donna and Dwayne even surprised their guests with chocolates and flowers waiting, in our rooms, for all us “Moms” on Mother’s day. Thanks to this wonderful and affordable inn, my family has had many “stress free” getaways.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I booked in here rather than pay $350 a night at the Westin Diplomat (and $28 extra for breakfast before any beverage!) where I was attending a conference. Did not regret this one bit. Easy to get to the area from Miami Airport (take the Tri-Rail to Hollywood Station - there's a cab rank there) although the last leg proved problematic (download a map from Google and show it to your driver because he almost certainly won't know where to go - some of the worst cabbies on earth round here). Great spacious rooms (both bedroom and sitting room), ceiling fans and efficient aircon in the bedroom, a full kitchen and right by the beach. At night the neighbourhood is quiet and safe. What more do you need? Well, there's a barbecue in the garden.

My only warning (not a complaint because it's not their fault) is that it's about 20 minutes walk in any direction to the nearest bar/restaurant/shops etc. But if you've got a car that shouldn't be a problem. And if you've got one of those then Miami Beach and Ft Lauderdale are also within easy reach.

On the short list for my next holiday in Florida.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We arrived early and we were able to check into out room, that was the first indication that this was a great place to stay. If you have a room available then let people check in - don't make them wait until official check in. The location was superb, great beach front. The room was spacious and had all the amenities you might need during your stay. My only suggestion (not complaint) is the living room furniture was very uncomfortable. It was not good for napping. Otherwise everything else was great. Nothing fancy but that is not what we were looking for. We were looking for what was promised on the website and in our reservation, beachfront, clean, comfortable accomodations, friendly and helpful staff, all at an affordable price. There was a bit of trouble with accessing wireless service but it was addressed and corrected quickly. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Manta Ray, which did not disappoint. The staff was helpful, welcoming and friendly from beginning to end. The property is just perfect, with a small, peaceful, comfortable feel, and a location right on the beach...just walk out of the room and you're there--which is exactly what we were looking for. The rooms (called "apartments") are spacious. We stayed in a one-bedroom, which included a full kitchen, 2 televisions (one nice big flat screen), very nice large bed, and a great shower. We didn't cook a lot, but when we did, we found all the pots, pans, dishes & utensils we needed were provided. Gerry, the housekeeper was also fabulous and very friendly and accessible.

The property is just a few blocks from the boardwalk, which has a number of places to eat and a couple small convenience stores, but we found it nice to rent a car for a few days, to have more restaurant and shopping options. We had a couple great meals at Boardwalk restaurants (La Plage and Las Brisas in particular), but in general, they were more overpriced than their downtown counterparts (we really enjoyed Universe Cafe-great calamari). Manta Ray provides free parking, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we could easily visit Miami for the day (it took about 30min drive to get to Calle Ocho).

There was also free wireless internet, although the service was a bit spotty...I think they're working on that with their provider.

All in all, we had a really great stay, and definitely plan to return for another sunny relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.