We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out because of bad reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss out because of bad reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Went away for 5 days with my girlfriend just to get away from the cold weather in Philly. Was alittle scared of what to expect after reading alot of bad reviews of this hotel but gave it a chance since it was very reasonably priced. Let me start by saying we had the exact opposite of all the bad reviews. Maybe I'm not hard to please? But this place was great! The shuttle was right on time to pick us up, they let us check in a few hours early since we got there early and the room was ready, and the service was great all around. I was immediately greeted by Pablo at the concierge desk with a smile on his face. The Housekeeping was great and even cleaned our dirty dishes and pans. I called down to ask about restaurant suggestions and John suggested that I come down and we could discuss it. I went down and he suggested Giorgios right down the street and he made a reservation for me. The food and service was great! O'Malleys was a great time also, all the people were extremely friendly and talkative. I will admit that the parking was a bit of a hassle considering the valet kept trying to charge me more money so i talked to him for like ten minutes and convinced him that i was right lol. But like the manager said before, its not the hotels lot so they cant really control that. The room was very clean, and we were treated with the most respect during the whole stay. The pool was great, and best of all the beach is right out the back door! i was also impressed with the boardwalk, it was very nice. the continental breakfast was included and the bagels were great and you could eat outside on the balcony overlooking the ocean. I would def. recommend this place to anyone trying to get away on a beach for a while. and for the price, you really cant complain at all. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles, then you will have to pay the price. Thanks again, we will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. It was very nice to hear about your check in experience at our front desk, our housekeeping department and concierge service as they all work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Our pool staff works diligently to maintain our oceanside pool and hot tub to give our guests a relaxing stay. Our open-air ocean side bar and restaurant allows for not only great food but one of the best views of the ocean. Our entire staff works to give every guest a memorable stay at our hotel and we thank you so much for your kind comments and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    112
    112
    99
    215
See reviews for
139
200
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a Thanksgiving trip to Hollywood, FL, staying at the Hollywood Beach Resort. Built in the 1920s, then ravaged by a hurricane almost immediately, this resort has had a tough history. Current owners are attempting to bring it back to it's glory days, but have a way to go. Rooms (we switched rooms because the first was in a poor location) were adequately furnished including kitchenettes. Views of the ocean were nice although there are no balconies from which to sit and admire the views. Staff was agreeable enough although the concierge was not much help in finding good restaurants and reasonable transportation.

The hotel has a beach-front bar called O'Malleys which is wildly popular with the locals, and offers reasonably priced drinks. Wednesday night ladies drink free from 7:00-10:00, thus the drunken ladies when we arrived :-) There is a "Mall" on the lower level but it is kind of depressing - not much af any interest -, just junky beach shops.

Avoid the rude coffee stand owner on the lower level, and head up the beach for better coffee and no insults at other establishments. Enjoy the beach, the nice pool with Jacuzzi, and easy access to a wonderfully nice beach.

If you are OK with a less than 4-star resort, don't need pampering, and want to relax at a resort with beach access and views, this is an OK place. Price compare though, it is definitely NOT a first-rate property.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
We really appreciate your comments and thank you for them regarding our historic hotel. We have completed the first 1st phase of our 3 stage renovation project which has included upgrading of the hallways, elevator lobby’s, new guest lounge area with full Wi-Fi access, new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin’s throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access. The second step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the “Grand Lady” back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920’s and 30’s.We are working hard to complete our historic renovations but doing this that we don't intercede on our guest stay. The broadwalk is 3 miles of shops, restaurants and nightlife that has a walking, jogging and bicycling path right along the ocean and also right out our backdoor our open air, Oceanside bar and restaurant for all our guests convenience. We value all of our guest and their comments and thank you for yours. We look forward seeing you on your next stay in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights . We only payed £95 as we used some nectar points we had and booked through Expedia. The hotel is clean but in need of an update there are not really any places to go near the hotel it is best to have a car. The hotel charge $15 a night to park your car which I think is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear about your stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments take pride in their work to ensure the best possible services and accommodations to our guest. We are working diligently to complete our historic renovations and at the same time not disrupt our guest stay. We have completed the 1st and 2nd phase of our 3 stage renovation project which have included the upgrading of the hallways, elevator lobby's, new guest lounge area with full Wi-Fi access, new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access. The third step to start in spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. We are located directly on the 3 mile Hollywood Beach Broadwalk with shops, restaurants and nightlife. Within a five minute walk we have over seven different restaurants and located directly on our property we have our own O’Malley’s Ocean Pub and Restaurant. In addition we have 5 other eating establishments located on our property. We review the parking service on an ongoing basis to be sure that we are offering our guest the best service and rates. We have valet service available along with the self parking garage on site for our guest convenience. There is also bus and cab service available at nominal fees for outside excursions. We value all of our guest and their comments and strive to ensure that all of our guest has a memorable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We could not have been more disappointed with our stay at this "resort!" This hotel was the most run-down, filthy, and actually scary looking hotel that we have ever stayed in. Although we ended up in an ocean view room, that is, after being in one that looked somewhat like a dungeon, the view of the ocean was compromised by the frosted and stained ancient wondows. The beach and palm trees would have been beautiful had we seen them through clear, clean glass. The toilet looked as though it belonged in an outhouse. The refrigerator coils faced the living room and provided quite a sight as we relaxed and watched television. The bathroom baseboard had obviously not been wiped off in ages, and the entire room smelled extremely musty. The only good thing about the room is that our five year old daughter was not with us. I am not quite sure where she would have slept or bathed. Quite honestly, I would not have been very comfortable with her swimming in the pool either.
The parking charges were ridiculoous. We were told that for $15 a day we could "come and go as much as we pleased" Gees, thanks, Ramada, how very kind of you. A hotel in this kind of condition should not be charging extra for anything - not parking, not towels, not omelettes, nothing.
In addition, the so called continental breakfast is a joke. If you are lucky enough upon check -in you will receive a slip of green paper entitling you to some toast or a danish, but upon arrival you are directed towards a bulletin board of different things that can be purchased. Two people stood here the entire time, making sure everyone has there slip, but no one ever seems to be concerned about the crumbs or stickiness on the table, ot the floor that very badly needs a good Bissell job.
The glass doors leading to the pool deck are attrotious. They look like animals had been licking them for weeks. They probably were as the hotel has posted that animals are not allowed, and we, indeed saw three of them on our three day stay.
In closing, I would like to say that the staff was extremely helpful and very kind. It would be great to see these very friendly and helpful people find jobs in a much nicer hotel. O'Malleys bar had some of the most delicous food and awesome waitors that we had on our entire trip! When we were at O'Malley's, it was the only time we were in the hotel. However, we have never experienced a more undesirable hotel on a vacation. A "resort" is supposed to be a clean, pristine, and beautiful place that guests should thoroughly enjoy after spending hard earned money for a long awaited getaway. The Ramada does not provide any of it. Don't waste your time or money - instead of having to get in your car and drive somewhere nicer each day, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE - this hotel is equal to living in the slums. If you live in a nice, clean home, you do not want to go anywhere near the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share with the us your experience while staying at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. We have embarked on a historic renovation project and have completed the first phase which completely enhanced the hallways, elevators and lobby areas. The elevators have been given a face lift and new flooring has already been installed. The hallways have all of the exposed pipes hidden behind a coffered ceiling, new antique lighting installed above each door, and new antique lighting with a 1920s look in each coffer. Next we installed new decorative doors and jams and new electronic locks, paint, made wall repairs as necessary and then install a new printed pattern carpet that reflects both the look and feel of the 1920’s. In addition the hallways received air conditioning to eliminate the musty smell. We have re-created the Lobby of the 1920’s and 1930’s. The Lobby is expanded to encompass all of the space from the front door to the Glass elevator. We regret to hear about the issues that you found and these are unacceptable and have been immediately attended to with the director of our housekeeping department, maintenance director, room attendants and supervisors We value our customers and their opinions and want everyone to have a pleasurable experience as guests of our hotel. Housekeeping and Quality control and maintenance are very important areas to ensure that the amenities that we offer are the best possible to give each one of our guests the value and cleaniness they deserve. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future and to show you we have worked for you to correct these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My wife and I and My parents just came back from Sunny Florida and we had a great time at the Ramada Hollywood Resort ,We had asked for 2 renavated rooms with Ocean Front views and we received them.The view was breath taking each morning to wake up to. The rooms were recently renavated with flat screen tv's, king sized beds,fridge, stove &oven, sink.We made use of the kitchen as when you are staying for a week it gets costly to eat out every day plus you can enjoy a home cooked meal right in your room.
The location was nothing but perfect, you are right on the Broadwalk, close to the beach, and you can walk for blocks on the Broadwalk which has all the sovienier shops and restauraunts with patio sitting you can ask for. The best was O'Malley's Ocean Pub, which has great food good cocktailsand friendly staff. We had nightcaps there right by the Ocean after a long day of relaxing. The pool was great and the hot tub. The pool chairs are free to use and they aloud us to bring our drinks into the pool area which was handy.The pictures through out the hotel of years gone by makes you really appreciate the establishment that you are in as there is alot of history. They are in the beginning of rentavating the outside of the building . The hall ways have all been done and most of the rooms have been done already. The downstairs lobby has a convienient store where you can get anything you need from fruit to beer to bread etc. There are small shops in side and a few restaurants as well. The free continental breakfast was great it would tie you over until lunch. They also offer a full all you can eat breakfast for $5.99 if you want a big breakfast.After reviewing some of the reviews we were a little un sure if we should stay here but we made a great choise.You can't beat the location and the price of $90.00 a night for Ocean Front view renavated rooms, in a Great Historical Hotel,Close to everything,I would come back again. So you have to pay $15.00 a day for the parking garage, at least your car is safe,and you can leave it there and just walk down the Broadwalk as everything you need is walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
We are delighted to hear that to you had a wonderful stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled to hear that you found the use of our oceanside heated pool and broadwalk so enjoyable on your recent stay. With our location we are convenient to many restaurants, shops and nightlife on the broadwalk. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hotel is a landmark and at one time was quite beautiful. The old photos throughout the hotel are nice to look at. The staff was very nice and room was clean. However, there is no sleeping here. The walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING in the adjoining rooms. People coming and going all night in the halls making noise. The road is elevated in front of the hotel and you can hear the cars, trucks and motorcycles all night long. The windows don't close tightly, adding to the street noise. Had to go home to get some sleep. Maybe the rennovations will alleviate these issues. O'Malleys Pub is fun and food was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

How bad can a hotel be on the Atlantic Ocean? The location is superb - directly on the boardwalk. The pub outside is nice. The hotel, built in the 1920s, does have possibilities, but they have a long way to go. We were able to secure the six nights through a vacation club, so our rate was excellent. But the first thing we saw when entering the room is an exposed electrical box with switches showing. The windows (scheduled to be replaced) leak like a sive (water and wind).

The in-room high speed internet was a real treat.

We asked twice for toilet paper - but since we were in a time share we could only get that from them on Wednesday (the maid did give us a roll) even though someone each time we asked said they'd send it right up.

The consierge people (except for one smart alic man) were very helpful.

Parking costs extra ($15-$18 depending upon self or valet parking).

We had a great time (especially at South Beach). Probably wouldn't go back to that hotel or Hollywood Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
We appreciate your comments. We are focusing on completing all of our renovations as quickly as possible and in doing this doing everything possible not disrupt our guest stay. We have been able to complete the both the 1st and 2 stages of our total 3 stage renovation project. Some of the projects accomplished have included the hallways upgrading, new carpet in throughout all hallways, a brand new guest lounge area that has been furnished with the look of historic furniture from the era when the "Grand Lady" was first built and also includes full Wi-Fi access, the historic renovations of our lobby and it's new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security doors leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access for complete guest peace of mind. The third step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. We value all of our guest and their comments to help us to make their stay enjoyable. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in our newly renovated historic look property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel Hollywood
Ramada Hollywood Beach Hotel
Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort
Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.