We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Small Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old Florida Small Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very small hotel that exudes old Florida. Rooms are on the small side and there is nothing luxurious about the place. On the other hand, it is only one minute from the beach and management provides beach chairs and umbrellas. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is about what I would have at home - coffee, juice and cereal. The bathrooms are original, and the wiring needs to be updated. The staff is very nice, and helpful. Parking can be a problem. The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    109
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
196
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking for updated modern facilities this is not your place, what you get here is a typical Florida independent small lodge. And,this is what I was looking for since I spent most of the year traveling on business staying at the major hotel chains.

The location is great, steps to the beach and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. They offer beach towels at the office and in the morning they have good coffee, fresh muffins and fruits. The rooms are clean and the hotel is cleaned every morning, windows, walls, tables, etc...

The courtyard is well maintained, there is a grill, tables, hammock and nice place to sit in among the palm trees and plants. Joe at the front desk was very professional and helpful. The front office staff even went out of their way to accommodate my in-laws when it was time to move to a larger room (upgrade) that she had booked but she had lost her receipt and the staff who handled the booking didn't put it in the system. However, they honored the room upgrade she had booked and made some loyal customers for life. They're also pet friendly and a quiet hotel. Definitely going back every year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First time booking a place in Hollywood Florida. Went with Tripadvisor ratings and I was not disappointed. I spent a week and have no complaints. (Well, in a perfect world there would be no smoking but I noticed most of the great little places down there allow smoking in the common areas.) Staff super friendly and helpful. The rooms were VERY clean! It is a great and safe location. The premises is well kept and quaint. My stay was excellent and I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ocean Inn is a beautifully landscaped and pretty and cozy Inn just feet from the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk. They are always friendly and helpful, there are fresh baked muffins and real coffee every morning, and fresh flower blossoms abound. The rooms are well equipped and pretty. An extra plus for my tall family (6' and 6'2") is that even the shower heads are comfortable.

Room Tip: We love the queen efficiencies for room my family to spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a nice clean place and just steps from the beach. The staff was friendly, helpful and easy to deal with. The rooms where spacious all had a small refrigerator in them. All in all I give this place a 8 out of 10 rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If location is all you need this is a good place. A block away from all the action of Hollywood beach board walk. We stayed in room #22 the first night. The air conditioner only worked on high speed, which was a loud obnoxious noise so we slept very little. We got in late the second night to find termites crawling all over the sheets of the futon bed, luggage and surrounding area. Housekeeping came in and explained that they have had trouble with this before and apologized. We switched rooms and they provided a glass of wine and a couple of candy bars for the inconvenience. We checked out the next morning. On check-out there was no apology given for the situation we had to deal with. In fact, after 2 conference calls with Travelocity, Ocean Inn and myself, they even refused to refund us for the third night we did not stay for. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, Owner at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Slickdogoregon

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Ocean Inn. One more time, my apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your vacation time.
Termites are common problem in Florida and we had a room exterminated the next day.
When I received your call during the night about the bugs in your room I woke up and went to your room to resolve this issue. I explained you that unfortunately termites are common issues here in Hollywood. I found another room for you, made sure that you got everything you need, asked if you need any help with your luggage and prepared 2 glasses of wine for you and your wife and 2 bars of chocolate for your children.
The next morning you said to our Front Desk Manager that you want to leave earlier because you want to go to the keys and did not say anything about the termites and air conditioner. The only thing you asked for was a refund. According to the Ocean Inn policies, which you signed during the check-in "There is no refunds for early departure". I know that you did you reservation through Travelocity, where it also stated that "No refunds will be given for no-shows or cancellations made after your scheduled check-in date".

Thank you again for you candid review and I wish you all the best.

Best Regards,

Veronika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. I have to say that it was a quaint little Inn with it's own charm. Like previous reviewers it was not the Ritz but it was clean and sufficient. The staff especially Philip were lovely. The only suggestions that I would make is to maybe turn the air on way earlier then is currently being done, it is a small ac unit and apparently takes a while to cool the units. The first night we were there we had a hard time sleeping because it was too warm. Overall I would recommend this facility and would definitely stay there again if I were going back to that area.

Room Tip: There is no pool at this property also no restaurant. Also part of the sleeping problem was do to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.