We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
6 Nights, 7th is Free
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

There is not much more to be said that has not been said already. This is a gem of a hotel owned and operated by a great family. We arrived and while walking to the office were greeted by name by Donna. "We've been expecting you!" After taking care of business she toured the room with us, pointing out all the amenities and features.

We had a second floor courtyard view but sitting on the porch offered an unrestricted view of the beach. Sitting there offered a good place to sit in the morning and sip coffee. In the evening it was a good place to relax, sip some chilled wine and laugh with the "neighbors".

The beach is wide and soft and the June water warm. The hotel is within walking distance to the Westin Diplomat, home to many conferences and also two short blocks to the Hollywood Broadwalk.

The one bedroom suite was comfortable & housekeeping efficient. We did find ants in the kitchen, driven in by the rain, but the staff jumped on it immediately and later followed up with a pest control company. The beds in the bedroom were butted up against the side walls, making it difficult for the "wall side" person to get in and out but I think there is enough room to pull the bed away to allow access from both sides.

The atmosphere of the Manta Ray Inn inspires friendliness among everyone. We made several friends just by sitting outside and relaxing with the view.

All in all, like most everyone else who has stayed here, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It was so great to meet you both! You are now part of the Manta Ray Inn family and we cannot wait until you come back and stay with us again. Next time, we will try to be a little be lighter on the rain!!! So glad that we "exceeded" your expectations!! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    24
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
86
120
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I read the previous reviews before booking into the Manta Ray and basically all the positive reviews are accurate. Professional staff, courteous service, friendly and respectful guests are all here. Complaints? Well the AC issue mentioned by another critic is fair (no central AC means uneven cooling) but I would not have noticed or cared if I hadn't read that review. The noise issue? There is noise from the street, at least from my room, but again, I really didn't care because my room was among the cleanest I've ever stayed in, the beach access was amazing, the BBQ and grounds were beautiful, people were friendly, staff was super attentive, evening security was super tough and watchful. What more can I say? Very satisfied and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra if possible and get a room that is not pool view. Noise levels (from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Manta Ray Inn. Our staff were so excited when they read your review! They each try to make every stay with us "exceed" the guest experience. Your comments are very helpful to us in moving forward and making the Manta Ray Inn a place for all to relax and recharge!! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!! Bring your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went to the Manta Ray to celebrate my 10 year cancer free anniversary with 2 girlfriends. The one-bedroom suite was clean and the staff were amazing. Our view of the ocean was spectacular and enjoyed every minute of the trip. I can't say enough about the staff, they were friendly and took pride in taking care of there guests. We will go back next year! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was such much fun to meet you three wonderful ladies! Thank you for sharing such a momentous occasion with us at the Manta Ray Inn!! We hope that there will be many more years to celebrate cancer free, so we will see you all soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got there 4 hours early the manager asked if we could give him a hour and he will have our room ready and he did.When we got back we asked him a good place for lunch he said he's making hot dogs and burgers for the whole Inn.The whole experience was awesome from the staff to the manager Thomas.There could have been a bar a little closer but i'm lazy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Cannot wait for you to return!!! Thomas really enjoys doing is cook outs and the rest of the staff want to make your every wish happen if they can. Getting a bar a little closer is a hard request but they are going to see what they can do for you next time to "exceed" your expectations. We definitely appreciate your wonderful comments about the Inn and the staff feel like they have made another friend. See You soon, and stay in touch!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for a week, first time and certainly won't be the last. The inn is extremely clean and in a great location, the beach is one of the nicest around and the staff from the owners to housekeeping was a pleasure. This is truly one of the best values for your money, no need to go to overpriced glitzy properties when this gem is everything you could want. Thomas, the manager, is a great guy and very helpful for whatever you need. I highly recommend anyone to stay here as I have already told my friends and clients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and to make your getaway a relaxing experience. Both Thomas and the rest of the staff certainly try to "exceed" our customer expectations and so they are thrilled to know that they have done that for you. We cannot wait until you come back to visit us again! As a Superior Small Lodging we appreciate you as part of our Manta Ray Inn family! Please stay in touch and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor with windows that looked out at the beautiful clean beach and blue, blue water. The space was comfortable and very clean. The kitchen was small but well stocked and coffee supplies were refreshed every day. The linens were clean and also refreshed every day. The staff is super friendly and even though they leave at 5 pm, they make sure that you have everything you need, and that you know how to reach them if necessary.

The only negative thing I want to mention is that the air-conditioning is not central, but rather a window unit in the bedroom. It was unusually hot for April while we were there, and we found it difficult to regulate the temperature in the suite, with the bedroom quite chilly and the front living area too hot in the afternoons and evenings. There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom, so without central AC it got pretty steamy.

Still, I recommend the Manta Ray Inn and would stay there again, especially if it was the coolest part of the year where air conditioning would not be needed. Donna and Thomas went out of their way to make sure that all of our needs were accommodated.

Room Tip: Recommend the 2nd floor units as quieter with great views and sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you and your husband and we were happy to accommodate you as you traveled back from the Keys. Your concern in regard to the air conditioning is very valid and we have central air conditioning on the list of improvements to be done to our Inn. In the mean time we have the ceiling fans in all the rooms to help move the air and we recommend that you keep the door closed although most of our guests love to have the door open and get the full effect of the ocean! Our full time night time security guard is always around for our guests as we do not live on the property and I am sure you found that to be quite comforting. Please stay in touch with us and we are glad that you will consider us for a future stay and perhaps we will be able to "exceed your expectations" on your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Manta Ray Inn, and we would like to tell you about our week's stay. It's not its magnificent location with its patio, lined with lounge chairs and unbrelled tables leading out to the white sand beach and the emerald ocean. It's not the superb quality of the decor appointed rooms, fully supplied kitchenette, high definition TVs, WIFI, or all the other quality ammenities that major hotel chains attempt to offer. It's not the excellent daily housekeeping, or your own designated off the street parking place, or even the weekly cook-outs prepared by the owners themselves. No, it's much more special than all of this ............ it's the very individual warm, friendly, and comfortable feeling that is created by the owners as they attend to your every needs. We had such a wonderful vacation, that we felt like we never left home. Our stay was so outstanding that we booked two weeks in 2014.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally outstanding. There are six rooms on two floors, and all rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was so much fun to meet you and your wonderful wife!! Cannot wait until your return in 2014 with more of your family with you! We at the Manta Ray Inn know that you are here to relax and it is wonderful to have such great clients that appreciate the little things that we do for all of you.
Please keep in touch with us and we are already counting the months until your return. Good Health!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.