We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little place at the Hollywood boardwalk beach...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little place at the Hollywood boardwalk beach...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't say enough good things about this place, have stayed twice, over 2 years, just as recent as last week. These guys continue to go out of their way for guests and improve every year. quiet little courtyard for continental breakfast, cool little hacienda style rooms. they leave the keys waiting if they are gone and you check in really late, with a nice welcome note. staff is very friendly, let you check out late, leave your car in the lot while you go to the beach, which is a block away by the way, and have beach chairs to borrow. And the best part, price is less than the major chains.! I totally recommend you stay with these guys, i have booked ahead, and called hours before showing up and either way, they really go the extra mile.! Clean, comfy, quiet, even has kitchen suites and a washer / dryer if you need it. I think the only thing is that they need a hallway ice machine so you don't have to bother the office to get you ice, which they did by the way with no complaint, and maybe a little more breakfast variety of food, but other than that, this place rocks! will be staying again next year for sure.

Room Tip: if you like to sleep in, get a second floor room so you overlook the courtyard, so your door is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    114
    16
    16
    6
See reviews for
82
200
45
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved our vacation here. The management is the friendliest you will meet. The boardwalk is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, and lots of opportunities for people watching.Thank you Philip and Veronika!

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms on the second floor. They are very sunny and spacious.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Sandeman
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed a single night and found this hotel on TripAdvisor. Well, congrats to the staff for keeping this from a one star rating. They were the good thing about the no frills hotel...

The bad list is longer.

At $189 a night plus $10 for parking (um, charging to park in the hotel open air parking spaces in front of the office? Not a good customer service choice, management team) it was terrible value for money.

The bed was torture. Old mattress which started cheap and got worse with the blown out box spring. (Maybe room 14 was an exception?) if the bed had been good, it would have saved a lot of the other issues with the rooms.

Paint peeling, laminate on the floor stained and scratched (see pics), exposed pained wiring...furniture was a strange combination of worn out and unfinished (like IKEA stuff not completely prepped for use and then thrown down the stairs before being put in rooms).

The shower was usable (hot water worked fine) but the knobs were lose and coming off.

Window faces out to where everyone eats breakfast and hang's out...wan't an issue for us, but having people sitting and talking 2 meters from where you are sleeping might bug some.

At $109, this place would have been fair value. But the lack of proper investment and maintenance has made this place a prime target for a buy-out and a major overhaul.

Won't be back. But still grateful for the hospitality for night.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Chris Sandeman ,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We value every guest comments and feedback.
The Ocean Inn is known for it great product and service. Once the issue was reported we did responded immediately to make the proper arrangements and rectify the issue. We sincerely hope you return to our hotel in the future in order to experience the Ocean inn the right way.

Warm regards,

Veronika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Loved this place! We rented a suite with a kitchen for much less than a standard chain hotel room. Older building but sparkling clean, in a great location a block from the beach, and the staff is the friendliest around. Will be back any time I'm in the Ft. Lauderdale area.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I will stay here next time I'm in the area.
The rm are small but well kept. I think there are only 20 some odd units. Has a nice patio where we gathered w\ our friends. The beach is about 2 blocks. We had a very good experience. I'm used to staying in larger hotels with all the amenities but took a chance on Ocean Inn. I was not disappointed. And the price didn't suck either.
We were on grd floor. No elevator to 2nd floor that I know of. Parking can be a hassle. We didn't have any issues but I can see there might be. Construction going on next door but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I stayed at Ocean inn for 5 days. What a beautiful place. I felt right at ome....Philip at the front desk is so awesome...nice guy...we don't see this a lot no more.....And I have to mention about the 2 garden guys - I wish I knew their names.....Cute and nice......sitting in the garden working having these 2 nice and polite guys around....I was working from the Ocean inn and Philip would bring me hot cookies for my coffee break...thank you - I'LL BE BACK !!!!!!! France from Quebec

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Comfortable, CLEAN room, with an outside taste of the KEYS!! If you are going to Hollywood to spend time at the beach this is the place for you. You can walk to the beach or get bikes rented, Bikings the best form of transportation on the walk. If you are looking for quiet,relaxing and close to the beach, they will see you soon!! LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!!

Room Tip: Lower floor if you have a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.