We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beachside location for a week of relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect beachside location for a week of relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Manta Ray, which did not disappoint. The staff was helpful, welcoming and friendly from beginning to end. The property is just perfect, with a small, peaceful, comfortable feel, and a location right on the beach...just walk out of the room and you're there--which is exactly what we were looking for. The rooms (called "apartments") are spacious. We stayed in a one-bedroom, which included a full kitchen, 2 televisions (one nice big flat screen), very nice large bed, and a great shower. We didn't cook a lot, but when we did, we found all the pots, pans, dishes & utensils we needed were provided. Gerry, the housekeeper was also fabulous and very friendly and accessible.

The property is just a few blocks from the boardwalk, which has a number of places to eat and a couple small convenience stores, but we found it nice to rent a car for a few days, to have more restaurant and shopping options. We had a couple great meals at Boardwalk restaurants (La Plage and Las Brisas in particular), but in general, they were more overpriced than their downtown counterparts (we really enjoyed Universe Cafe-great calamari). Manta Ray provides free parking, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we could easily visit Miami for the day (it took about 30min drive to get to Calle Ocho).

There was also free wireless internet, although the service was a bit spotty...I think they're working on that with their provider.

All in all, we had a really great stay, and definitely plan to return for another sunny relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
78
108
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

WOW....Superior cleanliness......The owners are always readily available and more than willing to help in any way to make your trip a success. Very well equipt and comfortable. Beautiful location right on the beach, beautiful views. Just blocks from the famous Broadwalk but in a very quiet location. Loved it....loved it...loved it !! We have stayed twice now and are counting down the days till our third stay next month. I wouldn't even consider anywhere else in Hollywood. Can't beat the price either.

  • Liked — private parking, safety, cleanliness, access to the beach, comfort, friendly people & owner managed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

I really can't say enough about the Manta Ray, it was fabulous!! A small family owned Inn, very clean and comfortable. Donna and her family are gracious and go above & beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The Manta Ray is right on the sand and you can take the lounge chairs down to the waters edge. We had a gorgeous ocean view from every window. The fully furnished one bedroom is quite spacious with a living room and kitchen, the shower was great. The housekeeper does a great job and shows alot of pride in his work.
We prefer the intimate setting over a high rise condo, close to the Broadwalk but just far enough away to be relaxing. We hated to leave The Manta Ray and will make a point of returning again.

  • Liked — Quaint Inn on the sand
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I found the Manta Ray Inn and decided to stay here based on the reviews right here on Trip Advisor.

This is a small motel, somewhere around twelve to sixteen apartments. First of all, it is clean. Our room had a living room/kitchen/dining combo room, bathroom with shower only, but very large ceramic tile shower. The living room furniture is wicker, with comfy cushions and the 'Miami Vice' look to it. Yes, this motel is old, but it is so nice that it is actually frozen in time.

Manta Ray Inn is on South Surf Road, which is the road ON THE BEACH. Ocean Drive and A1A are one block off the beach.

Right Place, Right Price, quiet, comfy, clean, family oriented. Need I say more?

  • Liked — Quietness - right on the beach. Easy access to shopping, grocery, casinos, malls.
  • Disliked — I loved the place. My least would have to be the AC unit in the bedroom, but that is preference.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Waiting for cruise to leave out of Miami.."50's" feel, but very clean and comfortable. Thomas helpful, relaxed and really great experience. Would stay again in a minute! Whole Foods grocery store close to drive to..with kitchen it felt like home!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

My grandparents used to stay at this hotel when I was a child (about 30 years ago), I've stayed at it numerous times as an adult, and I am glad that it has not changed much. The beautiful beach is still steps away, the rooms are still big enough to accommodate a family, and a feeling of relaxation still predominates.

Our last visit was in November of 2007. A tropical storm had just passed through, so the wind was blowing like no tomorrow. It was spectacular. We bought kites and had a blast flying them on the beach (after the lifeguard left -- against the rules to fly kites, apparently).

Because the beach was right at our doorstep, when any of my children woke up early, either my wife or I could go to the water's edge with them while any sleepers remained in the room. It's so great, as a family, not to have to pack everything and everyone whenever you want to go to the beach. And, you don't have to worry about walking through a hotel lobby with wet, sandy children.

Perhaps because of the tropical storm, a few days into our trip, we returned to the hotel to find that a secondary river/stream had formed about five feet from the hotel wall (running for great distances in either direction), creating an instant play area for our children and the other children staying at the hotel. It was like a mirage, but it was real.

Downtown Hollywood, as well as the Boardwalk, has really upped the dining experience since I was a high school student in Hollywood. We ate at an excellent restaurant -- Sugar Reef -- on North Surf Road.

I admit that, on my last trip, I was a bit nervous because my mother had hired a mariachi band to surprise my wife on her birthday (I'd say "Only in Miami" but it was Hollywood!). I thought, the owners are not going to like this. But, it turned out very well. We had spoken to the handful of other guests in advance and invited them to join us. The owner's son, who seemed to be in charge, very politely took me aside asked how long the band would be playing (it was only 30 minutes or so). He wanted to make sure that it did not go on too late (I think it went from 7:30 to 8, or so). What this means to me is that the owners' main concern is the enjoyment of all the guests, but within that, they are pretty laidback and address each circumstance on its specifics.

Obviously, if you want to be part of the South Beach scene, this is not the place for you. But, if you want to be right on the beach, without crowds and without worries, you really should check this place out.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh, ny
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Beautiful spot on the ocean. Accomodations are fine. Not elegant, but comfortable. Owners are cheap. The notepad by the phone is a cheap memo pad with an address label stuck on every page. They give you one packet of coffee. If you ask for another they say no that you need to go buy your own. Who wants to buy a big thing of coffee for a few days on vacation???? The owners kids appear to be running the place. They are probably early 20s and have their friends over at night where they drink beer and talk loudly at the hotel's outdoor umbrella table. The cleaning guy is awesome. They are very lucky to have him and he is the nicest one of the bunch. No tv in the bedroom we had. I would be a lot more hospitable than these owners are. I think they're in the wrong business but I'm glad they haven't sold out to all the highrise developers probably drooling over this beautiful piece of land.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The owners
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.