We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a super spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Save Saved
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seventh Night Free
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a super spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a long weekend at The Manta Ray-- a family get-together for mom's 90th! There were visitors from 7 months to 90 years, from all over the United States (and world!) We did some things "off-campus", but the most enjoyable times were hanging on the beach, at the pool, lounging on the lawn, having a fantastic pot-luck barbeque-- the weather was great, Donna and Thomas were super kind, and helpful! I recommend this to all, and perfect for a group! The rooms were spacious and clean, the view - unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I cannot tell you how much fun it was to watch your entire family laugh and enjoy every aspect of our Inn!! Everyone was so delightful and it is so great to see a family make the time to get together for a really fun occasion!! It was definitely our pleasure as a family to have your family with us!! Do not be strangers and don't forget to send pictures!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    23
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
79
101
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I went with our two boys. It was super convenient to the beach and other attractions! We loved that the room was very clean and comfortable. The owners/staff were professional and very helpful and would stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: We didn't notice a problem with noise at all! Very quiet while we visited and ocean front is per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
The kids were great and you all seemed to be having a great time!! That makes us feel like we really accomplished something. We definitely love to have new families join our family and we cannot wait for you to come back and see us again!! Stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here because of the reviews on trip advisor. All the positive reviews were accurate. We did not meet the staff right away due to a late flight and check in. Even though the staff works 10am-4pm, they accommodated our late check in. Everyone was friendly and wanted to make sure you had an enjoyable experience. We booked the ocean view room; it definitely was the best view in the house! There is a full kitchen with all the dishes and cooking utensils you would need. We cooked burgers on the grill one day for a great change of pace. The rooms are cleaned and vacuumed daily. If you like cleanliness in a hotel room, you will like this inn. The best thing about staying here is the convenience to the beach. You have one free parking space! This is a blessing as there is no free parking near the beach. The beds were the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever stayed in! Very sound sleeping! Kudos to that!
We would recommend this place to our friends and will visit here again!

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view room. The chairs on the porch give you a view of the coastline. It's more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Manta Ray was everything that you wanted it to be!! Check out our new video on our website! Late night arrivals are never a problem for us and even though we are small we do our best to provide you with the best possible experience! You deserve it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

There is not much more to be said that has not been said already. This is a gem of a hotel owned and operated by a great family. We arrived and while walking to the office were greeted by name by Donna. "We've been expecting you!" After taking care of business she toured the room with us, pointing out all the amenities and features.

We had a second floor courtyard view but sitting on the porch offered an unrestricted view of the beach. Sitting there offered a good place to sit in the morning and sip coffee. In the evening it was a good place to relax, sip some chilled wine and laugh with the "neighbors".

The beach is wide and soft and the June water warm. The hotel is within walking distance to the Westin Diplomat, home to many conferences and also two short blocks to the Hollywood Broadwalk.

The one bedroom suite was comfortable & housekeeping efficient. We did find ants in the kitchen, driven in by the rain, but the staff jumped on it immediately and later followed up with a pest control company. The beds in the bedroom were butted up against the side walls, making it difficult for the "wall side" person to get in and out but I think there is enough room to pull the bed away to allow access from both sides.

The atmosphere of the Manta Ray Inn inspires friendliness among everyone. We made several friends just by sitting outside and relaxing with the view.

All in all, like most everyone else who has stayed here, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It was so great to meet you both! You are now part of the Manta Ray Inn family and we cannot wait until you come back and stay with us again. Next time, we will try to be a little be lighter on the rain!!! So glad that we "exceeded" your expectations!! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I read the previous reviews before booking into the Manta Ray and basically all the positive reviews are accurate. Professional staff, courteous service, friendly and respectful guests are all here. Complaints? Well the AC issue mentioned by another critic is fair (no central AC means uneven cooling) but I would not have noticed or cared if I hadn't read that review. The noise issue? There is noise from the street, at least from my room, but again, I really didn't care because my room was among the cleanest I've ever stayed in, the beach access was amazing, the BBQ and grounds were beautiful, people were friendly, staff was super attentive, evening security was super tough and watchful. What more can I say? Very satisfied and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra if possible and get a room that is not pool view. Noise levels (from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Manta Ray Inn. Our staff were so excited when they read your review! They each try to make every stay with us "exceed" the guest experience. Your comments are very helpful to us in moving forward and making the Manta Ray Inn a place for all to relax and recharge!! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!! Bring your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went to the Manta Ray to celebrate my 10 year cancer free anniversary with 2 girlfriends. The one-bedroom suite was clean and the staff were amazing. Our view of the ocean was spectacular and enjoyed every minute of the trip. I can't say enough about the staff, they were friendly and took pride in taking care of there guests. We will go back next year! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was such much fun to meet you three wonderful ladies! Thank you for sharing such a momentous occasion with us at the Manta Ray Inn!! We hope that there will be many more years to celebrate cancer free, so we will see you all soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got there 4 hours early the manager asked if we could give him a hour and he will have our room ready and he did.When we got back we asked him a good place for lunch he said he's making hot dogs and burgers for the whole Inn.The whole experience was awesome from the staff to the manager Thomas.There could have been a bar a little closer but i'm lazy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Cannot wait for you to return!!! Thomas really enjoys doing is cook outs and the rest of the staff want to make your every wish happen if they can. Getting a bar a little closer is a hard request but they are going to see what they can do for you next time to "exceed" your expectations. We definitely appreciate your wonderful comments about the Inn and the staff feel like they have made another friend. See You soon, and stay in touch!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.