We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel ever in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best motel ever in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Manta Ray Inn is a beautiful 11 room motel. The service is fantastic. The rooms stay clean and there is always a helping hand when we are in need. When you open up the door all you see is the beach and the ocean. It is so beautiful!! There are 4 picnic tables for people to eat at and they are basically right on the beach. You only need a few footsteps to go down to the beach. The manta ray inn is the best location any motel could have. When I come down in March everyone knows each other and everyone is very friendly especially the owners. The owners put together a barbecue every month and the food is amazing!! I love Dwayne's chicken and salmon and Donna's deviled eggs. The Manta Ray Inn is the best place for anyone to stay. The laundry room is so beautiful- all you do is you look out to the beach and the ocean. The laundry room is literally 5 footsteps away from being on the beach. It is the best laundry room in the whole entire world. So the Manta Ray Inn is very beautiful and the best place for anybody to stay a night (or even months if you want). The Manta Ray Inn also makes improvements when I come down in march. (The changes that the manta ray makes are phenomenal!!) I suggest that if you would like to come visit Hollywood Beach, Florida, U.S.A, you have to come to the Manta Ray Inn!!! The location is the best and you can't beat it anywhere else. The Manta Ray Inn is like home and everyone is friendly to each other. It is a quiet, little, cute motel and if you are looking to just come to Florida and relax, you have to make a decision to stay here. The Manta Ray Inn is the place to stay when you want to just relax in the sun on the beach and when you want to just walk a few steps to sit out on the beautiful beach!!! P.S.- I am Dylan; I'm 13 years old and I know my stuff! Don't forgot- come and stay at the Manta Ray Inn- the best location any motel, hotel, apartment, house, and even mansion could have!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Wow!!! It is great that you took the time to let us know how much you love the Manta Ray Inn!!! We have all watched you grow into a great teen and your thoughts really touched my heart!! You and your mom and dad hold a very special place in our hearts and we thank you for letting us know that we were making your vacation special!!! Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    24
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
87
120
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I've been coming for my family for two weeks over the Christmas break since 2000 and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The beach is perfect, the luxury of eating as many meals as we like at the ocean facing tables and the proximity to the Broadwalk for morning runs all are huge. Plus we love the others who come year after year as well as our hosts. I wouldn't want to be up in a high rise, waiting for elevators, and paying ridiculous amounts for mediocre meals-better to prepare our own or go to many nearby good places.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
As such valued Manta Ray Inn family customers it seems unbelievable that all these years have past. We have grown and so have your fabulous daughters. It is so exciting to see the next generation enjoying the Manta Ray Inn with their family and looking into the future!! We thank you for sharing your experience with us but we also want you to know that it is a privilege that you have shared you family with us and we have had the opportunity to be there through many years of growing and the Manta Ray inn remains a place for families to remember!! Cannot wait for you all to return in December and so glad to see you keeping in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln. NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Mike and I just spent another 10 days of "home away from home" at Manta Ray Inn. It is so peaceful there! The Boucher family takes you in as if you really were part of the Boucher family. The apt. is always so clean (Thank you, Jerry!). You can cook in your apt. or use one of the two gas grills outside. I cannot imagine staying anywhere but Manta Ray Inn when we go to Hollywood, FL!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
As always it was such a pleasure to have the two of you with us! You are definitely part of our Manta Ray Inn family!! We wait for you to return again but in the meantime, kiss that beautiful baby for us keep in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Manta Ray Inn in the months of December and January for the past five years and look forward to many more visits to this charming accommodation, situated directly on the Atlantic Ocean.
Donna and Dwayne are the owners of the property and with their son Thomas run the business for the benefit of the guests, who are looked after superbly well and any request for information or assistance is gladly given. It takes a great deal of hard work in the background to maintain this skilful management but none of the effort shows and you feel very much as if you are getting individual attention. Donna, Dwayne and Thomas do everything possible to ensure that each guest is comfortable in their accommodation and there is an air of great friendliness. Introductions are made to other guests and new friendships established in this welcoming atmosphere. For the solo traveller there is a feeling of security. Both externally and internally the property is very well maintained and Gerry carries out his duties as Housekeeper in an extremely hardworking way.
A short stroll takes you from Manta Ray to the Broadwalk, where you can ride a bike, or wander along enjoying the ocean views in a traffic free area. On the Broadwalk are countless shops and many restaurants offering a wide variety of menu.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
As always we look forward to your arrival every January and your stay with us! It is a highlight for us as owners and for all of the staff!! You are one of our most wonderful guests and it is definitely our pleasure to have you stay at the Manta Ray Inn. We are always excited to make your stay even more memorable than the time before and as a single traveler it is our joy to make you part of our Manta Ray Family!! We are waiting for your return in 2013 and definitely want you to keep in touch through the miles from Scotland to here. It seems that we were just sitting together and enjoy and sun, then the moon over the ocean together!! There are no words to capture the friendship that we have created!!. Stay in touch, see you in 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is the third year we have stayed at the Manta Ray Inn. It is the best place we have stayed in Hollywood Beach. It took us a long time to get a place at the Manta Ray Inn and we will stay there again next year. The service is second to none, they make your stay wonderful. The rooms are well kept and the view could not be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
It was so much fun to have you here with us! The Inn will not be the same with out you. Cocktail hour is still going strong so perhaps now that you have seen the grandkids you can turn around and come back. We certainly value you as a return customer and you definitely help us make the Manta Ray Inn the great place that is for our customers!! See you next year (or before)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed. The place directly on the beach is wonderfull. The service was very nice and friendly. Anything we needed was there. The place has a view that we will never forget. The owners make you feel at home and are very helpfull. The service could not be better. We will return next year for sure and recommend our friends.
Andre et Francine from Montreal

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
It is always a pleasure to host such wonderful people and we now consider you part of the Manta Ray Inn family. Thomas, Gerry, Dwayne and I really enjoyed your company and your comments about our Inn. Stay in touch with us and cannot wait until your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Manta Ray. We had a two bedroom place that faced the ocean. The view, once you opened the door, was absolutely amazing. We were blessed with a full week of balmy temperatures and cool ocean breezes. This place is perfect for anyone wanting to be directly on the beach. It is small with only two floors. There is no need for elevators. Once the car is parked you don't have to move it again as long as you bring in your own food. The kitchen is equipped with all you'll need if you want to cook your own meals. There are plenty of restaurants within driving distance if that is your preference. The Manta Ray is also within easy walking distance of several ocean front restaurants on the Broadwalk. The Broadwalk is made for walking and bikes can be rented. Gerry, the housekeeper, comes in everyday to clean the rooms, change towels, and do all he can to help people. While we were there, Donna, the owner, was by herself. Although it was a stressful time for her until her husband and son returned to help with running the place, all that was asked of her was taken care of. The place was clean with everything you would expect of small lodging. At night you can sit outside your room and actually watch the waves crashing on the beach. You are right there. With a place like this, you can actually get to know the people who are staying there. It is an ideal place to be for quiet time or getting to make new friends. It is not the Westin, or Marriott, but it is a very nice and comfortable small lodging establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Having you back at the Manta Ray Inn was wonderful! Yes, it was a stressful time for me! Running the Manta Ray Inn at full tilt on my own was a challenge but you and all of my guests made my job so much simpler! Great weather, great fun and most of all great guests! We are lucky owners and Gerry definitely appreciated your comments on his housekeeping skills. See you again next year and stay in touch with us by "Liking" us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.