We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manta Ray Inn to your Saves list
Manta Ray Inn
1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed. The place directly on the beach is wonderfull. The service was very nice and friendly. Anything we needed was there. The place has a view that we will never forget. The owners make you feel at home and are very helpfull. The service could not be better. We will return next year for sure and recommend our friends.
Andre et Francine from Montreal

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
It is always a pleasure to host such wonderful people and we now consider you part of the Manta Ray Inn family. Thomas, Gerry, Dwayne and I really enjoyed your company and your comments about our Inn. Stay in touch with us and cannot wait until your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    23
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
78
108
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Manta Ray. We had a two bedroom place that faced the ocean. The view, once you opened the door, was absolutely amazing. We were blessed with a full week of balmy temperatures and cool ocean breezes. This place is perfect for anyone wanting to be directly on the beach. It is small with only two floors. There is no need for elevators. Once the car is parked you don't have to move it again as long as you bring in your own food. The kitchen is equipped with all you'll need if you want to cook your own meals. There are plenty of restaurants within driving distance if that is your preference. The Manta Ray is also within easy walking distance of several ocean front restaurants on the Broadwalk. The Broadwalk is made for walking and bikes can be rented. Gerry, the housekeeper, comes in everyday to clean the rooms, change towels, and do all he can to help people. While we were there, Donna, the owner, was by herself. Although it was a stressful time for her until her husband and son returned to help with running the place, all that was asked of her was taken care of. The place was clean with everything you would expect of small lodging. At night you can sit outside your room and actually watch the waves crashing on the beach. You are right there. With a place like this, you can actually get to know the people who are staying there. It is an ideal place to be for quiet time or getting to make new friends. It is not the Westin, or Marriott, but it is a very nice and comfortable small lodging establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Having you back at the Manta Ray Inn was wonderful! Yes, it was a stressful time for me! Running the Manta Ray Inn at full tilt on my own was a challenge but you and all of my guests made my job so much simpler! Great weather, great fun and most of all great guests! We are lucky owners and Gerry definitely appreciated your comments on his housekeeping skills. See you again next year and stay in touch with us by "Liking" us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was probably our 8th time at the Manta Ray Inn. As always, we enjoyed our stay. No complaints... We will be back soon.

Room Tip: My only suggestion is that there is really no difference between "ocean front" and "o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
So great to know that you were again satisfied at the Manta Ray Inn. Although your stays are very short they seem to give you the boost you need to go back to the drawing board!! Having both of you as guests is such a pleasure and we definitely cannot wait until your return!! The sun, the surf and best of all the sunset and sunrise are what keep us all grounded. Looking forward to your next escape at the Manta Ray!!!!! Thomas, said to say he was sorry he missed the two of you this time and Gerry loves to have you so don't forget, plan your next little getaway soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

this was our 5th year at the manta ray, which in itself says it all! we return each year (and plan to continue to return for many more years) because it is a wondeful, relaxing, quiet, clean, small, informal and personalized place. we like to eat most of our lunches and dinners at one of the outside tables which over looks the ocean and beach. the owners (donna and dwayne), the manager (thomas) and the housekeeper (jerry) go out of their way to make everyone's stay very comfortable, personalized and enjoyable. we feel that the manta ray is our florida home away from home. the beach at the manta ray is beautiful, quiet and clean. the sunrises are absolutely spectacular! hollywood continues to a charming paradise in south florida - it's like old florida probably used to be and hopefully it will stay the same.

Stayed January & February 2012, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: note: no restaurant is on site, so disregard the "Restaurant" rating above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dwayne, Thomas, Gerry and I are so lucky to have wonderful guests like yourselves come back year after year!! You are great company and definitely appreciate what we have tried to create here at the Manta Ray Inn!!! With the two of you coming year after year we know that we have created a new friendship and that means we have accomplished exactly what we wanted to accomplish, so stay healthy and know that we are counting the months until your return! Next year we will look forward to spoiling the new little addition to your family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto on
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

In the many years we have come to Hollywood Beach this is indeed a superior lodging.
The best view of the beach and ocean . The family that owns this inn make every effort to
make sure you enjoy your stay. The cleanest I have been to thanks to Gerry.
We plan to come back 2 or 3 times a year.

Thanks Donna Dwayne Thomas and Gerry

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
It was a delight to have you both back at your new home away from home!! Cannot wait until your return! The ocean is so calm today you would love it and I do not want to tell you how beautiful the weather is!! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here January 21-28 2012, and neither of us wanted to leave at the end! We had wanted a hassle-free, laid back beach stay, and this was just what we were looking for. The location is just south of the "boardwalk" in Hollywood, and tucked in amongst various condo buildings, so the beach is much more peaceful and less crowded than up near the bigger resorts. The room was great, having the full kitchen allowed us to go grocery shopping on the first day (there is a Super Walmart and several grocery stores nearby) and then prepare our own breakfast and lunch most days, saving us from having to leave the beach in the perfect weather. Parking is convenient (and free), and you'll definitely want a car staying here, as there isn't much for food or shopping in what I would call the immediate area.

The rest of the room was equally well appointed, with a large flatscreen TV in the full living room, and very comfortable beds in the separate bedroom. Also, bonus points since it was full, regular Cable TV, and not the crappy, limited channel setup you normally find in larger hotels. The HDMI ports were also open and accessible, so bring along a cable and you can pop your laptop on there to stream netflix or whatever. The wifi also worked great, and was again much faster than you normally find in larger places.

The housekeeper Gerry did a great job keeping the place spotless (he even did our dishes!), and the whole property was just generally neat and clean. A few days removed, and we're already looking forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: Probably not worth the extra $$ for the "ocean front" rooms, especially the first floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Delighted that you had such a great time with us at the Manta Ray Inn!! Your comments definitely made a difference to Thomas and Gerry!!! I think they even blushed a little bit at how impressed you were with the service! As an owner, your comments are and gratitude are what have kept Dwayne and I in this business for 20 years. We have always tried to stay in each apartment at least once during the year to get a feel for what our customers need and deserve!! I am glad we were able to provide you with the well deserved holiday and comfort that you deserve!! Please stay in touch and come and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I wanted the beach. I wanted the ocean. I got both at the Manta Ray Inn. Not to mention an 84F pool and spacious quarters. Big screen TVs, full living room and comfortable beds. The business is run by a family that cares. Cleaned to perfection. A long walk to shops and restaurants but well worth it. In short, I'll return. I like the Manta Ray Inn. Eric Shapiro - Toronto

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
it was so nice to have a fellow Canadian with us at the Manta Ray Inn and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the service that our family and staff provided for you. I certainly made sure that Gerry and Thomas read your review and I will be watching for your return to the Manta Ray!! Bring your friends and perhaps on your next visit you may want to consider renting a bike! It is convenient and I think you would love it!. Keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 South Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills,heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference is!We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.