We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Mini Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 For 1 Attraction Coupon
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME Mini Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went to the Manta Ray to celebrate my 10 year cancer free anniversary with 2 girlfriends. The one-bedroom suite was clean and the staff were amazing. Our view of the ocean was spectacular and enjoyed every minute of the trip. I can't say enough about the staff, they were friendly and took pride in taking care of there guests. We will go back next year! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was such much fun to meet you three wonderful ladies! Thank you for sharing such a momentous occasion with us at the Manta Ray Inn!! We hope that there will be many more years to celebrate cancer free, so we will see you all soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
84
117
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got there 4 hours early the manager asked if we could give him a hour and he will have our room ready and he did.When we got back we asked him a good place for lunch he said he's making hot dogs and burgers for the whole Inn.The whole experience was awesome from the staff to the manager Thomas.There could have been a bar a little closer but i'm lazy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Cannot wait for you to return!!! Thomas really enjoys doing is cook outs and the rest of the staff want to make your every wish happen if they can. Getting a bar a little closer is a hard request but they are going to see what they can do for you next time to "exceed" your expectations. We definitely appreciate your wonderful comments about the Inn and the staff feel like they have made another friend. See You soon, and stay in touch!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for a week, first time and certainly won't be the last. The inn is extremely clean and in a great location, the beach is one of the nicest around and the staff from the owners to housekeeping was a pleasure. This is truly one of the best values for your money, no need to go to overpriced glitzy properties when this gem is everything you could want. Thomas, the manager, is a great guy and very helpful for whatever you need. I highly recommend anyone to stay here as I have already told my friends and clients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and to make your getaway a relaxing experience. Both Thomas and the rest of the staff certainly try to "exceed" our customer expectations and so they are thrilled to know that they have done that for you. We cannot wait until you come back to visit us again! As a Superior Small Lodging we appreciate you as part of our Manta Ray Inn family! Please stay in touch and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor with windows that looked out at the beautiful clean beach and blue, blue water. The space was comfortable and very clean. The kitchen was small but well stocked and coffee supplies were refreshed every day. The linens were clean and also refreshed every day. The staff is super friendly and even though they leave at 5 pm, they make sure that you have everything you need, and that you know how to reach them if necessary.

The only negative thing I want to mention is that the air-conditioning is not central, but rather a window unit in the bedroom. It was unusually hot for April while we were there, and we found it difficult to regulate the temperature in the suite, with the bedroom quite chilly and the front living area too hot in the afternoons and evenings. There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom, so without central AC it got pretty steamy.

Still, I recommend the Manta Ray Inn and would stay there again, especially if it was the coolest part of the year where air conditioning would not be needed. Donna and Thomas went out of their way to make sure that all of our needs were accommodated.

Room Tip: Recommend the 2nd floor units as quieter with great views and sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you and your husband and we were happy to accommodate you as you traveled back from the Keys. Your concern in regard to the air conditioning is very valid and we have central air conditioning on the list of improvements to be done to our Inn. In the mean time we have the ceiling fans in all the rooms to help move the air and we recommend that you keep the door closed although most of our guests love to have the door open and get the full effect of the ocean! Our full time night time security guard is always around for our guests as we do not live on the property and I am sure you found that to be quite comforting. Please stay in touch with us and we are glad that you will consider us for a future stay and perhaps we will be able to "exceed your expectations" on your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Manta Ray Inn, and we would like to tell you about our week's stay. It's not its magnificent location with its patio, lined with lounge chairs and unbrelled tables leading out to the white sand beach and the emerald ocean. It's not the superb quality of the decor appointed rooms, fully supplied kitchenette, high definition TVs, WIFI, or all the other quality ammenities that major hotel chains attempt to offer. It's not the excellent daily housekeeping, or your own designated off the street parking place, or even the weekly cook-outs prepared by the owners themselves. No, it's much more special than all of this ............ it's the very individual warm, friendly, and comfortable feeling that is created by the owners as they attend to your every needs. We had such a wonderful vacation, that we felt like we never left home. Our stay was so outstanding that we booked two weeks in 2014.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally outstanding. There are six rooms on two floors, and all rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was so much fun to meet you and your wonderful wife!! Cannot wait until your return in 2014 with more of your family with you! We at the Manta Ray Inn know that you are here to relax and it is wonderful to have such great clients that appreciate the little things that we do for all of you.
Please keep in touch with us and we are already counting the months until your return. Good Health!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We short-vacationed and celebrated my best friend's 10yr breast cancer survival at The Manta Ray Inn! The staff was super friendly and the location and apartment style room were great! They were very willing to help out whatever our request was! They had a cook-out for their guests during our stay, with snacks, food, and drinks provided. Where does that happen anymore?? Our apartment was VERY clean and comfortable as well. Each apartment has an amazing view of the blue/green ocean, it was a sight to behold! WE WILL RETURN!
Thank you Manta Ray Inn, you guys were awesome!!
-Rhonda (celebrating with Mary and Peggy in 206)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
The Manta Ray Inn family were so happy to have you as guests even though it was a very short stay! Celebrating something very special and letting us be apart of that made it even more important to us that you are now all Manta Ray Inn family!! I am sure there will be many more years of celebration in the future and we hope that you will keep in touch until you come back to celebrate and relax by the blue/green ocean!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our third stay at Manta Ray and once again everything was perfect. The room is always clean and the views of the ocean and palm trees are always specatacular. The Broadwalk is
a pleasant place to watch people and eat breakfast. All the people--guests and staff--are friendly
and make us feel welcome. We have stayed at various places in southern Florida looking for a
beach home and this one is the best. We have already booked our 2014 stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor best views of the ocean and beach-goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Always in our effort to make your stay memorable it is so easy for such wonderful guests such as yourself1! Thank you for sharing your vacation time with us and we cannot wait for your return in 2014!! It never ceases to amaze me that our guest our now such a very important part of our Manta Ray Inn family and so until we sip cocktails as the sun goes down or share stories over coffee we look forward to your return!! Stay in touch through facebook and always know that you are part of our blessed family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.