We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

my wife and i just returned home from the manta ray inn after a one month stay. our stay was everything that we wanted: great location, very relaxed, great beach (property is located right on a very quiet wonderful beach!), nice people, nice place, etc. - especially if you are "beach bums" like us!

also the "little extras" that the owners do for the guests, such a valentine's day cookout, the periodic cocktail gatherings late afternoons, etc. were all unexpected and very enjoyable.

we are already looking forward to our visit next year!

  • Liked — small, friendly, family owned, location, location, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
78
108
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

The Manta Ray is a delightful, small Inn located on a quiet street in Hollywood (located between north Miami Beach and Fort Lauderdale on the East coast of South Florida). It is one of about a dozen low rise structures right on an expansive and beautiful beach. The Inn, like the other condos, coops, and motels on South Surf Drive, date back to the 50's and somehow have survived the onslaught of high rise apartments and fancy hotels that have sprouted up north and south of this location.

The property itself is small, but literally 10 feet from the beach. The Inn is two stories, L shaped, and has about 12 rooms, each with bedroom, full bath, living room and fully equipped galley kitchen. There is private off street parking.

The owners provide you with beach towels. Beach chairs are available, as well as a barbeque, and picnic tables.

Inn Keepers, Donna and Dwayne Boucher, and their son are on site every day. They are lovely people who are attentive and professional.

The rooms are comfortable, but not modern or fancy. They are meticulously cleaned and maintained by the owners' faithful long-time housekeeper, Jerry, who is very accommodating.

Good dining is only minutes away - North along the Intracoastal or on the Broadwalk, as well as in "downtown" Hollywood.

There is something truly wonderful and intangible about this place - this little oasis in South Florida. It may be the uncrowded beach, or the 50's style buildings, or simply the intimacy of a 12-room Inn. If you're looking for a quiet, unspoiled place where you can live without the gym or 11:00 PM room service, you will love the Manta Ray.

  • Liked — Quiet, laid back, unpretentious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

I just read shockings review and i must say everything they dislike ...i love...open the door and there is the ocean....l loved the 50,s ....never felt insecure...they have nightly security but it is not necessary....i have been coming here for 15 yrs and i can't imagine thinking the marriott is better. the owners are down to earth people and what makes coming here special....so if what you want is a high rise and impersonal this is not the place for you. but if what you want is small, friendly and the ocean in your front yard this is it....the apartments are also a plus clean and fully furnished including kitchen andd an outside grill a mantaray loyal fan

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We read the rreviews and were looking for a one night stop over from Orlando to Maimi in Hollywood FL.

Pro's;
- very clean, surfaces and linen cleanliness could not be better thanks to gerry the housekeeper.

Con's;
- I thought we were in the wrong place. It was at best a motel that looked like it was out of the 50's.
- Worst yet they charged us $229.00 up front in October for heavens sake!!
- The room was awful, smelled of damp
- It was creepy, we tried it for a few hours but it gave us the creeps, my daughter refused to sleep there.
- When we looked for help the place was shut down and completly empty, they had just gone off for the full night. There was no letter box, bell or anything, my husband had to go back the next morning at 09.30 and had to wait outside until 10.15 to give the keys back.
- The aircon was a nightmare, noisy and old fashioned rusty on the outside.
- There was no air con in the very small poorly furnished 'living area'.
- The young lad who booked us in was barley with it, he just wanted the cash, no friendly welcome maps or anything.
- There is no swimming pool on site
- The toilet could not be aired
- The kitchenette, from the 70's said more shabby than chique
- It is open to the road and beach, anyone could get into the rooms, very uncomfortable if you have kids and are used to a more secure area.
- Refuse bins stored outside our hotel room
- Sailor and fish table lamp was an interesting touch along with the large fake flower displays everywhere.

Ok I admit we are used to good accomadation, this would have been fine if I was on holiday with my Nan in 1970 but they charge the same price as the Marriott - Can you believe it!!. I think this was the bit that was the final straw. We left and did not sleep there, booked into the MARRIOTT for the same price, wasted $200.00. Needs a refurb or closing I think.

How can this possibly be No.3 when its the same price with less reviews??????

My advice would be look at a room before you commit to paying, do not book on the internet. Stay at the Marriott you will not regret it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Old fashioned
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Manta Ray was everything we could have hoped for!. Quiet, relaxing, right (and I mean RIGHT) on the beach !!! This was definately the perfect place for a quiet week to regenerate. And the WiFi was a bonus.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

We (two couples) were going to visit Hollywood and Ft. Lauderdale for
a quick overnight trip. I read the reviews of Manta Ray and was impressed with the description. I called that morning for an arrival in about three hours, hoping they had something available. Luckily our trip was mid-week, off-season and in the summer so they had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom oceanfront available for us. The rate was $189 a night - which is a great price since we were splitting the cost with another couple. What a pleasant surprise. Thomas (the owner's son?) greeted us in the office, registered us and then escorted us to our 2nd floor room (what a great view) to make sure everything was in good order. When he noticed that the bed in the second guest room had not been pushed together to make one large bed (since we are a couple) he immediately sent his maintenance guy to remedy the situation. The room is great - very clean with a full kitchen. Both bathrooms appear to be recently renovated and were spotless. I can easily see families staying here for a week or more. The hotel is right on the beach and has all kinds of beach amenities available for use by the hotel guests (beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.). There is even a gas grill and outdoor tables. We are planning to make another trip to explore Hollywood and will definitely stay at
the Manta Ray again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — parking available for only one car per room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

I wanted to reward my son for graduating from college and for his acceptance into med school. I decided to fly my family of five to Florida for a week. We love the Hollywood area as it has been a favorite spot to stay for years but we have never stayed at the Manta Ray until now. We stayed in room 201, a two bed apartment with an excellent view of the ocean. The apartment was well decorated and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The beach was outstanding. In fact we went to South Beach only to be dissappointed, it did not hold a candle to Manta Ray's beach. We enjoyed having a reserved parking space. We were close enough to the Broadwalk we did not have to move the car. This is our new home in Hollywood.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach.
  • Disliked — Internet connection was weak.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.