We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charter House is one of a kind!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels

Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels
Save Saved
You added Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels to your Saves list
321 Minnesota Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charter House is one of a kind!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at the Charter house for 10 nights for a great price. We booked for The Caroline Beach Motel but Tammie contacted us before we left the UK, that she had doubled booked us and she had moved us to the Charter House. We were a bit concerned as we couldnt find any pictures of the place or even locate it on google.Tammie assured us that we would be OK.
On arriving Tammie met us at the Caroline and directed us to the Charter House, it was raining and no where looks the same as it does when the sun is shining. It wasnt quite what we expected but after staying the first night we settled in and we were quite comfortable. The Charter House is basic in comparison to other places in Florida,but we have stayed in a lot more basic in Greece and Spain.
The Charter house was clean, the room was quite large with a double bed and 2 other beds for the kids.The bed linen could have been of a slightly better quality and should have matched for the whole room but it was clean.We could have done with a few extra pillows.There were plenty of towels and we just left them in a laundry basket to be washed as often as needed.We had a large fridge freezer with ample room for the many cold beers and drinks that are needed in the hot Florida sunshine.The only thing that we missed being from the UK was a decent kettle. The courtyard at the Charter house was well maintained,despite getting biten by mosquitos that goes with being in Florida. There was a large bar-b-que for all to use, many people did but we enjoyed going out to the nearby restaurants.
Charter house was just steps away from an amazing beach that was miles long and apart from independence weekend was pretty much empty in comparison to any beach that we have visited in Europe. There were restaurants a few bars and ice cream parlours which were generally all quite nice,fantastic meals in Nicks and the other restaurant that we would recommend would be Las Palmas that overlooked the inland canal.The outdoors theatre had some great music acts with people dancing on the promenade.
Staying at the Charter House and in Hollywood was a fairly good location for getting to many other places, we visited the Everglades, Fortlauderdale,and as for shopping we thought Aventura Mall was great as well as Sawgrass Mills.Bargains galore if you like Abercrombie, Ralph Lauren Hollister Tommy Hilfiger and many many more.
We had a great time at the Charter House, met some lovely people from all over Florida and then went on to the Keys.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vactioner071
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We had gone to this hotel in the past, but since 2008 it has been renovated. Quite a beautiful and confortable place to stay. Very close to the center of town and close to the beach.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The rooms were so clean and all the funiture is new. My kids had a great time and the location couldn't be better. You are right next to the beach, boardwalk & various shops. The staff was very accomodating, knew the area and was able to give us some great restaurant recomendations.

  • Liked — clean room, friendly & helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing, we had a wonderful time
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Nice, reasonable hotel in a good location. Rooms are new and clean which is a high priority as I travel with my family. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEXINGTON KENTUCKY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Frist & For Most, I Must Say The Manger(TAMMIE) Was Fantastic. Went Out Of Her Way To Make Sure Everyone Had A Great Stay.The Hotel Was One Block From The Beach,Shop's,Food

When I Retrun To HollyWood Fl. I Will Stay At The Charter House

  • Liked — The manger Tammie
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We loved this place. We went to Hollywood to gamble at the Hard Rock, but decided paying over $300 a night to stay there wasn't worth it. Rather stay on the beach, & save $200 for gambling!! The rooms were clean, it had free WiFi, and was steps from the beach. The broadwalk is fun with lots of bars and places to eat. I highly recommend the Charter House!!!

  • Liked — Location & Rooms
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels

Address: 321 Minnesota Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charter House is a 19 unit, two story hotel located within steps of the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk. The hotel has been completely refurnished and offers free wireless internet, flat screen cable televisions, BBQ areas, and beautiful landscaping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter House-Ocean Beach Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.