We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coca Cola Ribs that Drip Off The Bone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's on Harrison

Lola's on Harrison
2032 Harrison St, Hollywood, FL 33020-5020
954-927-9851
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola's on Harrison is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 491 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 21st Ave
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Coca Cola Ribs that Drip Off The Bone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Cozy local restaurant in the heart of this little suburban beach town.

Peering over the short but diverse menu:What should one order?

Surprising short answer: The ribs.

If you are here only once, and are not a pescatarian or a vegetarian, the absolute must of a decadent dish are the ribs with the Coca-Cola barbecue sauce. I know. For some it may sound like a sacrilegious abomination of a southern American classic: Soda pop in barbecue sauce?

" It is what pays my salary," the waiter laughs me when I ask him about the dish.

The meat, almost a cliche, is so tender that it falls, no drips, off the bone. Delectable.

But the sweet Coca Cola sauce is what makes it notable and a memorable plate which alone is worthy of a return to this small & hip little restaurant.

Sweetness. Sumptuous. Suprising--Words that popped into my mind just about the time when I eschewed my utensils and began to eat the ribs with my fingers ( the way most Americans probably do when they get a outstanding plate ribs ).

" If no one else was here, I would pick up this plate and lick it,
" I tell the worker bussing our tables, who laughs, as she picks up our empty plates at the end of the meal.

I do wish that for $29 a plate one would get a few ribs more but still a worthy meal.

The Key Lime pie was tasty also. Bitter, tart but balanced with
a soft and sweet aftertaste. Like a over ripe lemon.

Only item which unfortuntely disappointed us? A side order of rice we ordered ,was bland and could have used added seasoning, or something to add flavor. Anything really. Even salt and pepper.

But again, if you go, try those ribs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    19
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good gnocchi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The gnocchi is very good. The BBQ with coca-cola looks good, but it is too sweet for my taste. It is definitely a good place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A good dining option in Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The new chef owner has kept most of the same menu items and preparations. Best deal and introduction is to try happy hour at the bar, until 8 p.m. for discounted wines, drinks and small plates. There is a large selection of beers and an interesting wine list. I read reviews from some people complaining about prices, which I never quite understand because you can go online and look and the menu.. If you don't like the prices, don't go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I wish it was better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I keep trying this place and wanting to like it but somehow I always feel it falls short of my expectations. The service is pretty good, the atmosphere is pretty, and the wine list is good but the food just doesn't impress me. I have eaten here at least 6 times with large groups, small groups and as a couple so I think I have given it more than a fair chance. After a 2 year hiatus I tried it again and the menu had barely changed, and the dishes we ordered did not taste as good as they did 2 years before. It's a little sad because I want a restaurant of this "calibre" in my neighborhood. This just isn't the right Romeo for this Juliet!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New Owners fill big shoes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Chef Michael left a gastronomic void when he sold Lola's. We went unknowing the sale as it was rather recent and sudden. To our delight, one of our favorites, the Coca-Cola Ribs where still on the menu and just as sumptuous. The appetizers of the Mussels and the Salmon Tartar were also excellent. Found some failure in the vegetables being bland and over cooked. My veal could have used the special spices but when you have a new chef, you have to give him the chance. Excellent service with an attentive staff. Note to new owner....say hello to each table...it will be meaningful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's on Harrison also viewed

 

Been to Lola's on Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola's on Harrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.