We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another perfect visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Fairview, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“another perfect visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our third stay at Manta Ray and once again everything was perfect. The room is always clean and the views of the ocean and palm trees are always specatacular. The Broadwalk is
a pleasant place to watch people and eat breakfast. All the people--guests and staff--are friendly
and make us feel welcome. We have stayed at various places in southern Florida looking for a
beach home and this one is the best. We have already booked our 2014 stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor best views of the ocean and beach-goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Always in our effort to make your stay memorable it is so easy for such wonderful guests such as yourself1! Thank you for sharing your vacation time with us and we cannot wait for your return in 2014!! It never ceases to amaze me that our guest our now such a very important part of our Manta Ray Inn family and so until we sip cocktails as the sun goes down or share stories over coffee we look forward to your return!! Stay in touch through facebook and always know that you are part of our blessed family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    22
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
74
98
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Found the Manta Ray Inn through Tripadvisor and couldn't have been happier. We booked a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment as we were with friends and it was exactly right for our needs - comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with efficient showers and a small but well equipped kitchen, dining and lounge area. The ocean view is magnificent and the location of the inn is wonderful - just a few steps from a beautiful sandy beach and the ocean. Personally, I can quite understand why the Manta Ray Inn receives such a high rating on Tripadvisor, but if you are looking for a modern and impersonal hotel room this probably isn't the place for you. For me that is part of the charm of the Manta Ray Inn and if I ever return to Hollywood, I will most certainly head straight here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
On behalf of the Manta Ray Inn staff we are happy that we exceeded your expectations. Hollywood beach is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the surf. it certainly was our pleasure to host you and do hope that you will stay in touch with us and return to see us very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Manta Ray Inn. The rooms are very clean and well kept and the owners and staff meet all of your needs. I had a dental problem while there this time and Donna was right there to assist me. We have stayed at a lot of different places in Hollywood Beach and the Manta Ray Inn is by far the best. Can't wait until we go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Cocktail hour is not the same with out you!! Glad to have been able to provide such a wonderful dentist for you and I hope that now that you are home you have gotten the repair completed. Definitely cannot wait to have you both back again next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I want to start my review by referring to a review that you'll see a bit farther down the page, submitted by "joeodo". I don't know where this guy stayed, but it certainly wasn't at the Manta Ray Inn! I think he either stayed somewhere else and is very confused, or he's simply a nut-case! After staying at the Manta Ray for a week in February, I can't believe that anything written in his review is true!

My wife and I stayed at the Manta Ray Inn for a week in mid-February. It is quite simply the best small hotel we've ever stayed in, anywhere! It's on a quiet stretch of beautiful beachfront but within easy walking distance of the bustling Broadwalk. It's immaculately clean and well-maintained, each suite has it's own specific parking spot, beach loungers and towels are provided, each unit has a fully-equipped kitchen, there's free wi-fi, satellite TV, air conditioning.......and on an on. I really don't have a bad thing to say about it at all.

Right from the initial inquiry and booking through our week-long stay and final departure, Thomas, Donna and the staff at the Manta Ray Inn make it effortless! It was our first time staying in the Hollywood Beach area of Florida and I know now that we were VERY fortunate to have stayed at the Manta Ray. The next time we return to that part of Florida, we won't stay anywhere else because there's simply no reason to!

If you're going to be spending some time in the Hollywood Beach area, then you really shouldn't miss the opportunity to stay at the Manta Ray Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Having you and your wife stay with us was such a pleasure and we are very happy that you both enjoyed the Manta Ray Inn experience. Our staff really try to make you feel part of the family and even though the weather could have been a bit better for you it was a joy to see that we had exceeded your expectations!! Hollywood Beach is such a unique place and we are blessed that you chose to stay with us and become part of our Manta Ray Inn family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto on
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Every morning we are up with our coffee on the patio watching the sun come up. Breath taking view.
The Boucher family go out of their way to make our stay memorable. they have wine and cheese gettogethers. They also surprise us with a wonderful bar b que.
We are treated like old friends.
There are lots of good resterants Clean rooms. Efficient staff.
We come back every year. Next year for 6 weeks.
We love mundis retaurant
Helen and Barrie

Room Tip: corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
The Manta Ray Inn family feel blessed to have such great guests! It is fun to watch the smile on your faces as you describe our Inn to others and tell us all about your favorite restaurant! We continue to strive to make each visit with us more memorable than the last and cannot wait until you return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytonohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I visited the Manta Ray February 2013 and are planning a repeat visit next year. Clean, quiet, well kept up, solidly constructed from back in the day...
The owners have done an admirable job and are well respected by repeat customers, which says quite a lot. An impromptu barbecue sprung up midweek, hosted by the owners, which was a nice plus.
The location is perfect, between the busier sections of Hollywood and Hallandale, which cut back on foot traffic. Literally right at beachside, and chairs/lounges are easily brought to the beach.
The staff gladly and quickly got anything we wanted from beach umbrellas to extra coffee.

Room Tip: upstairs gave nice ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have such great people join our Manta Ray Inn family!! Making your getaway enjoyable is what it is all about and we are excited to know that you will be back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odonoghuejoe@yahoo.com
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Manta Ray Inn is over priced and understaffed in a strange and troubling manner. Management closes its office everyday at 5 PM. That's right, 5PM. If you have any kind of problem with the facilities, or need helpful information, a small note near the office door directs you to an outdoor phone in a nearby corridor. I'm not sure how reliable that process is. This business professor does know it violates the most basic responsibility of owners for their guests.Manta Ray's brochure states the inn is located just two blocks from the Hollywood Broadwalk with its beachfront restaurants, cafes and boutique shops. The reality is that the Broadwalk's core, where its activity is centered, is at least a mile and a half from Manta Ray.That's important. A three mile round trip on foot will not be a repeat experience for most guests at Manta Ray. If you drive, as most guests can be expected to do, you have a big problem. You will endure a long search for a parking spot, and frequently find that public parking is filled, thereby requiring additional search far from the Broadwalk. Guests at better located hotels and motels do not have this problem. They routinely avoid an almost hopeless search for parking near the Broadwalk by using always available parking, either at beach front or near beachfront hotels and motels. And they can expect a far better deal than that available at the over priced Manta Ray, where a very small unit can cost almost $300 a night in peak season. The front and back of our ground floor unit, at our first and last visit to Manta Ray, was less than 50 feet from a very active parking lot, in use almost to midnight. We will spend the first night of our next visit to Hollywood Beach at the top ranked, ultra luxurious beachfront Westin Diplomat, for almost the same price we paid at Manta Ray. We will spend out first day looking at hotels and motels at the center of the two and a half mile Broadwalk, either oceanfront or one block removed. We know from short conversations with desk clerks (1) that only on very rare occasions are all units filled, (2) that walk-ins without reservations can expect the same rate as advance reservations, and (3) that front desk visitors, who indicate they are investigating possibilities at nearby hotels and motels, can often get a reduced rate by hotel personnel intent on increasing their very important occupancy rate. When on the Broadwalk we will be looking for a chance encounter with either of the two Hollywood police officers who on separate occasions were so helpful to us on our recent visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
The staff at the Manta Ray Inn are saddened by your review and slightly confused. It certainly contradicts the note you left us stating “unfortunately, we have had to leave your beautiful resort because of a medical emergency.” As the owner of this Inn and the person who checked you in, I reached out to you by telephone upon your arrival home to make sure that your wife was recovering from her condition.

The management team at the Manta Ray Inn prides themselves on taking very good care of our guests, but in your case it would seem that we did not make the grade and we appreciate that you pointed this out to us. In your two bedroom, two bathroom apartment that opens onto the oceanfront courtyard and ocean (which we rented to you as a one bedroom oceanfront), there is a book detailing all pertinent information about the Inn and how to reach staff after hours. We leave this on the coffee table for guest convenience along with restaurant suggestions and we provide maps etc. upon check in. The lift phone at the back door of the office is intended for those who might find themselves locked out and need assistance—otherwise they would reach the office by using the telephone in their room. There is a professional sign on the office doors to indicate the regular office hours but usually there is someone on site after these hours, and in this case the maintenance man (who lives in the office) was home that evening. The parking lot that you refer to as busy until all hours is our private parking lot with 12 parking spaces for our 12 suites and has a night time security guard on nightly for your added peace of mind. This is stated in our literature.

As for our pricing, we work with the philosophy that it is not fair to charge someone more or less for a room because they didn’t make their vacation plans identically. Some guests plan months ahead, others seize an unexpected break on their calendars.
Our guests love to walk the broadwalk and enjoy the entertainment and the stroll.
I am sorry that you were unable to find appropriate parking near the center of the Broadwalk — the city of Hollywood is aware of the fact its popularity exceeds the parking space and they are working to do what they can. We will make sure in future to include distances to the center as well as the beginning of the Broadwalk in our literature as a service to those with physical difficulties.

I do hope upon your return to Hollywood Beach you find exactly the type of property that you will enjoy. I do, however, find it interesting that you changed your feelings about the Manta Ray Inn when you thought we did not respond quickly enough to your request for a refund for the nights you did not stayed. We make every effort to educate our guests as to exactly what they will be receiving and we also suggest travel insurance should you need to cancel for medical reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Hotel
Manta Ray Motel
Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list