We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Motel
Save
You added Richard's Motel to your Saves list
1219 South Federal Highway, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This motel offers basic, clean rooms with a friendly, accommodating staff. This location is within walking distance to downtown (Young's Circle) Hollywood, restaurants and attractions; and it is just minutes from the beach, casinos, and I95. Some of the rooms have a full kitchen w/full size refrigerator and stove. All of the rooms have microwaves, coffee-makers and toasters. Across the street is a grocery store, drug store, and a specialty market that has all types of teas, wines and beers from around the world. The only problem is that no one is in the office prior to 8:00am.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool have separate bedrooms; and the sound from the water cascading is calming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
32
38
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

.Great location near the beach. The fish pond and realistic gators in the yard. Friendly staff. Walking distance to the beach, stores, and banks. A quiet neighborhood. Ocean access without a parking fee. Near I-75 and Miami.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Simple & basic accommodation, cleaning done only once a week ! but towels replaced every day. Close to groceries and other services. Don't expect a 4 stars hotels, it's nothing but basic, extremely basic place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Owner at Richard's Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks Daniel for your comments.
Next time you are in town, let me know if you need something more fancy and not so basic. I have a wide range of accommodations. I got nice condos, one & two bedrooms apartments available.

Let me know.

Hope to see you back soon.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is very clean. But I got inside the covers and got really really itchy. We were in the new building. They building across from the office is fabulous tho. I couldnt ask for nothing more for the value and location were excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I loved the motel, the rooms were great and our porch overlooking the pool made it soo cozy!
Thanks to a friend that stayes here every time he visits south Florida we found this hidden pearl of accomodation.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Felt like staying another week, so make sure you have enough time to enjoy this place, the staff, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is very clean and reasonably priced. Usually that is enough for me to give an excellent as those are the two things I value most in a motel.

Their policies are annoying to say the least. There is no do not disturb sign to hang on the door. I thought this was strange, but perhaps my room was just missing it's sign or something. So I wrote on a piece of paper, "Please do not disturb" and hung that on my door nob. I needed rest because during this visit, I was in town working a temporary gig that had graveyard hours. The next morning, the office calls me at 9 AM informing me that guests are not allowed to hang do not disturb signs on their doors. It is the hotel policy to come in every day and clean and inspect the room. I asked them to please do it later in the day and explained that I worked late. The office agreed to have the cleaning crew come late however the next day, and every following day, housekeeping was waking me up between 9 and 10 AM.

So do not come here if you do not like being disturbed. They will come in to your room every day and clean it. They don't care if you want it clean or not. I had left a note for them to please not change the sheets. I had the bed made with my own since I am allergic to harsh detergents. They called me at work and informed me that they must change the sheets anyway. This was the second time they had entered my room that day. There is no explaining or reasoning with these people, they have their policies and they stick to them.

It's too bad because this place is excellently maintained and clean. Should have been an excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I read much positive reviews of this hotel and terefore I was driving late in the evening to this hotel.
They gave me a room fresh painted and after 1 Hour stay my eyes were burning.
The bathroom was dirty and the floor full of painting drops.
The refridgerator spilled water on the floor and was full of ice.
There was no hairdryer, no coffemaker, no showergel
I wold never recommend to stay in this hotel !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#27 of 64 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#8 of 64 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#14 of 64 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
2.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Motel

Address: 1219 South Federal Highway, Hollywood, FL 33020
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Casino Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard's Hotel is a 35 unit, 2 story classic art deco building with a sparkling clear pool, BBQ facilities, serene lounging area and sun deck, offering you satellite TV, featuring HBO and Wi Fi internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.