We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 6th year at the Manta Ray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our 6th year at the Manta Ray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our 6th year (stay) at the Manta Ray. Once again we had a wonderful time and have already planned to return again next year! The accommodations, service and location are wonderful. The Manta Ray continues to be our home away from home. The Manta Ray is like a private island paradise: right on the beach, very casual and relaxed. It is the hidden jewel of South Florida. The sunrises are spectacular, the beach is quiet & clean and the view of the beach and ocean from the property is unmatched. Most evenings, we had dinner at one of the outside beach side tables and watched the beach, the ocean and the stars in the sky (as well as the ships coming and going from Ft. Lauderdale).

Extra added nice touches by the owners for all guests include periodic: informal cocktail parties at sunset; grilled hot dog lunches at noon and a very nice informal full course dinner - all served in the courtyard right on the beach overlooking the ocean. What could be better?

The Manta Ray is great place for couples, families, kids (they have a deck box on the beach with a nice assortment of beach toys for kids), as well as a nice swimming pool.

Thanks to the owners and staff for making our most recent stay another memorable experience.

Forever A Beach Bum
Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Cannot believe that it has been six years! We miss you both already and hope that you will send us photos so that we can share them with all our friends! Won't be long until you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    23
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
78
103
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

recommended by friends, didn't think it could live up to the hype, but it did, right on the beach, sit on the balcony/walkway and watch the ocean. great beach, sunrises are exceptional , the staff were friendly and helpful ,the manager was very helpful with directions and resturant recommendation , the room was clean and well appointed, the walk from the car park to your room took all of one minute, very convenient , would recommend to anyone , our stay was way toooo short, look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Manta Ray Inn and although it was short we are happy to know that you will return!! You are now part of the Manta Ray Inn family and we are excited to know that our little piece of heaven was shared with such nice people!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to revisit Hollywood Beach after 20 years. We chose Manta Ray just by the way they presented the inn on their web site.
What a find! The accomodations were just like being home and hearing,seeing and smelling the sea was so relaxing. This was truly a restful vacation. My husband would run on the broadwalk and then we would go on to the beach for 4 to 5 hours...we are sun worshippers!!!
The staff was great. They provided us with all we asked for. We cooked in or barbequed every night and ate outside, watching the waves or in the distance the ships sailing from Port everglades. We had an assigned parking spot, beach towels, sand lounges, floats and sand toys. Not a thing is overlooked. We will definitely return!!!!

Room Tip: Corner room at the end on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
So sorry for the delay in responding but Thomas had eye surgery last week and it definitely kept us busy! The Manta Ray Family team is so excited to know that we were able to provide you with the getaway that you both deserved so much!! We cannot wait for you to come back and see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just spent 8 wonderful nights in the finest accomodations I have ever experienced. The units are clean and fresh with everything you need to enjoy your stay. The pictures on their website do not do them justice. The beach is right outside your door and there are plenty of lounge chairs provided to soak in the rays. It is only a few blocks from the Broadwalk and fine dining so you can enjoy the night life equally. The reason that this facility stands out from all the others is the friendly, thoughtfull and thorough staff who look after your every need, right down to daily housekeeping services. You are more than a customer when you check into the Manta Ray Inn. You become part of the family. Do yourself a favour and join the ever growing family soon. You will not forget your stay and you will look forward to returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: There really are no bad rooms but some have a better beach view than others. That would be my first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Sorry for the delay in our response! We have been really busy with Christmas guests and yet it is so nice to have had you stay with us at the Manta Ray Inn and experience first hand how relaxing and enjoyable the sound of the surf can be!! Cannot wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Manta Ray Inn last week; it was the nicest time we have ever had; the owners, general manager and staff are the friendliest and most helpful people we've met. We could not have asked for better.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a clean, friendly place to stay in Hollywood, Florida, the Manta Ray Inn is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It is always a pleasure to see smiles on the faces of our guests and so it was a complete delight to our staff to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return in the future! We are happy to have you as part of our Manta Ray Inn family and look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I traveled to the Manta Ray Inn on December 6 thinking it would be impossible for the Inn to live up to it's online rating. I was wrong. The whole experience was tremendous from the communications before my trip right up until my check out. I even extended my stay an extra day which I have never done before. The Inn is fantastic. The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms have all the amenities of home including utensils and cookware. The staff is so friendly, as are the owners. I traveled with my young son and felt extremely safe in my first floor room. The location is perfect. As you can tell I truly enjoyed my stay and have been telling all of my friends and coworkers about the Inn since I have returned. Thanks to all who made us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 104 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It was such a delight to have you come and stay with us!! Your little one is a real treasure! The entire staff were thrilled to read your review and we are happy to have made your getaway enjoyable and you are now part of the Manta Ray Inn family and so please do not be a stranger and keep in touch by email or facebook and we hope to see you in 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We loved our week's stay at the Manta Ray Inn. We were in the room downstairs on the water. Amazing location. The staff is friendly and very acommodating. They go out of their way to be sure their guests are comfortable and happy. The Inn is very clean, friendly, and comfortable. Lounge chairs can be used on the patio or brought down to the waves. I love that it is a vintage property that has been well-maintained. Rooms are updated and well-equipped. Our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
The Manta Ray Inn family were so excited to read your review!! It was so much fun and such a pleasure to have you with us and know that we helped in some small way to make your getaway memorable. Gerry, Thomas and Heather work diligently to make sure that we do "exceed" your expectations and they were thrilled to know that they did achieve their goal!! Stay in touch and we cannot wait until you are back with us again in 2013!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.